We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but could be Greater =)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue River Hotel to your Saves list
Blue River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great but could be Greater =)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel’s strong points are its (i) location, (ii) free wireless internet, and (iii) very friendly and accommodating staff which really make a lot of difference.

(i) Location. Hotel is located in the popular backpacker’s area and walking distance (esp .if you love to walk) to key tour sites like Ben Thanh Market, Saigon Square, Notre Dame Cathedral, Central Post Office, and the Reunification Palace.

(ii) Free Wireless Internet. Free wireless internet was very fast.

(iii) Staff. Staff were very accommodating and helpful esp. Thu. She provided us with suggested restaurants to try and directions to take to go from one location to another. In addition, she also arranged for our Mekong Delta River tour.

In addition, the hotel is clean and safe (they have CCTV cameras scattered around the building).


However, the hotel is not perfect. Some minor points wherein the hotel can improve on are on the following:

(i) Toiletries. The room assigned to us did not have any toiletries except for a roll of tissue paper. I might be wrong but it seems that it is more expensive in Ho Chi Minh City compare to Hanoi, Vietnam’s capital city. When I stayed in Hanoi 6 months ago, for the same rate, I was able to get a room with complete toiletries, free bottled water and 3-in-1 coffee (daily).

(ii) Breakfast. Breakfast food was very limited to French bread and two eggs (cooked fried or omelet). Hotel staff said their kitchen staff are still new and adding ‘complicated’ menu might confuse them. I hope they consider adding some meat (e.g., ham or hotdogs) in their breakfast options.

Other than the above, I guess the hotel needs to do daily cleaning services. We stayed for a total of 3 days and our room was cleaned I think only once. An almost filled trash bin stayed as it is for 2 days before it was picked-up.

In general, Blue River Hotel is a good place to stay while in HCMC

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    197
    55
    16
    18
See reviews for
70
223
87
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is located in a quiet little alley in the middle of the backpacker area of HCMC, close to some fab bars, restaurants and tour offices. The room was just what we needed no more, no less. The cleaning of the bathroom was basic and we had to ask for toilet roll a few times but at the end of the day we were so exhausted from our day trips that we were just glad to come back to our room with the bed made and our things tidied.
The staff could not be more helpful! They arranged all of our day trips, advised us on where to go and what to do in the evenings and were always happy and friendly (even when my partner went out at 3am in the morning to watch a soccer match!)
We hope to return to HCMC at some point in the future and we know where we will be staying! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I am a well seasoned traveller with many visits to VN in particular. For the last 8 years I have made the Blue River Hotel my regular hotel when visiting Saigon. Why ???? Because I have always found the rooms clean and tidy. The location is very central and convenient. The staff are also excellent, and Miss Thuy (the sexy owner) is extremely helpful & honest. Nothing is too much trouble, and all the staff are honest & helpfull. They treat their customers like members of their own family. The only downside (if you consider it as a downside) is there`s no lift at the hotel, however I see it as an opportunity for a little excercise. WELL DONE to all of the staff of Blue River. I will continue to recommend your hotel to others. Garry (Australia).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Location was very good. It was easy to go around by big park which was almost opposite of the hotel. Room was okay although bathroom was quite small. Maybe rooms need some upgrade but for this price, value is good! The best thing is very very helpful and friendly staff. They really do everything to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a great small family run hotel, located in an alley just off one of Saigon's busy streets in the back packer district with plenty of restaurants, bars, travel agencies, etc. all you need...
The staff is extremely helpful and friendly, as we could not extend out stay at the hotel they helped us to find another hotel, literally just across the street. The breakfast is just like in other smaller places around Vietnam basic but very good. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Blue River Hotel is the best value, most friendly hotel you will ever stay at. I have traveled more to 50 countries and have stayed in some very exotic locales and cruised on some very fancy ships. But, if you want to stay in a clean, quiet, friendly hotel Blue River is the place. They take care of you like family. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone is always happy! I have stayed in HCMC on three occasions, each time it has been at Blue River for 10 days to two weeks. Every time the service and care given has been first class. You will not find a more caring place to stay. Not even if you pay $200 per night. I am going back to HCMC again this year and you'll find me at the Blue River Hotel. BTW - I have stayed in other similar style hotels in Vn and most were more expensive but none even came close in quality, cleanliness, friendliness or value money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I read as few reviews before booking this hotel and i must admit i wasnt to sure about it all. But "all things good", i dont have one complaint. The staff where great, the rooms where tidy and clear and the shower and toilet where on par with the price of the room... Stay here i dont think you will have any problems. If you want a room with a view stay at the Sheriton, if you want value for money stay here ; )

Room Tip: Get your bearings as this place can be a little hard to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Address: 283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is a newly built and refurbished hotel which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international and welcome atmosphere. All room offer a choice of queen or twin beds, window with nice view, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV, free wifi, in-room safe, private bathroom, hair dryer.Whilst the room rate is budget, the facilities are clean and definitely comfortable, with a light breakfast included and friendly staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to help with tour bookings, hire cars, taxi’s and any other help you may require.Every room has a private bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV with international channels, wireless internet access, IDD telephone and in-room safe.Blue River Hotel take pride in pampering our guests with service such as safe deposit box, luggage storage, laudry, DVD players as request and airport pickup & transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.