We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great serviced apartment for a family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Chancellor Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Somerset Chancellor Court to your Saves list
Somerset Chancellor Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 - 23 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 365 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great serviced apartment for a family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family and I were long-staying guests for 6 months in a two bedroom one bathroom apartment and only moved out in Dec 2012.

For visitors to Saigon, these serviced apartments are great. They are very spacious with well equipped kitchen facilities. However if you have a family like mine with 3 daughters, remember to ask reception for a 2-bedroom apartment with two bathrooms - otherwise it can be a challenge during the morning toilet rush.

Breakfasts down in the Highland Coffee house are uninspired and after awhile the best thing is whipping up your own breakfasts. The mini supermarket which sells groceries including some fresh veggies and frozen meats is very convenient and is reasonably priced.

Otherwise there are some nice places to eat which include the roadside pho place next door at only US$1 per bowl. It's safe and I haven't fallen ill once over the 6 months that I have eaten there. For the less adventurous there's KFC and Pho 24 nearby. Directly across the hotel a newly opened traditional "broken rice" restaurant serves tasty grilled pork rice combination and Vietnamese spring rolls.

Depending on which direction your room faces (if it faces the main road Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street) it can be very noisy from the early morning traffic which begins around 5 am. The only frustration with the property is waiting for the elevators during the morning rush hour as many long-staying families rush off to work or send off their kids to school.There are only 2 elevators serving the entire building and waiting times of 10 to 15 mins are not unheard off!

Finally the staff are great and very helpful especially in arranging house-call massages (you can request for a male or female masseuse) from a nearby spa which is reasonably priced at under USD20 for a 60min body massage including tip after a long day of shopping and touring

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    57
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
17
8
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kl
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited Saigon from 17-21 February 2013, we had a great stay a Somerset Chancellor Court. The location was perfect as it was close to all the places of interest. Will recommend to others who visit Saigon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Myself, wife and 2 teenage daughters stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment for 5 days over New Year 2012. The location was excellent with most attractions being a short taxi ride from the hotel.
The hotel suite was spacious with the most comfortable beds we had in our entire holiday of 16 days in Vietnam. With 2 teenage daughters we appreciated the 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and spacious Lounge area. Furniture was modern with decor being pleasant. We also appreciated the convenience store on the Ground floor to by provisions including French wine at reasonable prices. The breakfast at the attached coffee shop was just OK and more variety would have been appreciated but the staff were friendly and hepful and we discovered a local restaurant a few doors to the Left as you exit the Hotel that serve a delicious Pho in the mornings.
The pool area behind the hotel was great to sunbathe and the girls used the Gym which they also enjoyed. WiFi reception was consistantly good.
We would definately stay here again when we visit Ho Chi Minh City.

Room Tip: Whilst we were on the 4th Floor and there was a bit of road noise it wasn't a problem for us. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

1st time in HCMC. Relieved to find a peaceful place to rest. Close to many food outlets across the road. 10-15 minutes walk to shopping malls & Opera House area. Breakfast at Highland Coffee was of limited choice. Very helpful staffs who provided directions & made tour bookings etc.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road may be noisy as motorists like to honk while driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongara, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with 2 of our teenage children. Good location. Close to great restaurants and attractions. Lovely staff, very helpful. Great to have room to spread out. Only down side was breakfast- only ok. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of the year for a city break.
Positives:
good location, 15 minute stroll in to the centre near Opera/Post Office or 3 minute cab ride; walking distance from both museums; easy to get to from the airport (around US$10-12). We were in a 2 bedroom appartment overlooking the front and side of the building with 2 large balconies. Noise was not a problem with the windows closed. The accomodation was spacious, beds were comfortable. Bathrooms were a bit outdated but clean and functional. Service was friendly and efficient. Convenient supermarket downstairs.
Negatives: 2nd bedroom poorly furnished - no mirror, waste paper basket, dressing table or chest of drawers. No teatowels or cloths in the kitchen to dry dishes/clean spills.
Beware - if you are planning to pay cash for your stay, they will take your credit card details for a guarantee (which is acceptable and expected) but then will charge your card for the full amount without necessarily telling you unless you specifically ask them, It then takes them up to 2 full weeks to refund your card. This was a bit of a dampner on the stay which otherwise was pleasant enough and good value for money.

Room Tip: do book on their website rather than via price comparison sites - more likely to get a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family of 3 adult women, my husband and myself recently stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment at the Chancellor Somerset in Saigon. The apartment was about 1,300 sq. ft. and easily accomodated a rollaway in the living room. There were 1 and 1/2 baths and a washer/dryer. Breakfast of fruit, cereal, and made-to-order eggs was served in the cafe downstairs. The fitness facility was amazing as was the large swimming pool. It was hot in Saigon, so the pool was a welcome respite in the afternoon. Although it's located in District 1, it is a bit far out, but taxis are cheap and we walked several times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Chancellor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Chancellor Court

Address: 21 - 23 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Chancellor Court 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious and elegant Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartments offer you the opportunity to experience Ho Chi Minh City while indulging in the pleasures of personalised services and facilities. Enjoy the bustling Asian city lifestyle or stroll at your leisure to the beautiful botanic gardens just moments from the residence. Ideal corporate housing for the executive on project assignment or relocation, the newly renovated residence is in the heart of the business district (District 1). Whether travelling for business, leisure or relocation, the Somerset Chancellor Court provides an elegant city retreat designed for executives and international families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Chancellor Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Chancellor Court Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Chancellor Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.