We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the best Steak in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho - Argentinian Steakhouse

El Gaucho - Argentinian Steakhouse
5D Nguyen Sieu, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 38251879
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 1,384 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Argentinean, European, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The "Argentinian Steakhouse El Gaucho" is a modern, yet traditional, fine dining steakhouse introducing glamour, hospitality and the cuisine of Argentina. Our dedication to bring a true essence of the authentic steak cuisine to the people of Saigon originates from our love for quality food, prime meats and a passion for Argentina.
Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Always the best Steak in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Although the name is misleading, because the flavors have little to do with real Argentinian parrillas, the quality of the beef and the service in this Restaurant is second to none in Saigon. So, if you want to enjoy a high quality dinner, this is the place to go. I have gone many times and will keep going while I'm in Vietnam (or BKK too, same restaurant, same quality, same service)

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

100% Recommend
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great Steaks in Saigon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

On our last night in Saigon HCM we ventured into El Gaucho, the newly-opened Argentinian Steakhouse in HCM. It is in a renovated building, comprising 4 foors (I think), opposite the Park Hyatt Hotel, where we were staying. The Steaks are truly magnificent and cooked to perfection and come with a choice of accompanyiments to your taste. The place was always busy and was on the occasion of our visit so we were seated on the top floor. Servie too was reasonable, given how busy it was. Prices reflect the quality of the steaks - it is not a cheap option. Probably as good as Steak gets in Vietnam so mosy-on-down there if you are hungry!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Decadence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is definitely going on our favorites list!
We enjoy a good piece of meat for once in a while and El Gaucho is our go2 from now on.
The restaurant is set in a trendy renovated building in the city center and if architecture and design are your things, you're in for a treat.
We forgot to make a reservation but managed to squeeze in on an extremely busy saturday evening, but I guess it is wiser to give them a call before going.
The food was AMAZING, the meat was incredible & all the side dishes were delicious.
Staff is great too!
That said, the bill was painful & acoustics are not the best, but it was worth it.
Bon appétit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So good to eat awesome red meat in Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

New location but same food and atmosphere. Were upstairs, almost outside but with a fan, it was perfect. Good meat, good side dishes, good vodka caramel at the end... Keep going guys

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant, but they need to focus more on service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The food here is pretty good by any standard, and excellent by Saigon standards. The owners obviously know that this restaurant is destined to be successful and already seem indifferent to their customers. I hope that this confidence does not degrade their attention to detail and consideration for their clientele.
It is in a very central location in D1. I recommend it, but do post a review here if the service does not live up to the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho - Argentinian Steakhouse also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to El Gaucho - Argentinian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho - Argentinian Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.