We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Ho Chi Minh City to your Saves list
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good value for money and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

my experience at somerset ho chi minh city was absolutely great . very well maintaines apartment , we had wonderful time . we stayed from 24th to 28th feb 2014 . central location , excellent staff , neat and clean . nice store inside . very good swimming pool .

Room Tip: blindly can book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Dinesh64

Thank you very much for the short and sound review.

We are pleased to know that you had an absolutely great experience with us. We pride ourselves on the level of customer service that we provide at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City and feedback such as yours is most encouraging.

We look forward to being at your service again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    111
    33
    8
    1
See reviews for
151
15
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tønsberg, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband, son (7) and I stayed at Somerset for two nights in the beginning of March 2014, after two and a half week in Mui Ne previous to our stay. When looking for a place to stay in Ho Chi Minh a couple of days at the end of our vacation and before our long return home, our prior concern was to find a place to stay with a nice pool, and preferably 2 bedrooms. And Somerset have both! Nice, spacious and well cleaned apartments, with a small balcony and a playground for kids. Friendly and helpful staff, and a comfortable SOFT bed! That's hard to come by in Asia! The location was perfect for us - in district 1 and close to several places worth to see. Allthough - "close" in the sence that taxi is highly affordable - Ho Chi Minh is a big city with crazy traffic where pedestrians have the lowest priority, so be advised - taxi is the best option if the distance is more then 15-20 minutes by foot. The breakfast was a little bit booring, but good. I would stay at Somerset again if I go to HCM again. Good value for money!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear LivR67

I am glad that you have chosen Somerset Ho Chi Minh City for your vacation in Ho Chi Minh City and I am pleased to know that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Thank you for taking the time to write the very encouraging review on TripAdvisor.

Your countless complimentary words such as nice, spacious, clean, friendly and helpful staff, comfortable soft bed, perfect location, good value etc. have indeed touched us and brighten our day.

Thank you once again for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to your “home away from home”.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in Jan 2014 and were very happy. Our initial check in had us placed overlooking the very noisy building works next door (which take place all night and day), and with a sliding door that would not lock. We requested a move and were accommodated immediately to a room in a block that was not so close. No building noise could be heard. Rooms very spacious (deor a bit dated) and the washing machine was very handy. All sights easily reached by taxi (super cheap), and the zoo is located a 2 minute walk down the road. I found all the hotel staff extremely accommodating and friendly. The breakfast is basic but as it was included in the rate, thought it was reasonable. Loved the chicken and lemongrass!

Only downside was the spa was broken and it did not appear there was any rush to get it fixed.

Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back block - Cassia I think it was called.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Teri J

Thank you for posting a complimentary review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that our associates promptly attended to your request and made your stay with us a pleasant one.

It is indeed a nice pleasure to know that you enjoy the location of the property, the spaciousness of the apartments, and the extremely accommodating and friendly service from our staff.

Please be updated that the spa (Jacuzzi) was properly fixed and is under its service.

Once again, thank you for the nice review. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Reasonable location, you can walk to all the sights. We had a 3 bed appartments for 4 nights. I was not impressed to be right next to a massive building site, which has a crane that literally swings over the pool. It was noisy from dawn to dusk, and then when that stopped the karaoke bar over the street started. Our appartment was reasonable, with the exception of the out of date bathrooms, with shower heads that would not stay still and limited hot water. The pool area was very nice. Don't have the breakfasts here, the ladies in the little restaurant were very unfriendly, hardly acknowledged us, and the food was of limited choice, poorly presented and not very good, unless you like coco pops. However it was relatively cheap and you get what you pay for.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Dear Aucklander68

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear of your unhappiness during your recent stay with us. Please be updated that the next door construction is near completion and should no longer be a source of dust or noise pollution.

We noted your comment about the service at the restaurant. Rest assured that I will address your concerns with the management of the restaurant for their improvement.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback. From all of us at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Upon arrival the front desk was very friendly and attentive during our check in process, however out of everything he could of told me about the hotels service all he mentioned was that there are NO local overnight female guests allowed past 10pm? Kind of inconvenient being that my girlfriend is from Saigon and I originally booked this hotel for us to stay 1 night before our departure to Nha Trang, and mind you I have stayed at 20 other hotels in Ho Chi Minh City where this was never an issue, I almost felt like a kid being told by my parents that I can't see girls, im also a worker off the Internet and the connection on the wifi was very poor, the hotel is very outdated and felt like something from the 70s, I would never guess this is a 5 star hotel, An Phu Plaza and vincom are much more accommodating for your money

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Btappia

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to know that you find our staff friendly and attentive.

We would like to clarify that according to the decree issued by the Vietnamese Government (08/2001/ND-CP), all local Vietnamese visitors are not allowed to visit after 10.00pm or stay overnight in the apartment unless he/she is proven to be the spouse (with a valid Marital Certificate) of the resident. We therefore need to abide by the laws. We apologize if this was not clearly made known to you before your arrival.

Since we are constantly looking at ways to improve our services and product, I am pleased to share that Somerset Ho Chi Minh City is to undergo a full refurbishment to apartments in April this year to upkeep the standard of our product.

Once again, thank you for staying with us. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Sincerely yours

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya, Turkey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The location was a little away from the center of the city. But it is very easy to reach by taxis. The staff is great check in and check out is easy and smooth. The rooms are large clean furniture is little out of date but comfortable. good wireless connection in the rooms and common areas. Nice swimming pool breakfast. Dont recommend to try dinner options of Western food.
The overall stay was pleasent, can highly recommend for groups and families.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear pembegul

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

It is great to have you stay with us. We are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we appreciate your compliments about our service and facilities.

We hope to see welcome you again.

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during the christmas break, experiencing both the 2 bedroom & 3 bedromm apartment in 2 different blocks. The rooms are adequately spacious with excellent quality of bedding and linen. The entire aprtment complex is well maintained and the staff extremely hospitable. Add to this a good pool and a small kids play area. Gives you a good holiday feel.

The biggest attraction of the place is its proximity to city centre. a 15 min walk or a 5 min taxi ride is all it needs. Overall a great stay experienced.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSomerset, Manager at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Amit_Bhatia

I am happy to know that you had a pleasant stay with us at Somerset Ho Chi Minh City. Thank you for spending the time to share your valued feedback.

It is most important for one’s vacation to have “excellent quality of bedding and linen”, the “adequately spacious and well maintained apartment”, the great facilities, the good location, and the “extremely hospitable service”. I am very glad to know that we have made it a whole package for your vacation. I hope the great experience you had with us made your Christmas in Ho Chi Minh City a fantastic one.

Do come again.

Best regards

Chung Minh Van
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Ho Chi Minh City

Address: 8A Nguyen Binh Khiem St District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#33 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Ho Chi Minh City 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in the pleasures of a private Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartment designed for the discerning executive and international family. A refreshing alternative to a hotel, Somerset Ho Chi Minh City offers a resort-style retreat in the city centre with elegant and spacious apartments. Ideal corporate housing for business travel, project assignment and relocation, the extensive services and facilities complement the comfortable ambiance and modern amenities. In addition to Somerset Ho Chi Minh City' friendly staff who are always ready to help with local knowledge, a wide range of social and cultural activities are specially organised to help residents settle in and understand the local customs. Somerset Ho Chi Minh City even has a Cubbies Kids Club to pamper the little ones with exhilarating and inspiring activities. Located in the business and shopping district (District 1), the residence is conveniently close to business destinations, consulates, shopping centres, the Botanic Gardens, and a wide variety of dining and entertainment. You can enjoy the dynamic city life on business or leisure while living in the spacious elegance of these private residential apartment accommodation in Ho Chi Minh City. The property (Block B) is currently undergoing renovation work until further notice. Renovations will be carried out on weekdays only, from 8:30 am - 12 pm and 1 pm - 5:30 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Somerset Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Ho Chi Minh City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.