We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bich Duyen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bich Duyen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bich Duyen Hotel
283/4 Pham Ngu Lao | 1 District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 353 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January 2013 for 3 nights. I booked it based on TA reviews back in August and I'm glad I booked in advance! Chang was so helpful, our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were fine, if basic. It was simply the best value for money. We were on the 4th floor which was the only negative with no lift, but no doubt helped to lose a few pounds!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    250
    51
    4
    9
See reviews for
105
319
89
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkham, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

A first class area, In No 1 District close to the many and varied travel agents. Take a beer, with Internet in the lobby, sit on the steps and watch the world go by. Rooms, en suite are cool, clean and represent excellent value. The staff are friendly and helpful, arranging pick ups from airport, recommended! Breakfasts are fine with juice, hot drinks, fruit and eggs on demand.
I would recommend this hotel unreservedly. With 3 nights bed and breakfast, an airport pick up, laundry and a few beers the bill was less than 100 dollars. Stay here you will not regret it!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed two nights in October 2012. Rooms are basic but clean. Ditto with breakfast. We stayed on the forth floor, which was a bit of a pain in terms of navigating the tight and steep staircase. So if possible, I would suggest requesting a room close to the ground as there is no lift.

Chanh speaks great English and is super friendly.

The location of the Hotel is central in terms of accessing the city. Its positioned down an alley, which provides relief from the traffic. We tried to book when we returned to HCMC to fly home and it was booked out, so it could be worthwhile booking in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osoyoos, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Bich Duyen on two separate occasions. The location is great, down a quiet alley, between the two main streets in the tourist area. The rooms are spotless, the staff is excellent, very helpful when trying to find out where places are and how to get there. Beds are comfy. Breakfast is the usual eggs and baguette...cooked and served quickly. Lots of juice and coffee. Showers are ok, water never got really hot but they were warm. Internet is sketchy. We were on the same floor as a router and still had a very weak signal. And the system kept shutting down and have to be reset at least once a day.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a window at the front. Even though it is over the alley, it is still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I can't say enough about this place.
Great and safe location, spotless comfortable rooms, delicious included breakfast, bargain prices, and the best staff imaginable - genuinely care about your experience, not just working.
We spent two nights there and then they held our baggage when we took a trip to the Mekong Delta. When we returned late at night, they even let us shower.
They spent probably an hour talking to us at one point about different travel options.
I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel, clean rooms and comfy beds make this hotel excellent value for the £8 a night we paid.
Right in heart of the tourist area with plenty of bars and eateries around.
Ming checked us in the first night and cooked our eggs in the morning, he was very helpful and helped plan our trips and where to see.
Top tip. When arriving at the airport go to the domestic taxi rank as this will be half the price of the taxis at arrivals, expect to pay about $10 to get to the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Right in the centre of the tourist area close to restaurants and bars. Staff absolutely amazing and will help in every way possible. Some good organised tours of the cu chi tunnels and the city from here.
Rooms fantastic value for money!
Located in a side street so avoids the noise of the main street.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bich Duyen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bich Duyen Hotel

Address: 283/4 Pham Ngu Lao | 1 District, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#13 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bich Duyen hotel is located in the heart of the Backpacker area, quiet, clean air, 5 minutes walk to Ben Thanh market, tour booking, shop, bank, park etc. all within walking distance. We serve free breakfast, tea, coffee, pineapple juice and we have high speed internet. Reception staff warmly welcome guests like family and will give you advice about anything you want to know about Vietnam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Bich Duyen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bich Duyen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bich Duyen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.