We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best location in District 1. Easily accessible for shopping, restaurants, money changer and 'Cafe Da' stalls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoang Gia Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hoang Gia Huy Hotel to your Saves list
Hoang Gia Huy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48-50 Nguyen An Ninh Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #273 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“One of the best location in District 1. Easily accessible for shopping, restaurants, money changer and 'Cafe Da' stalls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went in late Feb and stayed for 4 nights with a group of 30 guest. This is the only hotel which can give 15 rooms (with a viewing window) at the right price. The lobby has 2 sofas and 3 large chairs. There are 2 PC for the guest use to view e-mails, chatting and etc. The front desk staff can speak English for ease of communication and they are generally friendly. Check in time will be after 2:00 pm and check out is at 12:00 noon. There are porterage available for assistance. For Muslim travellers, you need to print or surf the net for the prayer times and you need bring along a compass for Qiblah direction or use the E-Qiblah direction on your smart phones.
Unfortunately there is only one Elevator available. It will take time for the group to clear the lobby. For lower floors and light travellers, the stairs will be a faster option. There are no washroom (toilets) at the lobby area, but there is one washroom (toilets) at the Basement (Parking).
The rooms can be requested with viewing window (but limited). As with all tourist hotel in Vietnam, most hotels are without windows. Room size is adequate and toilet size quite big (some with bath tub). All rooms are equipped with coffee making facilities, a small refrigarator, an TV and two bottles of Mineral Water (Free).
The restaurant is available at the lobby area which can accommodate more than 20 guest at any one time. Breakfast provided is a Buffet line (Fried rice Or Fried noodles, toast, butter, jam sausages, sometimes with rice porridge and fried fish fillets and with juice, coffee and tea (refillable). For the Muslim traveller, there are Halal meals are available.
There are also Halal restaurants in front of the hotel. The prices are very reasonable for lunch and dinner. There are also Vietnamese stalls and restaurants at the corner of the hotel selling Vietnamese noodles and meals.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk to Ben Thanh Market. This is where the action is, you can find almost everything there from bags, leather goods, clothes, dresses, toys & many more. The Market opens at 9am and closed at 6pm. There are also a night market surrounding the Ben Thanh and it starts after 7pm till about 11pm. You can use your bargaining power if you are interested in a certain product.
I hope you enjoy your stay in Vietnam...

Room Tip: Get the lower floors if possible if you dont like waiting for the elevator and if you prefer room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
7
8
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights as part of a tour group, will stay one more night after Homestay visit. Pleasant lounge and dining area. The breakfast range substantial, well presented and fresh. Air con efficient, and bathroom had a bath as well as shower. No issues.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have travelled Vietnam more than 12 times and resided in many different 2-3 star hotels, this one would be on or near the bottom. We booked two rooms with windows through the Agoda website but when we arrived we were given rooms with no windows, we were told that if we wanted windows we would have to pay extra. We showed the duty manager the website which confirmed the rooms had windows but he still refused until we asked for our money back. (While we were there people off the street were being showed rooms with windows for less than we paid.) From there we think were being punished as the rooms he then gave us with windows were very ordinary. The airconditioners in both rooms were faulty, one barely kept the room cool and the vane in the other had to be propped up. Only token efforts were made to fix. The shower would fall off the wall fitting in one room and the fridge broke down and had to be replaced in the other. On the second day they did not even bother to clean and make up the room Some staff, especially breakfast staff were nice, others were lazy and almost rude. The only good things about the hotel were that it was close to the Ben Thanh market and the breakfast was ok. We were relieved to move to another hotel not far away.

Room Tip: Look first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Only 200 meters from the Ben Thanh market. There is also a night market 6-12 every day, worth the visit The hotel was quite average for a 3 star hotel. Service was very good at reception and at breakfast. They allowed us a 2pm late check out. Choice for breakfast was basic: eggs, toast, fruit, some local dishes, weak juices, weak tea and strong coffee. The standard room we had was extremely small, but did the trick for just sleeping. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was basic and we had a visit from a couple of cockroaches, but that is common for Asian countries. Wi-fi worked most of the time, but could not get CNN or BBC news - must be a government block on them. There was only one lift and it was well used - had to use the stairs a couple of times. Good value for your money. I would stay there again, but request a delux room instead. Note about Vietnam. Visa cost just went up from $25 to $45 cash. How to distract return visitors - not very smart!!!

Room Tip: Friends travelling with us had room 702 - deluxe room at the front of the hotel, I would take this o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We have stayed at the Gia Huy on prior trips to Saigon and found it to be a well placed hotel for the markets and things to see and do.
This trip we arrived at the hotel and were told that it was full and that we could stay at the sister hotel of the same name 100 meters down the road we agreed to this as it was an upgrade to a three star hotel.
This revue is to question the rating of the hotel as the original was two star and of a much better standard,presentation and service.
I would not stay in this hotel again as it is in poor condition but the location is fantastic for things to do.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for three non-consecutive nights as part of a tour group.

Staff were very friendly, the WIFI, computers in Reception and breakfast were well done. The hotel is also centrally located.

After concluding my three weeks in Vietnam I have seen a few hotels and got a feel for value for money in the 2-3 star bracket. Unfortunately the cleanliness of Huang Gia Huy Hotel let itself down. Both rooms I stayed in were not as clean as I would expect. Still hair in the drain plug in the bathroom, hair dust bunnies in the corner of the room. In the first room, I woke in the morning, switched on the bathroom light just in time to see a large (HUGE) cockroach scurry under the shower cubicle. At that point I hadn't been in Vietnam long and hadn't stayed in many 2-3 star properties so didn't mention it to Reception as I wasn't sure whether that was to be expected! I now know better.

Still some work to do here, but with charming staff such as those on Reception (whose English could use work but they are trying very hard!), and some improvements in the cleaning, it could very quickly be a good hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The room is clean ( we stayed at family room, which is good, clean, quiet and very spacy)
They have 2 spacy beds for 4 persons, 1 living room, the modern bathroom with spa
very close to the market
The staffs are friendly, try to acomodate what the guests want with little english
The breakfast is good enough

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hoang Gia Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Gia Huy Hotel

Address: 48-50 Nguyen An Ninh Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Gia Huy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Hoang Gia Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoang Gia Huy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.