We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in Saigon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elios Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elios Hotel to your Saves list
Elios Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Pham Ngu Lao St. | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Yarm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the Elios Hotel in August - the staff were wonderful, courteous and helpful.The porter stopped the busy Saigon traffic for us to cross the road. The breakfast at the rooftop restaurant was excellent, a mix of Vietnamese and European food. Staff will cook you a delicious fresh omelette while you wait. The room was quite small but very comfortable. it was my husband's birthday while we were away and staff left a small gift for him. Very much appreciated. We will stay at this hotel again, can't wait to get back to Vietnam!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    265
    95
    18
    12
See reviews for
88
229
57
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Travellers: on a budget but need good breakfast of western and Vietnamese choices? Elios is an option. Central location in District 1 and walking distance to famous Benh Than market. Parks across for early morning jogs and leisurely stroll. Rooms are basic and comfy, but windows are quite small, so ask for options. Staff are friendly and reasonable understand English, very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for options where windows are bigger for more view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The Elios Hotel is a good standard 3 star city hotel and to be honest is better than average, but not quite very good, and that is just because of a few small annoying feature whilst we were there.
These were the negatives: Noise, a little traffic noise on the 4th floor, I am sure this is less on the 10th/11th floor, but this you should expect this anyway in a city centre hotel, it was the ancillary noises, the room fridge had a habit of making weird noises in the middle of the night, as did what I believe was an air conditioning unit from another room(the one in our room was fine)but we could hear it some time into the night until, I am guessing, the person who's room it was turned it off as it must have drove them mad as well, they probably went to bed much later than us, thankfully the noise abated about 2 to 3 am each night. Finally there was building works going on during the day which probably affected very few people, however my wife has a condition which normally makes her require a sleep during the day for an hour or 2, I would say the hotel did have notices up warning of this and the completion date was yesterday, so hopefully today will be ok. The only other small negative is the storage space was very limited, fine for a short break but would not be ideal for a stay of longer than 3/4 days.
Now the positives, and there are a few.
The Location is perfect for Ben Thrang market, budget shopping, Zen Plaza, Luxury shopping, an array of good priced restaurants and bars, and opposite a nice park.
The Food, breakfast was included and very good and varied, evening meal was also very good and very economical, we ate a very good meal of ribs starter, chicken marengo with rice, beef in ginger with crispy noodles, my wife had 2 cocktails and I had soft drink and the whole bill including drinks was $26us, less than £20 gb, which in a hotel is exceptional.
The room was spotless, of a suitable size with a very nice sized bathroom and excellent shower, serviced each day to a very good standard. The tv had a good selection of channels with several sports channels and movie channels but only one english language news channel which is CNN USA, I would have preferred BBC World service as I am not mad on only knowing news that affects the USA.
The Staff are the real stars of this hotel, they are fantastic, polite, obliging and always smiling, you get a real feel of friendship from them and I can't thank them enough. Nothing is too much trouble and they respond to requests instantly, I asked for a kettle, it was there in 2 minutes, I asked for help with the safe, again 2 minutes maximum, Well done Elios Staff!!!!
All the public areas are maintained to a standard you would expect in a 4/5 star hotel.

Overall an excellent 3 star hotel, which in many aspects is alot better than some 4 stars I have stayed in, and the staff could give many 5 star hotels a lesson in hospitality, I would definitely stay here again if returning to Saigon.

Room Tip: Take a high floor if available to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Loved the juice on arrival, we only stayed here one night but we felt it was very good when considering it was so cheap, about Au$24-26 a night (agoda). Staff were friendly and competent.
Not all rooms have windows which freaked me out a little, but not a real biggy. Bathrooms were nice and we didn't have the breakfast so can't comment. I requested a wake up call at 4:40am and they followed through on to the minute. I'd definately stay here again if I wanted reliability and was on a budget. Great Location being district 1 which is quite central and buzzing with nightlife & fellow travellers. Beds were nice and rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just back from 10 nights at Elios while doing some training in HCMC. Loved the staff's pleasant welcome, and care. The view from restaurant (breakfast) each morning was spectacular! A special peace is part of the environment in a crazy bustling part of the city. Thank Elios for such great hospitality and a comfortable 2 weeks stay where you were happy and helpful to meet every request.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

The breakfast was good... Stayed there for 5 says with different breakfast selection daily, on the highest floor with beautiful view... The room was very clean and equipped with varieties of channels... There were 2 famous coffee shops and eateries around the corners... Very convenient... Love it!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was very central, district 1, a good place to visit the city
Breakfast was minimal and a good idea to take your own coffee if fussy as its very strong. Restaurant is on the top floor and provides a great view of the city.
Staff were very friendly, spoke good English and were very helpful and able to supply a map and indicate the spots to visit.
Rooms okay, comfortable bed.
come out of the hotel turn left and down the first alley to eating places and bars . Best place to drink are the ones with small plastic chairs - packed in the evening might even end up sitting on the road until the police come along and request that seats be put on the pavement .
Recommend Booking a bike tour on your first day a fab experience and your driven by very experienced young girls who supply you with lots of local knowledge. The Company is XO tours

When we return to HCMC probably would try another hotel as there are lots to choose from and probably cheaper than the one we stayed in, but overall a good hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elios Hotel

Address: 233 Pham Ngu Lao St. | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elios Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elios Hotel is an international 3-star hotel, enjoys its location in the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, within working distance of fabulous shopping as well as the city’s business and entertainment districts. We boast of eye-catching, spectacular park view and all 80 cozy rooms are elegant and modern designed with your utmost comfort in mind. Elios Hotel, a home away from home, will offer a pleasant stay with all your needs is satisfied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Elios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elios Hotel Saigon
Elios Hotel Ho Chi Minh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elios Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.