We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting a little shabby but good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lac Vien Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lac Vien Hotel to your Saves list
Lac Vien Hotel
28/12-14 Bui Vien St. | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 364 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Getting a little shabby but good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Lac Vien Hotel about 5 times now, everytime we are in Saigon. The hotel is very centrally located in District 1, right in ther middle of the action.

The staff at Lac Vien are exceptional and go out of their way to be of assistance and are always friendly, even to the security guys outside.. During our last stay on 10 and 11 January 2013 we stayed in one of the VIP rooms for $48USD per night (including a good breakfast). The VIP rooms are spacious and roomy with great air con and comfortable beds.

The hotel restaurant is good with friendly and helpful staff

I have noticed over the years that the hotel is starting to look a bit shabby with plaster needing replacing in some rooms and a good paihnt job needed, however, this does not detract from the fact that it is a good hotel in a great location and is great value for money.

Room Tip: The VIP rooms are still the best value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    15
    10
    10
See reviews for
23
42
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Beware, non-smokers. If you can't tolerate the smell of cigarette smoke then avoid the Lac Vien Hotel.

We had booked a couple of nights here for a non-smoking room but our request went unmet. "Fully booked", we were told.

The entire establishment reeks of smoke. It doesn't help that ash trays in the lobby and hallways encourage smokers to stink up the place.

The staff are pleasant and breakfast is sufficient but best avoided if you don't like cigarette smoke.

Wi-fi connection is also terrible

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portlnd
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I arrived dead tired after a 20 hour flight past midnight and was so glad to see the driver from the hotel waiting for me. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Great location in the old part of town, on a little side street that was still quite lively at this hour. The room was very nice. And the staff was just great. I needed some help with my next booking in Hoi An and the owner (?) took care of everything. Even ordered a pick-up car for me. I will definitely come back after my side trips.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room with a window if that matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at the VIP room at.US$52 per night.
The suite was large with a queen size bed and a made up extra bed, a living area, nice and clean large bathroom with bathtub.
Toothbrush sets,.bath foam, shampoo, hand soap,.comb, face towels and bath towels were provided. Hair dryer is also available in the bathroom.
A small funtional fridge is sticked with reasonable priced drinks and beers. Room was incredibly clean. Nice multiple windows, small step out balcony.
Breakfast was alright with choices of chicken/pork porridge, american breakfast set, omelette and others including a drink of your choice, though limited to only one breakfast set per person.
Prices quoted were honest and clear including the return airport transfer at US$15 private car.
Staff was polite, friendly and professional.
Their service was quick and efficient and even allowed us to check in early at 11am. Check in and check out was totally hassle free.
They even offerred to show us the rooms before we decide to check in.
Thank you Lac Vien Hotel!
U perk up our short holifay trip in Vietnam :) keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

On first trip tp Ho Chi Minhwe stayed in the Aquari at 84$ per night. which was ok, but on our way back we stayed at Lac Vien for 33$ ( for 2 people incl breakfast), and although not the same class of hotel in fact it was much better value.

Hotel was clean and service was good, rooms were a good size.

Location is mack in the centre of District 1/Baclpacker District, which for most people is the only lively part of Ho Chi Minh for foreigners.

Its in a side street so not so easy to find, but i called it up on Google Maps and walked straight to it.

All the coaches that go to different parts of Vietnam leave from these streets. all the travel agents that do your booking arrangement are also here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The location is excellent, quite in the center of the main attractions. Unfortunately we got a room without windows and it smelled muggy. They offered a change with a rise of the price.
From outside the hotel looks nice, but the rooms need to be modernized a little bit and the bathroom needs a revision.
Next time for sure I'll choose another hotel. Sorry.

Room Tip: Don't get a room without windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have been going to Lac Vien Hotel now for over 5 years and can't recommend this place highly enough. Mr Quan and his staff run a superb little boutique hotel. The rooms are spotless and the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay memorable. The hotel has a great breakfast included in the price and the hotel arranges a pick up from the airport for a small cost. It is great for backpackers, families and extremely good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lac Vien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac Vien Hotel

Address: 28/12-14 Bui Vien St. | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 286
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lac Vien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lac Vien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lac Vien Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.