We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money well spent for a 2br apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Chancellor Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Chancellor Court to your Saves list
Somerset Chancellor Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 - 23 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Money well spent for a 2br apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

It was a last minute holiday plan & we managed to book a 2br apartment. The apartment is clean & spacious even for 3A2C. With a washer in the unit, dirty laundry is not a problem. Plus point a mini mart just next to the lobby so getting drinking water is so much easier. Within walking distance to Diamond Plaza, an upmarket departmental store. Security at this district one apartment is good w most cabbies knowing where it's location is. ( important that the cabby to knows the location otherwise they may spend unnecessary time on the road looking for the hotel).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Iluvjr2,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Luong Dieu Dong
Assistant Residence Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
56
18
9
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We loved this hotel, great hotel for families. The apartment was lovely...spotless, good size, well appointed. Kids loved the pool. Not far from everything in district one. Staff wonderful and efficient. They got the IT guy up for me at 9pm to sort out the WIFI (the only problem we had which was only momentary and fixed within the half hour). Breakfast was average though.

Room Tip: rear rooms overlook pool, front ones the street but not much traffic noise with double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Alison b,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Chancellor Court Ho Chi Minh City as your accommodation during your holiday in Ho Chi Minh City. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Luong Dieu Dong
Assistant Residene Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this property for 4 days in 3 bedroom deluxe apartment . Overall service was excellent , rooms were spacious and clean. Front office staffs were very kind and helpful .

Will definitely come back .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Travellerjai,

Thank you for your compliments about our staff and serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at their 2 bedroom service apartment (with a nice living room and kitchen), and it is great value for 4 person or more. Interior is not shabby, but more than good enough for us. The minimart right below the hotel is a big plus as it sells very reasonably priced items. Get your drinking water (5 litre) here if you would rather boil that than from tap.

Do chat with their lobby staff for recommendations of spa and eat out places.
Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Do not let the exterior of the hotel put you off, because the warmth and friendliness of the staff will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Boonerite,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have your stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our staff and facilities.

We hope to welcome you again.

Sincerely yours,


Luong Dieu Dong
Assistant Residence Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

These are great apartments - good value, well appointed with everything you need, spacious and in a good location (an easy walk to restaurants and shops). They're very comfortable and made returning to our accommodation, after a crazy day exploring the streets of Ho Chi Minh City, a pleasant experience. Breakfast in the coffee shop below was fantastic with really good coffee (in fact the best coffee I'd had in all of Vietnam). The kids loved the pool too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear AGL2309,

Thank you for your feedback and shared your experience druing your stay at Somerset Chancellor Court Ho Chi Minh City. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyed an 8 night stay at Somerset and experienced terrific and courteous service from all staff, maintainence issues with airconditioning and wifi were solved within 10 minutes of reporting the matter.
We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment which contained all amenities that we would require during our stay. Apartment was very clean and comfortable.
The location is about a 10 minute walk to Notre Dame and the General Post Office or a very short and cheap taxi ride. Location away from the CBD allowed us to experience a less commercial neighbourhood that provided us with a cultural insight and entertainment as we viewed families and workers going to and from their work on motorcycles.
Prior to our arrival Somerset introduced us to the Buffalo Tours desk at the hotel who organised private tours (Cu Chi Tunnels and a 2 day cycling tour along the Mekon Delta), being at hand to deal with our queries, confirm our needs and seek feedback. This was a valuable additional service.
The breakfast reviews of others are supported, however at approx. USD5 per person, the light continental offering more than met our needs, some variety would have been great. The staff of the breakfast vendor Highland Coffee were outstanding in their level of service and welcome each morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Perdu,

Thank you for your feedback which will be ahared with the team at Somerset Chancellor Court Ho Chi Minh City. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. Your feedback motivates us to do better to ensure that our residents have a warm and pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely yours,


Luong Dieu Dong
Assistant Residence Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

No fancy lobby, but warm service. We received a warm welcome upon arrival. Though we were there earlier before noon, the staff was very helpful and allow us to check in and get our room right away. The room is very spacious and comfortable. Basic amenity available. Breakfast serves at Highland coffee shop. Was very disappointed at the first morning when we saw the so limited varieties of food and drink. We only aware in the second morning, we can order noodle soup and ice chocolate/coffee on top of buffet bar. The noodle soup was yum, coffee and chocolate are great. The only thing that bother me is, the bedding product smells awful, and really affected the quality of sleep. The location is very convenient, post office and museum are just nearby. A good choice for family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieu Dong L, Manager at Somerset Chancellor Court, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear AprilLai,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear compliments of our staff at Somerset Chancellor Court Ho Chi Minh City. Your kind words will be shared with our staff. Receiving such feedback from residents like yourself inspire us to continually improve our service delivery.

We acknowledge your concerns regarding the *quality of food served at breakfast and regret that we were unable to meet your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with our vendor and we will work very closely with them to improve this for the dining enjoyment of our residents.

Once again, thank you for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcoming you again at any one of our serviced residences.

Sincerely yours,

Luong Dieu Dong
Asst. Residence Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerset Chancellor Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Chancellor Court

Address: 21 - 23 Nguyen Thi Minh Khai Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Chancellor Court 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious and elegant Ho Chi Minh City serviced apartments offer you the opportunity to experience Ho Chi Minh City while indulging in the pleasures of personalised services and facilities. Enjoy the bustling Asian city lifestyle or stroll at your leisure to the beautiful botanic gardens just moments from the residence. Ideal corporate housing for the executive on project assignment or relocation, the newly renovated residence is in the heart of the business district (District 1). Whether travelling for business, leisure or relocation, the Somerset Chancellor Court provides an elegant city retreat designed for executives and international families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Somerset Chancellor Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Chancellor Court Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Chancellor Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.