We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elios Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elios Hotel

Save Saved
You added Elios Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elios Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Pham Ngu Lao St. | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Room discount up to 10%
Ranked #84 of 362 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Forster, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Elios Hotel, Ho Chi Minh City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My Friend and I recently stayed at the Elios Hotel, on arrival we were greeted cheerfully by the staff on front desk, who were so professional at their job, we were given a lovely cold fruit juice which was much appreciated, we were booked in and shown to our room in no time, our room was lovely on the 4th floor, and the beds were comfortable, we stayed there 5 nights, and on our arrival back from Cambodia we stayed another 2 night, the staff remembered us, and we were given a larger room,on the 6th floor at a discount price, included in our room price was breakfast which was asian & western food, there was a good variety to choose from, it was served on the 11 floor, with a view over the city. The hotel is in a great position close to everything, lots of restaurants, bars, sight seeing, market, I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    220
    80
    14
    9
See reviews for
78
185
42
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights in early Feb 2013.

I am pretty convinced that money was stolen from the safe and I reported this to the management AFTER I left the hotel.
According to them it is not possible that money can go missing from the safe.
So it is my word against theirs
If any one else has had the same issue it would be interesting to know about it

They were supposed to send airport transport for 4 passengers with the normal baggage one would expect. They charged $35 for this and messed up the management of the transfer. They sent a small car and later on hired us another taxi and we had to come to the hotel in separate cars.
It was not fair of them to charge such a fee when the same can be achieved for $8.
I also complained about this but no refund was offered

The reception staff are so unfriendly – no smiles - no proper welcome – no proactive offer of any help.

We were promised two rooms next to each other - but were given rooms on different floors!

The reception area is nice , bright and clean but the sofas are now dirty and need a change.

The bedrooms are small and cramped and the bathrooms need a complete revamp – mould on the bathroom curtains !

The room service was pretty efficient – ordered some water several times and got it within minutes.
Breakfast is so so – just about average.

Air con stopped working but was repaired promptly when complained about it – but to me it looked like a set up job as a TIP was expected !!!!!

I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it to any one.

And I am sure that the money was stolen from the safe !

Room Tip: "dont bother "
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place is quite central to the main business district. It is clean and has all the amenities you need. The staff weren't that friendly though.

The breakfast is a highlight, nice spread and on the rooftop with a fantastic view of HCM. I've stayed there 3 times now ( part of a tour group) but i'm sure for the price you can get nicer places in the city.

No extra pillows in room which was annoying too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We've stayed at the Elios on each ot the four times we've been through Saigon. It's handy for the bars and restaurants in the De Tham backpacker area, especially those in Chua An Lac (an area we love), but a bit more expensive than the really cheap hotels. Staff are unfailingly polite and efficient. Breakfasts are usually good and varied. The 12th floor restaurant boasts a balcony you can sit on if the weather is not to hot and view the Saigon skyline. We've had three of the superior rooms with windows (usually in the area next to the lifts and stairwells) and one cheaper one that was a bit gloomy for its lack of a window or natural light. The only problem we had with a room was a superior on the 11th floor. Being right next to the stairs and under the restuarant we were constantly being woken up by noisy guests on their way or from breakfast or supper. We asked to be moved without fuss. The only downside to travelling to Saigon was getting caught by a taxi scam at the airport. Elios used to arrange a pick up but I gather do not any more so if you are not used to Vietnamese taxis I'd advise ensuring that you get a metered taxi to get there. Yes we would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a superior but avoid 11th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed for a few nights at Elios. It is right in the heart of the action of Pham Ngu Lao street. Lots of nightlife, and walking distance to major attractions. Room was clean, quiet,but small. We had a room with window, but window really was pretty small and didn't offer much of a view. Good shower...HOT water. We found the (free) breakfast buffet disappointing...hardly any fresh fruit, and mostly Korean oriented dishes. We've seen much better free breakfast buffets at budget hotels. We did extend our stay 1 day, but staff required us to rebook online...other wise the price would be much higher. Seems like they should have given us the online price, and avoided the commissions. Oh well.
Booked a bus to Phnom Penh from a booking agent next door...bus stop was right in front of the hotel...very convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I don’t think I would stay here again, although everything was fine. I checked in at 2am after a delayed flight and had no problems. The location is right in the heart of the backpacker’s district which is nice if you want to be in the heart of everything but can be very noisy.

I stayed in a single room (805) which didn’t have any windows but had a nice bathroom (no bathtub though) and a king sized bed. Breakfast was included (630-10 daily), but wasn’t all that great. For “western” food they just had a variety of dry breads, although the view was nice (11th floor).

They had a “gym” which was a room with 4 machines and no AC.

For the price I think you can find something better in the area.

Room Tip: Would reccommend a room on the backside (away from the main street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading a lot of reviews on trip advisor, we were looking for a good clean hotel in a central area for a reasonable price.....and that's what we got. The room was clean and spacious with a nice view of the park opposite, we booked a double deluxe room. Breakfast was served on the top floor of the hotel (again great view) with a very good choice of hot and cold dishes. All the staff were helpful and friendly, and the hotel is in a very central location (district 1). There are plenty of restaurants in this area, also a Bia Hoi ….. Great fun. Ben Than market is about 10 min walk away. The only small problem we had was the A/C, it was very, very cold when turned to high but may as well not be on when turned to low. I think this hotel is good value for the price.

Room Tip: book a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elios Hotel

Address: 233 Pham Ngu Lao St. | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elios Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elios Hotel is an international 3-star hotel, enjoys its location in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, within working distance of fabulous shopping as well as the city’s business and entertainment districts. We boast of eye-catching, spectacular park view and all 80 cozy rooms are elegant and modern designed with your utmost comfort in mind. Elios Hotel, a home away from home, will offer a pleasant stay with all your needs is satisfied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Elios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elios Hotel Saigon
Elios Hotel Ho Chi Minh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elios Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.