We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go there again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Loi's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Miss Loi's Guesthouse
Save
You added Miss Loi's Guesthouse to your Saves list
178/20 Co Giang Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 679 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Le Havre, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Will never go there again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I will never go there again. The street is rather unsafe. No taxi can catch you in the very small street, and you have to carry your luggages in a rather unsafe area. My room was very old fashioned and bed very unconfortable. The room was not so clean. I had to carry my luggages to the 5th floor and nobody proposed help. The boss is one of the most unsympathetic person I have met. You can just have the feeling she is there to make always more money, without a smile.

Room Tip: just have to say, never go there. Nothing to do around, and rather unsafe area on the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
2
17
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay at Miss Loi's Guesthouse! Dao and another girl carried my luggage up to the 5th floor for me, which was really nice of them. The room was much bigger than I expected, and it was nice having a fridge in the room for my water to stay cold. The room was really clean, too.

The breakfast every morning was great, the baguette was fresh, and tasted great with the soft cheese spread. The pineapple and banana was always tasty. It is conveniently located, in an area that felt safe. I made the mistake of drinking too much one night, and stumbled my way back to the guesthouse with no problems. I should have gotten back earlier, the door is locked around midnight, so I felt bad in waking up one of the girls to let me in!

There is a great place to buy pho soup before you walk down the corridor to Miss Loi's, and it is very reasonable. Really tasty soup! There are also many food carts in the area to get the famous banh mi sandwiches. I ate at one that I believe was on Co Bac street. If you are hungry, you will have plenty of places to eat near Miss Loi's Guesthouse!

I am very happy I stayed at Miss Loi's. Miss Loi is very nice, and Dao is just plain, awesome! She was such a wonderful help with her maps, and telling me where to go to exchange my money. Thank you, Dao, for everything. I really appreciate you very much!

Room Tip: I would probably recommend taking the taxi from the airport, but DON'T pay more than 200,000 Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I live nearby and booked 2 rooms for my parents and their friends coming to visit me, 3 weeks in advance to make sure they would have a place to stay. I also came by the day before they arrived to confirm.

When they actually arrived, I was told by an employee that they only had 1 room (and at the 5th floor with no elevator). They just didn't take the booking into account, despite repeated visits and confirmations: not a single f.. was given here.

This is not a misunderstanding as I am a Vietnamese speaker: they simply prefer managing their rooms to maximize profits. AVOID.

Room Tip: just come in the area...and go somewhere else. There are plenty of guests houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Miss Loi's has been lovely. The room is a decent size, the bed is comfortable, and the air conditioning is very welcome in the heat. In addition to the air conditioning, the room comes with a small desk and chair, dresser with TV on top (unused but assume it works), refrigerator, simple bread + cheese + fruit + coffee breakfast, and bathroom with hot water and western style toilet. I think it's great value for money and would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Ho Chi Minh. The only downside is that the AC unit is quite loud, and the head of the bed is the noisiest part, but sleeping upside down was quiet enough to sleep without issue.

Be warned that the location shown on Google Maps isn't correct as of 23 April 2014. It seems that the address confuses it. Rather than being down the laneway off number 20 on Co Giang, it's down the laneway off 178, which is towards the western end of Co Giang nearer to Ho Hao Hon. If you walk towards Ho Hao Hon the laneway is on your right, and there's a sign out on Co Giang directing you down the correct laneway. You can also use the street numbers printed on buildings as a guide.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed there twice in January 2014. Its about 4 blocks away from the hyper environment 0f Phan Ngu Lao and greatly benefits from that distance. Off an small passageway that is like a very short private street w.normal Viet families living there.

The young girls on staff are shy, cooperative and friendly. The place is clean and well run Its in an old style building about 5 floors, elaborate small lobby, no elevator. Loved the simple, healthy free breakfast - a baguette, small cheese packet, 2 bananas, slice of pineapple and some of the best coffee in VN - [and VN is coffee country for sure] - available pretty much anytime you wake up.

No problems w. reservations and availability and this was high season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here for 6 weeks in April. The guest house is hidden down a little alleyway so taxi's sometimes found difficult to find. My room was very clean, with a double bed, aircon, mini fridge and bathroom. The staff were very friendly and were always willing to help with anything! The guesthouse is in a great location only few minutes walk to the tourist area where you will find various places to eat or have a few drinks. It is also only about 5 metres from a convenience store which also had a menu and would deliver to your room which was great for when getting back to Miss Loi's late after a long day. I would definitely stay here again as for the small price you pay you get good quality service, a clean room, great location and breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
china
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Second time staying at Miss Loi's guesthouse. Last time was for 2 months and this time currently staying for a month. HCMC has a myriad of options to choose from and we keep coming back to Miss Loi's place because the staff is trustworthy, the accommodation is clean and well kept, and location is excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Miss Loi's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miss Loi's Guesthouse

Address: 178/20 Co Giang Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 679 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Miss Loi`s Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miss Loi's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.