We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location off main roads in district 1” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lac Vien Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lac Vien Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lac Vien Hotel
28/12-14 Bui Vien St. | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 351 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Dublin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location off main roads in district 1”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Reception was quick and efficient. No one running around to take your bag which suited me. Room had no window but that was fine as it meant less noise. Located on side street which had bars and restaurants. Got a use of a shower on the last day before I headed to the airport. Breakfast is minimal so you may want to bring something with you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
22
41
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Plenty,New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We found lac Vien very good,Our rooms was airy, clean and pleasant with good bathroom.The staff very friendly and helpful.the hotel is conveniently located in the middle of the tourist district.The room prices were reasonable. We had a good nights sleep,since the street is quiet.Highly recommend for value accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. This is my fifth time in Saigon and the first at lac vien. I paid $34 a night for a superior room. The room is very clean and the air con good. It's in the centre of the backpacker area but on a side street so quiet. I walked everywhere. Saigon is a very walkable city (ignore what people say about the traffic - it's not that bad). There are loads of bars and restaurants around here. You can pay $2.50 for a beer in one place and 30 cents in another one just around the corner. The difference being the quality of the chairs. I would definitely stay at lac vien again. And I love Saigon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Lac Vien Hotel about 5 times now, everytime we are in Saigon. The hotel is very centrally located in District 1, right in ther middle of the action.

The staff at Lac Vien are exceptional and go out of their way to be of assistance and are always friendly, even to the security guys outside.. During our last stay on 10 and 11 January 2013 we stayed in one of the VIP rooms for $48USD per night (including a good breakfast). The VIP rooms are spacious and roomy with great air con and comfortable beds.

The hotel restaurant is good with friendly and helpful staff

I have noticed over the years that the hotel is starting to look a bit shabby with plaster needing replacing in some rooms and a good paihnt job needed, however, this does not detract from the fact that it is a good hotel in a great location and is great value for money.

Room Tip: The VIP rooms are still the best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beware, non-smokers. If you can't tolerate the smell of cigarette smoke then avoid the Lac Vien Hotel.

We had booked a couple of nights here for a non-smoking room but our request went unmet. "Fully booked", we were told.

The entire establishment reeks of smoke. It doesn't help that ash trays in the lobby and hallways encourage smokers to stink up the place.

The staff are pleasant and breakfast is sufficient but best avoided if you don't like cigarette smoke.

Wi-fi connection is also terrible

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlnd
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I arrived dead tired after a 20 hour flight past midnight and was so glad to see the driver from the hotel waiting for me. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Great location in the old part of town, on a little side street that was still quite lively at this hour. The room was very nice. And the staff was just great. I needed some help with my next booking in Hoi An and the owner (?) took care of everything. Even ordered a pick-up car for me. I will definitely come back after my side trips.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a window if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the VIP room at.US$52 per night.
The suite was large with a queen size bed and a made up extra bed, a living area, nice and clean large bathroom with bathtub.
Toothbrush sets,.bath foam, shampoo, hand soap,.comb, face towels and bath towels were provided. Hair dryer is also available in the bathroom.
A small funtional fridge is sticked with reasonable priced drinks and beers. Room was incredibly clean. Nice multiple windows, small step out balcony.
Breakfast was alright with choices of chicken/pork porridge, american breakfast set, omelette and others including a drink of your choice, though limited to only one breakfast set per person.
Prices quoted were honest and clear including the return airport transfer at US$15 private car.
Staff was polite, friendly and professional.
Their service was quick and efficient and even allowed us to check in early at 11am. Check in and check out was totally hassle free.
They even offerred to show us the rooms before we decide to check in.
Thank you Lac Vien Hotel!
U perk up our short holifay trip in Vietnam :) keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lac Vien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac Vien Hotel

Address: 28/12-14 Bui Vien St. | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Lac Vien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lac Vien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lac Vien Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.