We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, excellent position.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Indochine Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indochine Hotel
Save
You added Indochine Hotel to your Saves list
40-42 Hai Ba Trung | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #237 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good value for money, excellent position.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Pros:
- excellent position in the centre of HCMC;
- relatively cheap considering location and quality of the room (particularly the cheapest room, though see the point below with regard to this);

Cons:
- cheapest room do not have window (might or might not be a problem, depending upon yourself and the temperature at that time of the year);
- does not offer transfer from the airport;
- I was reported by some other guests that they were stolen money by the cleaning staff (I did not experience this directly, so I am just reporting it second-hand as a rumour).

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    35
    24
    15
See reviews for
13
53
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alphington, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

For a relatively modest price in central Saigon, a short walk to everything, this is a wonderful hotel. The included breakfast wasn't anything to write home about, however the rooms were clean and quite large, everything worked and the staff were extremely helpful.

I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Reading the rest of the reviews, this place is as they have described. The location of the place is tucked right behind the nicer hotels but this is a makeshift hotel from a small lot of office block. The price is cheap but not worth the experience of old moldy carpets, uncleaned toilets, and creepy crawly all over.

I got out the next day to another hotel near by which is newer. The best thing about the hotel that would be worth a mention is the receptionist who as more than willing to direct you to the place where you need to go. Other than that pls look forward to better hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good value I suppose at $40 a night, and $20 for the half day which we needed for our late flight, but the place is just gross. The carpets hadn't been vacuumed in who knows how long, there were "divots" under the carpet surface, little antlike crawlers in the soap dish, somebody's short black HAIRS in my made bed...and they weren't long female black ones from the housekeeper, assuming they have one...and mostly cold water all afternoon. Smoking Chinese and French guests made the spartan scrambled eggs and baguette breakfast very unpleasant, and the room was sparse, tired, dated and scary. The TV was 90s, but the wireless was solid, the only good thing I have to say. All in all, I wish I had just ponied up another $25. for the kind of comfort and decent breakfast I had elsewhere in Vietnam at bargain prices. This place made Motel 6s and Super 8s look like the Ritz. Seriously, I was hesitant to get into that bed, but had no choice. Plus, the AC blasted uncontrollably all night. I'm going to die with at least $50 left to my name...I just wish I had spent it at the Hotel Continental instead. How's that...honest enough?

Room Tip: Somebody said there was a flat screen in this hotel? I didn't check out the super deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Although Lonely Planet was generally right on with recommendations, this hotel is definitely not a top pick. It is gross, tired, rundown and dirty with cockroaches running through the lobby. The air in the room blew directly on me at night making it impossible to sleep. The included breakfast was sparse.Spend a few dollars more and do yourself a favor and find another place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Came there just for a few days, but really enjoyed my staying. Rooms were nice and tidy. Reasonable prices for these area (District 1). Especially the reception-staff has been more than friendly and helpfull. I have been provided with any kind of information i needed. Welcomed with a nice smile every day, it was always a good atmosphere...!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Good location for central Saigon with all facilities nearby and most places within walking distance.. Rooms have Air Con, but both rooms we stayed in were very tired. Breakfast were appalling, limited choice and quantity.
Staff very helpful, and there is a computer in reception that you can use without charge.
I would avoid letting the hotel arrange a taxi from the airport, they charge 20$ for this, but a normal taxi from the rank would only be less than 10$.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indochine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indochine Hotel

Address: 40-42 Hai Ba Trung | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in center of Ho Chi Minh (Saigon) city, Indochine Hotel is a subtle blend of Asian hospitality and modern Western innovation! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indochine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.