We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue River Hotel to your Saves list
Blue River Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Quiet & clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Came across this hotel while walking around the many alleyways in the backpacker's district.. Our twin room was very clean and comfortable during our 1 night stay. We had a room on the 3rd floor, facing the alleyway but it was very quiet, especially at night. Bathroom was modern and clean. Wifi (although I couldn't get connected) and breakfast are included. You can expect fried eggs and baguettes. Convenient location close to many tour office, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    197
    55
    16
    18
See reviews for
70
223
87
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

First off, sorry it took me 11 months to put up a review. Second, I guess this shows how great my experience was at the Blue River...I still remember it after 11 months. :)
WOW! Words really can't express how well I was taken care of. I met a traveler and Laos and told him that I was staying at the Blue River. Huynh coordinated everything! My friend and I came down from Nha Trang to the chaotic city of Saigon. We were greeted with Huynh. She grad both are packs and helped us navigate through like 20 lanes of traffic. I don't think I'll ever get use to that sort of traffic but it was such a great greeting. Through all the chaos, someone line Huynh comes and helps us. If that was a sign of how my experience was, then you can imagine how the rest of the experience was. The team there all speak english and watches out for you. I felt like family. I've read reviews of how you feel like family here. I didn't really understand til I went. I've stayed at fancy shamcy places and I've slummed it and this place was just fabulous.
Location is central. Cost is reasonable. Rooms are clean. AC available.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Thank You For Excellent Service. Very good value.


Wolf from Sydney

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

What made me decide to choose this was because of the good reviews of the staff. Saigon is laden with these small inns all over the city and the location works for people who don't want to sleep in the middle of the action. Most other hotels are beside the busy narrow streets so you'll hardly get some silence when the day starts. I think Blue River has the same rates like all else. It is cheap and you get what you pay for so don't expect a 4 star hotel amenities. The building itself is spotless clean, it looks like it has undergone a recent renovation so i liked how they fit the while structure in the small lot. The room is clean and the bathroom works well. I traveled with 3 other companions and we actually fit in the triple room which has 1 single and a double bed. What i liked about it is the location which is inside a small alley of similar hotels in Phan Ngu Lao district 1, in the middle of the tourist belt. Though it can get maybe dark at night but it doesn't matter and Saigon is a pretty safe city and everyone i think is friendly to tourists, the only road block at night you may encounter may be the cute call girls trying to hook up along main street. The staff is an absolutely friendly one and spoke very good English. I arrived late at night and should have taken the $15 hotel pick up from the airport which i thought was expensive because hotel pick ups are suppose to be expensive but I was wrong,I kinda spent $30 for for the cab at the airport, so it;s better to arrange one with them.

The hotel also can book tours and activities that you can do around the city for a surprisingly even cheaper price than others. Don't count on the breakfast because the serve only a french baguette, fried egg and coffee there so if you're a big guy, go try buffet breakfast along Phan Ngu Lao for about $20, i saw a couple of hotels out there with that. You can email them and book the rooms here, I spoke with Thuy but was serviced most of the time by nice you guy and a friendly girl attending the lobby. My only surprise was I was given a room without a view when I specifically asked for one with a window or balcony on my reservation thru email. Didn't get the chance to argue with this because my companion arrived ahead and was the one who checked in. It's better to make sure to get a room closer to ground because the hotel doesn't have a lift. Don't worry about the steps coming about on the stairs, people here remove their shoes upon stepping on the hotel so ya got no noise.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

What a great place to stay in Ho Chi Minh City! A great location with lots of character and within easy walking distance to Ben Thahn Market and other sights. Thuy is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. On our day of arrival she had arranged (previously via email) a driver and car to take us to see the Cu Chi tunnels. We booked 2 rooms for our family of five and they were clean and simple but with everything you could need. A simple breakfast is also provided. We really enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have stayed at the Blue River Hotel twice now this year.
The Hotel is very clean and ideally situated to take advantage of all the highlights of Saigon. It is in an alley way that reduces the traffic noise and amount of street sellers. The reception staff are very helpful and would always advise the best way to get around the city. Take their advice for eateries and tours. We also arranged through the Hotel for pick up and drop off. Thuy and Hai arranged a private tour (including Driver) to the Dai Nam Vietnamese Theme Park, not many people know about it. If you are a first time traveller, you couldn't go wrong with the Blue River, very helpful staff and the "special first timers breakfast" Pho (like a soup) is delicious. It is a boutique smaller hotel with the personal touch. We are already booking our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Firstly, the review below by Jenny is a poorly-disguised pitch for a different hotel. She complains that the hotel is in an alley, but that's one of the benefits. If you know Saigon and the continuous traffic noise, then it almost goes without saying that an alley location is preferable to something overlooking a major street. There are at least 10 other hotels in the alley, so it's not like you're walking alone down a dark alley at night. Restaurants abound within a couple minutes walk and with the many choices you can have dinner for $1 at the nearby Binh Tay market or $25 at some of the more upscale hotels and restaurants in the area. Anyways, the rooms here are of relatively good size and extremely clean. They offer a nice array of cable TV channels, many in English, all viewable on a high quality 42" flat screen. The Wifi is very good and the staff most accommodating. The owner mentioned that the hotel was recently completely renovated. I can't speak for the free breakfast because I had a very early AM flight. Cost for a twin was only $24 US.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Address: 283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#25 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue River Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is a newly built and refurbished hotel which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international and welcome atmosphere. All room offer a choice of queen or twin beds, window with nice view, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV, free wifi, in-room safe, private bathroom, hair dryer.Whilst the room rate is budget, the facilities are clean and definitely comfortable, with a light breakfast included and friendly staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to help with tour bookings, hire cars, taxi’s and any other help you may require.Every room has a private bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV with international channels, wireless internet access, IDD telephone and in-room safe.Blue River Hotel take pride in pampering our guests with service such as safe deposit box, luggage storage, laudry, DVD players as request and airport pickup & transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.