We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, friendly staff - great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Han Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hong Han Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hong Han Hotel
238 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome place, friendly staff - great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

This place was great from our pick up at the airport to getting motorbiked across to the bus waiting to take us to our next destination! The staff were friendly and helpful (at all hours!) and helped organise activities and gave great advice. We got a nice 4th floor street side room kitted out with 3 beds. It was clean and had everything we needed. This place is right in the middle of backpacker central where you any help but stumble upon a good time. My only regret was that we didnt stay longer. Will definitely come back next time I'm in Saigon!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    84
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
33
91
28
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This place is great, we liked "climbing" the stairs to reach our room as well as the breakfast served on a balcony on the busy street.
It's a family run business and there is a nice welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

HCMC was our last stop in Vietnam and I was delighted with our decision to stay at Hong Han. By email and in person, Anh was incredibly responsive and helpful, arranging for a car to pick us up from the airport for a very reasonable price. The rooms (and the hotel generally) are spotless and well-appointed; breakfast on the terrace was terrific; and Anh and his colleagues were unfailingly gracious, polite, helpful and informative. Considering the price point, I consider Hong Han excellent value for money - I had read that it might be a bit noisy, being in the backpacker district but our rooms (at the back) were really quiet, considering the frenetic activity going on in the street. I find it impossible to fault Hong Han - thanks to Anh and his crew for a great 3 days in HCMC.

Room Tip: If you are troubled by street noise, ask for a room at the back (i.e. 102, 202, 302 etc...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night and was given great service. The room is clean and good size and the breakfast is good. They also offer airport transfer for $9. It is in a great and a busy area of district 1 with lots of good bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hong Han's location is a major plus and also a bit of a drawback. Sitting having (an OK) breakfast looking down Bui Vien St is fun,and you are in the heart of the action, but there is a corresponding level of noise that was frankly loud in the front room our kids had and bearable - with earplugs - in our back one. Rooms aren't huge but are well-presented and clean. Steep stairs and no lift (not an issue for us, but heads up for anyone for whom it might be).
Staff were very good. Anh is very helpful although when we were there was slightly short-tempered.
Personally I would look for somewhere a bit quieter if I went to Saigon again, but understand Hong Han's appeal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and we absolutely loved it. The staff are lovely - We thought Anh was especially helpful; making calls for us when our flight got delayed and changing money for us at a good rate. Our room was spotlessly clean, the room rates are low and the location is pretty much perfect; being close to restaurants, shops and a short walk from the Ben Tanh market. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Clean hotel with good location, very helpfull staff (adviced us what to visit, provided free map, called taxi, explained scams etc), good breakfast included. Rooms facing street are bit noisy, bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms not oriented to the street are bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hong Han Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Han Hotel

Address: 238 Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, 1st District, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 618 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Han hotel is family hotel. It is in the most famous backpackers area of VietNam, the Pham Ngu La, Bui Vien, De Tham street, Saigon. Where you find a wide range of hotels, shops, restaurants, banks, tour operators and post office facilities. It's about 5 minutes walking from Hong Han hotel to Ben Thanh market, and 15 minutes walking from Hong Han hotel to The Central post office, The Notre Dame Cathedral, The reunification Hall, Ho Chi Minh museum ( Nha Rong port ), Sai Gon river, War museum…We have 9 rooms, large, clear and very clean with all the facilities: air conditioner, fan, fridge, wardrobe, telephone, private bathroom with hot/cold shower and cable TV ( with HBO, Star movie, ESPN channel… ), free internet, free WIFI. Our team is young, whole hearted, friendly and we speak English well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hong Han Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Han Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.