We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Chancellor Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Chancellor Court to your Saves list
Somerset Chancellor Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 - 23 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 409 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was skeptical at first due to the good deal me and my wife got for 5 nights starting 31st March 2013 and was expecting a room in a attic.

I was more than happy to book into the Intercontinental and book a club room (Enjoy the happy hour in Bar) as this was a treat for the wife as we have been living in China for 7 months.

My wifes not keen on Hotels as they are basically same, same and being a Vegitarian its hard to get meals to suit both of us.

Anyway we searched the Webb and found the Summerset Chancellor Court Apartments and decided to give it a go.
Best decision we have made in ages.

The furniture looks like something out of 70s but that was more than compensated by the cleanliness, the equipment, the Facilities on site (Swimming Pool, Shop on site, Gym etc)

The staff where more than friendly and helpful with all our needs and the tour desk in reception was again great help in organizing our bike tour of Cu Chi Tunnels.

I hardly recommend anywhere, but would the Summerset Apartments

Room Tip: We where on 6th floor in a 2 bedroomed Executive apartment which more than adaquate for me and wife
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owensys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 kids (2 & 9).and thought it was great. We arrived and they knew who we were, the apartment was huge, gym facilities great and the pool even better. Only saw 1 other person swimming whilst we were there. Had 2 minor problems in the room that were fixed immediately - the safe needed a new battery and the washing machine was faulty and replaced within hours.The security out front organised cabs and told the drivers where we wanted to go but we walked quite often to the local sites. Great pho place next door and a pizza place & kfc across the rode for fussy kid eaters. Would highly recommend and definately stay at again. Also there is a well stocked minimart on the ground floor and a coffee shop.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family and I were long-staying guests for 6 months in a two bedroom one bathroom apartment and only moved out in Dec 2012.

For visitors to Saigon, these serviced apartments are great. They are very spacious with well equipped kitchen facilities. However if you have a family like mine with 3 daughters, remember to ask reception for a 2-bedroom apartment with two bathrooms - otherwise it can be a challenge during the morning toilet rush.

Breakfasts down in the Highland Coffee house are uninspired and after awhile the best thing is whipping up your own breakfasts. The mini supermarket which sells groceries including some fresh veggies and frozen meats is very convenient and is reasonably priced.

Otherwise there are some nice places to eat which include the roadside pho place next door at only US$1 per bowl. It's safe and I haven't fallen ill once over the 6 months that I have eaten there. For the less adventurous there's KFC and Pho 24 nearby. Directly across the hotel a newly opened traditional "broken rice" restaurant serves tasty grilled pork rice combination and Vietnamese spring rolls.

Depending on which direction your room faces (if it faces the main road Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street) it can be very noisy from the early morning traffic which begins around 5 am. The only frustration with the property is waiting for the elevators during the morning rush hour as many long-staying families rush off to work or send off their kids to school.There are only 2 elevators serving the entire building and waiting times of 10 to 15 mins are not unheard off!

Finally the staff are great and very helpful especially in arranging house-call massages (you can request for a male or female masseuse) from a nearby spa which is reasonably priced at under USD20 for a 60min body massage including tip after a long day of shopping and touring

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kl
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited Saigon from 17-21 February 2013, we had a great stay a Somerset Chancellor Court. The location was perfect as it was close to all the places of interest. Will recommend to others who visit Saigon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Myself, wife and 2 teenage daughters stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment for 5 days over New Year 2012. The location was excellent with most attractions being a short taxi ride from the hotel.
The hotel suite was spacious with the most comfortable beds we had in our entire holiday of 16 days in Vietnam. With 2 teenage daughters we appreciated the 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and spacious Lounge area. Furniture was modern with decor being pleasant. We also appreciated the convenience store on the Ground floor to by provisions including French wine at reasonable prices. The breakfast at the attached coffee shop was just OK and more variety would have been appreciated but the staff were friendly and hepful and we discovered a local restaurant a few doors to the Left as you exit the Hotel that serve a delicious Pho in the mornings.
The pool area behind the hotel was great to sunbathe and the girls used the Gym which they also enjoyed. WiFi reception was consistantly good.
We would definately stay here again when we visit Ho Chi Minh City.

Room Tip: Whilst we were on the 4th Floor and there was a bit of road noise it wasn't a problem for us. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miliesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

1st time in HCMC. Relieved to find a peaceful place to rest. Close to many food outlets across the road. 10-15 minutes walk to shopping malls & Opera House area. Breakfast at Highland Coffee was of limited choice. Very helpful staffs who provided directions & made tour bookings etc.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road may be noisy as motorists like to honk while driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LEC_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with 2 of our teenage children. Good location. Close to great restaurants and attractions. Lovely staff, very helpful. Great to have room to spread out. Only down side was breakfast- only ok. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetravel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.5 mi away
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Ho Chi Minh City
#46 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sedona Suites Ho Chi Minh City
Sedona Suites Ho Chi Minh City
#113 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sherwood Residence
Sherwood Residence
#24 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
Saigon Domaine Luxury Residences
#15 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
3.9 mi away
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
Somerset Vista Ho Chi Minh City
#40 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Asiana Saigon Residences
InterContinental Asiana Saigon R...
#8 of 409 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Chancellor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Chancellor Court

Address: 21 - 23 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#42 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#42 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Chancellor Court 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious and elegant Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartments offer you the opportunity to experience Ho Chi Minh City while indulging in the pleasures of personalised services and facilities. Enjoy the bustling Asian city lifestyle or stroll at your leisure to the beautiful botanic gardens just moments from the residence. Ideal corporate housing for the executive on project assignment or relocation, the newly renovated residence is in the heart of the business district (District 1). Whether travelling for business, leisure or relocation, the Somerset Chancellor Court provides an elegant city retreat designed for executives and international families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Somerset Chancellor Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Chancellor Court Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing