We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saigon Treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ngoc Minh Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ngoc Minh Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngoc Minh Hotel
283/11-13 Pham Ngu Lao street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 354 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Saigon Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with husband son daughter in law and granddaughter. Situated in a nice quiet little alley but close to bustling Saigon. The owner & staff made us very welcome and a highlight was breakfast on the roof top terrace amonst the lovely orchids small & cosy. We also booked a day trip on the Mekong river from the hotel at a reasonable price. Breakfast was an omelette, baguette, fruit and coffee with condensed milk of which I am now a big fan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    71
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
25
67
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel was absolutely fine, average for the area. Had no problems as such, but it wasn't as good as another hotel I'd stayed in on the same street.

The breakfast consisted of fried egg, fruit, bread and jam, and was pretty good.

Room Tip: Its on a very busy backpacker street in the centre of town, so go for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I cant speak for the one on pham ngu lao street.. but the one on "18 dong du st" is as advertised
1. location, location, location... its a few blocks from sheraton, carvelle, rex etc in district 1 so can easily walk to all the main downtown attractions
2. for value for your money - hard pressed to do better than this - paid $26 taxes and breakfast (coffee/tea, orange juice, 2 eggs cooked how you like and white toast) included for a fair sized room with a queen bed, TV with 2 English channels, fridge, kettle, free water and free desktop in reception, free wifi throughout, good AC and relatively clean (not perfect but what do you expect for $26!). Stayed 3 nights and had no problems and was quiet all 3 nights.
3. Had excellent helpful and good English speaking staff morning and night.. the evening shift was iffy for English. Front desk could also change money no problems and as good as rate as anywhere else I saw.
4. I was single white chick travelling alone and felt very safe here. The area is a tiny bit seedy by night but definitely okay by day. There are several 24/hr open corner stores within a block for basic food/drink/personal needs. Taxi to airport cost me 8$ US.

Room Tip: I had a third floor room single standard room - no view but was quiet. No complaints. Was afraid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

We were supposed to stay in Ncog Linh (a few doors away) but when we got there at 3.00pm our room wasn't ready due to problems with the air con unit so we looked elsewhere as we didn't want to wait 2 hours while it was repaired (we'd been travelling for 17 hours and really needed to shower!).

This place was a great find - we had a large clean room with a double and single bed. The bathroom was good and the water for the shower was nice and hot. Wifi worked really well in the room.

They have a lift, which was a godsend as it meant we didn't have to haul our backpacks up flights of stairs.

The breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace which was lovely.

Also had some laundry done and had no problems - everything came back clean and smelling fresh.

Would definitely go back if I return to Saigon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

First time in the backpacker area of Saigon and it wont be the last. Picked this hotel from Tripadvisor reviews and booked taxis through the hotel from the Airport which was just as well as the hotel is down a tiny alleyway and would take some finding. This was the only blemish. Service was excellent, the room was adequate with a small window but clean and tidy. At $25 it was a gift. Breakfast was decent and served on the roof which added a bit of interest. I found the actual area interesting as have always stayed more in the tourist centre previously. Would I stay here again ? Yes, I loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be O.K.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We chose Ninh Binh as a base to see the local sights. We decided upon the Ngoc Anh Hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. The rooms simple but clean. The staff are very helpful, and the food is basic but still good. I would strongly suggest that if you want to organise tours ask Phuong to take you out and show you about. He is an ex Park Ranger and has good English, is engaging and always helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The title says it all, do you need anything more when you're visiting a major city like Saigon (Ho Chi Minh). Not only that, the prices are affordable, the staff are friendly and will help you whatever the cost. At times it seems like they don't even get any sleep.

Catched some good tours via the hotel, gave me insider info on how to get myself around the city for cheaper. Breakfast was a decent start to the day.

Only complaint I would have was the long stairwalk living on the top floor, but that seems pity of me complaining about that, but if you're staying here try and get a room on the lower levels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ngoc Minh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Minh Hotel

Address: 283/11-13 Pham Ngu Lao street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 354 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOC MINH HOTEL is one of the most impressive hotels in Ho Chi Minh City, conveniently located at the heart of Pham Ngu Lao St, opposite the lush 23 September Park – in the center of the business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 7 kilometres from Tan Son Nhat International Airport and steps away from the bus station, the hotel is adjacent to the famous Ben Thanh market and the main tourist areas of SaiGon.From the very beginning, the Hotel targets the customers for business and leisure purposes. With the advantage of convenient transportation system, NGOC MINH HOTEL features 20 luxury rooms offering the perfect ambience for both concentrated work and undisturbed relaxation. Amenities include Elevator, Private en-suite bathroom, Deluxe bedding, Mini bar, IDD telephone, Safety box, LCD TV with international satellite reception and dozens of choices, as well as complimentary wireless Internet in-room & throughout the hotel. Today, NGOC MINH HOTEL has become the first choice for the local and international tourists and businessmen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ngoc Minh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ngoc Minh Ho Chi City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ngoc Minh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.