We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good breakfast buffet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Au Lac Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Au Lac Hotel to your Saves list
Au Lac Hotel
90 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai | Ward 6 - Distrist 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good breakfast buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Good overall experience! Check-in was fast and the staff was friendly and always willing to help. Their English skills are quite basic so speak slowly and listen carefully. Our twin-bed room was a little crowded due to the extra bed but it was alright for a 2-night stay. Also it had two huge windows with a nice view of the city! (Room 214). Their buffet breakfast was great and caters to both Asian and Western tastes. They had an omelet station and their Vietnamese coffee was the best! Check-out was also fast but when we were just about to leave, we were charged $0.50 for a bottle of water from the minibar. We did not even touch the minibar but paid the mysterious bottle of water anyway because we were in a hurry

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
7
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Rooms were basic and on the small side but clean. Bathroom had the usual amenities. Breakfast was average and included both Western and Vietnamese options. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. Centrally located and away from the backpacker area which was what I was trying to avoid. There are a few bars and restaurants within walking distance but it is not an area crowded with tourists Located within walking distance of major tourist attractions such as Reunification Palace, Notre Dame and Central Post Office as well as Ben Thanh market. At around $40 USD a night for a so called "luxury" room (essentially a basic room) it is not one of the cheapest options but I would consider staying again for the convenient location on a weekend trip.

Room Tip: The higher the room the less street noise you will hear
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First note: This is for Au Lac Hotel, NOT Au Lac II.

I'm just writing this quick note in case anyone plans to stay at this hotel soon. We were just there on September 27th and there is construction right next door. The noise was LOUD and continuous but we thought it would end at some appropriate hour. Not so! It continued throughout the night and into the morning.

Other than that, the hotel was fine... a little worn around the edges, but quite adequate. I booked through Agoda and paid only US$44.37 per night and that included a buffet breakfast that had eggs cooked to order, pastries, baguette bread, juice, coffee, some Asian hot dishes, etc. I hope to elaborate more on this hotel and post some photos but wanted to at least write about the current construction noise situation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a tour. Not a bad location, there are some bars close bar, but avoid the one just under the hotel entrance, had vodka and coke, but it tasted like fire water, and a lot of bars don't bring the can to you. Found the coffee was not topped up after the first day, but they provided 2 bottles of water per day. Also they did not top up the mini bar unless requested. Breakfasts were good,they had a egg chef cooking to order, there was a wide selection of Asian foods available also.

Room Tip: Higher up the better as there is a lot of street noise. There was a drum player nearby who played u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was booked into the hotel for a business meeting and it was located within walking distance of the meeting. It is also within short walks to a few places and a big market. The hotel itself is good for the cost. The bed is comfortable, the room adequate for me by myself. The staff is helpful. They will pick you up at the airport for $20 one way. If you are not used to street noise, it can be noisy. The breakfast spread is good for Vietnamese fare, not much for the Western palate. I did not have other meals.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My lack of enthusiasm for this hotel may not be issues for others so let's start with the positive. I would never want to stay IN district 1, the heart of chaos, and yet for a tourist you do want to be walking distance from that area, which Au Lac, in district 3, is. If you are a light sleeper though, bring ear plugs which suffice to block out the never ending honking of taxis and mopeds. The room and ammenities are adequate, the staff are helpful, albiet in a rather naf way. Negatives: The decor is tacky, I had to request toilet paper upon arrival, the breakfast is mediocre at best, and the overhead light in the room flickered even when lights were off. If your number one concern is location then I would reccomend Au Lac, because the inadequacies are really relative.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

I booked a superior room, which turned out to be much smaller than what is shown in pictures, but it wasn't a big deal since I was by myself.

What ultimately resulted in an inferior experience was all the little things that went wrong: broken tv, broken overhead light, high faucet water pressure, low shower water pressure, and the loud constructing at all hours of the day. Many of these problems could have easily been avoided with a little more attentive service. Breakfast was also a complete disappointment as they ran out of coffee.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Au Lac Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Lac Hotel

Address: 90 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai | Ward 6 - Distrist 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Au Lac Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Au Lac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Lac Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.