We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don"t Do It” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Nguyen Trai Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 365 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Northern Territory
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don"t Do It”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Booked 3 nights through ratestogo and only stayed one night and wouldn't have stayed for that one either if we hadn't had a long trip beforehand and arrived at night.
The older lady at reception was rude and tried to rip us off with the exchange rate so we paid in US Dollars finally only to realise the next day that she still had ripped us off .
The room was 501 with a balcony which was so narrow only a very slim person could fit on it and close the door at the same time
The room smelt of urine everytime we flushed the toilet
The beds and pillows were so hard it was like sleeping on a rock.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
7
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

I'd book the hotel through ratestogo.com and for a single room with windows at USD25.00 per night for two nights.

On checking-in, I was brought to a room next to the staircase with two small ventilation windows (unopened) close to the ceiling,

When I said I booked for a room with windows, the owner replied that this is what is mentioned on the website, and that the ventilation holes are windows.

He added that if I want a room with a window (with a view), then I need to pay for a double room (at USD28.00 per night).

I upgraded, but felt cheated that I had been willing to pay USD25.00 for a room with windows rather than USD22.00 for a room without windows, but end up having to pay another USD3.00 for a view.

The hotel looks rundown, and when I explore the street, I found that other newer hotels on the same street are only charging USD25.00 for a room with a view.

  • Liked — the chambermaids
  • Disliked — the toilet
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mabalacat, Philippines
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

disaster! next time follow your instincs. before booking this hotel i already have bad feelings about it but its the only budget hostel i can find on the web with vacant rooms, so eventually i booked one night. our train from hanoi arrived early in ho chi minh it was 30hours train ride. so we ride a taxi who currupted us and asked 50,000 dong instead of 20,000 dong from its meter, so ipaid what he wants coz its too early to argue. so we entered the hostel and lined motorbikes greeted us at the lobby as if its the parking lot! the dark lobby with chinese ornaments, pictures of ancestors, and old furnishings horrors my imagination. so we checked in and was told its still early and should be back later. so was kinda happy to exit the room as soon as possible to get some outside air. in fairness, it is close to a park, pham ngu lao st., where most bars, restos, travel agencies and othe hotels/hostels were lined up. by 10am we were back to the hotel to check-in. they have a lift to our floor which is good. our room is ok, triple bed, with good cable tv, ref, aircon. breakfast area is nice with a good view of the city. the lady owner, i felt unaccomodating, during our check-in and having problem understanding what the heck they are telling me, she keeps on murmering in her native tongue which i felt uncomfortable. so if i were you, better check other place to stay.

  • Liked — the breakfast area
  • Disliked — the dark rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

The Good - The front desk people were very friendly - lots of smiles and was very welcoming. The room was small - but adequate enough for a couple on a budget. Just be careful with the lights - you may get the impression they are faulty as the switches don't work, but in fact another set of switches on the other side of room also needs to be switched on for the lights to work.

They've got free wi-fi internet and one on the lobby at a charge - but its ultra slow. They were very obliging in helping me locate another hotel that had a lot faster internet service, despite being so late at night (had to do some work although we were on holidays!). As we were checking out, the hotel owner offered us some local viet coffee before our early flight and had a nice chat.

The Bad - The bathroom gave off a pungent sewerage smell, which forced us to be quick with our showers and grooming in the morning. The bellboy could use some deodrant as well (also overheard the hotel owner criticising his smell in Vietnamese). For our double room, we didn't get windows, so some may get a sense of claustrophobia.

Pretty much you get what you pay for - located in popular backpacker accommodation area.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Was charged $22 a night for a single room (came with double bed). Room OK though no window; felt a little claustrophobic. Facilities all worked OK. Breakfast average - strangely had to book your choice of breakfast the day before, along with a time. On all days breakfast was sitting on the table 10 minutes early - at least they rang to say it was there but not hot by time I got to it. Very basic breakfast.

They charged $20 for airport pick up. get a Mai Linh taxi (they are honest, meters properly used) and only cost $5 approx.

beware charges for water from fridge. Was well overcharged until I complained.

My biggest complaint was not being able to check out 2 hours late without paying a full extra night. Very stingy it seemed to me. male staff very nice; female staff not so warm.

Yes, noisy, busy street. It is cheap after all. Wi-fi in rooms is a bonus. But I think you can do better in District 1.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — windowless, poor quality
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

Our group of 14 pax had 6 rooms. Bathrooms are not so clean. Sinks are not of standard height. Some are so low, some are high. Saw cockroach at one room. Only front desk staffs can speak english. Chambermaids and dining area staffs cannot speak english. Thus, unpleasant breakfasts due to difficulty in asking for what guests need. Location is not ideal for walking to Ben Thanh Market. Too many roads to bravely cross. Take note that Vietnamese' major means of transportation are motorcycles. Defective doorknob at one of the rooms. Occupants were locked in. Hotel personnels were slow and unsuccessful in opening the door. They helplessly watched as 3 guys of our group systematically opened the worn-out doorknob.

Our duration of stay had a break due to travels to Siem Reap and Hanoi. On 1st check-in, we were made to pay in advance our total nos. of days ( including hotel stay after Siem Reap and Hanoi), Reason given was the various free airport pickups and transfers to airport. Hotel owner,himself drove the van. Take note: 14 not slim adults plus luggages were expected to sqeeze-in in one typical sized van. When asked for additional ride like a taxi to have a comfortable travel, he mindlessly replied that we can get taxi at our own expense. That action indicates the bad customer-service one gets at Crystal Hotel. Before our return to Saigon, I emailed and appealed for additonal taxi for airport pickup. He replied that there's only one van for shuttle. Thus, I emailed that he gets big taxi for us, at our expense, so it leaves airport at same time as his van. He didn't reply anymore. That caused me anxiety. At airport pickup area, a taxi was indeed there for us. As my family got in the taxi, we noticed the meter was not working. When asked, the driver said no meter and it'd cost 10 USD. Not wanting to be victims of unscrupulous taxi drivers, we stopped the taxi and went down. Surprisingly, he told us to get back because hotel owner will pay the fare. Wow! Finally, the additional taxi ride is free. But, we were not told. I had to have anxiety and have that "funny" scene of getting off and getting back at taxi.

Majority of the group checked out days ahead of my family. There was an attempt of not giving us free transfer to airport for reason that the group already had several airport pickups and transfers. I had to show hotel owner's email to me that confirmed all the listed pickups and transfers. This attempt again showed the type of customer-service one gets.

Hotel owner is so unapproachable. He doesn't smile at all. Discriminatory behaviour,too. His body language challenged the group's patience.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

Perhaps its because we started in Hanoi and finished in Ho chi minh and got spoilt in such excellent hotels on the way (Golden Sun Hanoi, Orchid hotel Hue and Thien Thanh hotel Hoi An) that this hotel just didnt really cut it for us. Ok, bad points first, they advertised airport pick but cos we only gave them 24 hours notice by e-mail, they said it could not be arranged cos they needed a few days notice. It wasnt a problem really as metered taxis were only $4 - $5 anyway. Then it advertises credit cards accepted, but when they requested payment (on arrival) they insisted on cash. We told them we wanted to pay by cc but they said they couldn't do that (even though theres a big VISA/MASTERCARD) sign right behind reception! They told us to go down to the local ATM and just get the cash out. This seemed to be quite common though in Saigon, so I dont know what thats all about! Everywhere else we went in Vietnam accepted cc's! Being right on a main street, it was really noisy aswell, even at 2, 3, 4 a.m. it just didnt stop so my hubbie didn't get a wink of sleep - prob cos our room was right on the front. Now to the good points, the hotel itself was nice and clean and had planty of character. The room was large, clean, well equipped, and cos we were on the front, we had a small balcony, which is always a bonus. The top floor breakfast room was delightful and the breakfast pretty much the same as most budget hotels in Vietnam. Location was noisy and busy but convenient to everything and some really good (mostly Chinese) restaurants within 3 mins walk. The guy on reception was great and funny and very helpful, recommending restaurants etc. Much more helpful than the female reception staff. All in all it was good for the price, and since I got nothing else in Saigon to compare it to, I'm sure it coulda been a lot worse. Prob would not choose to stay there again though purely due to the noise and not being able to pay with a cc.

  • Liked — Convenience to everything
  • Disliked — Noise from busy street
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Address: 70 Nguyen Trai Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 365 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crystal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal hotel is located in the central district 1 of Ho Chi Minh City, the heart of the exciting section of the town. The Crystal hotel has a very warm welcome and attentive atmosphere. You will feel like you are at home the moment you enter and it's an ideal place for worldly travelers to meet people who are all traveling around Vietnam. And with a team of considerate, cheerful and sincere staff, your stay in Ho Chi Minh City will be made more pleasant.We have 32 international standard rooms including Single, Twin, Double, Quad rooms, especially Group Bookings have very attractive rates for budget travelers. Your daily breakfast will be served on the top of the hotel- where you can view a part of Ho Chi Minh City from height. There is one restaurant in Crystal hotel, where we cater for nice traditional Vietnamese dishes. 24 hours room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.