We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thang Long Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thang Long Hotel
48 Mac Thi Buoi Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #158 of 356 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Good hotel, very good location but not very clean can be better. Internet available, service is average. Breakfast is not good, no jam during 2 days. We ask to have but the manager was not able to find jam...supermarket was close to the hotel...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
16
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

we have stayed in this hotel twice very helpfull staff good breakfast with a great view.will go again if possible .good location.close to everything.

Room Tip: rooms in back quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The Thang Long is our favourite place to stay in Ho Chi Minh City….it is central – just around the corner from the Sheraton and the Caravelle, a couple of minute’s walk from the river and a few minute’s walk from the Tax Department Store, which has a good supermarket on the 1st floor that also sells alcohol, including a good range of international wines at very reasonable prices. Yes, the rooms, furnishings and and facilities are a bit dated (eg; the TV is one of the old box kind) and the beds are of the more firmer kind, but they are very clean and everything works – aircon, wall fan, cable TV with plenty of channels, mini-bar, safe, coffee/tea-making facilities, bath with overhead shower and plenty of hot water (although pressure can be slow). We always book one of the two so-called “VIP” Suites, which are probably 40 plus square metres, which includes a little sitting room with a coffee table and the kettle, etc. These rooms also have a good view over the street. The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient and speak reasonable English and the breakfast is pretty good value – a range of Vietnamese dishes or eggs, baguettes and cheese. During our most recent stay, their rooftop restaurant where breakfast is usually served was closed for renovations, but they had arranged with the Dong Do Hotel (directly across the road) to provide the same breakfast for Thang Long guests. We wouldn’t bother looking for anywhere else to stay, as long as we could get the VIP Suite – great value at US$50 per night, including breakfast.

Room Tip: If your budget allows and you can get one, stay in a VIP Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Stayed just one night but typical Vietnamese hotel. Tall and narrow. Rooms a little cramped but location is ideal if you want or need to be in downtown D-1. Staff helpful, did not hear any construction work but there on a Sunday night. Breakfast evidently now very good. Had a list to choose from, omlette, toast, juice, tea and coffee included in price. Still best is price and location. Can live with a small room to be able to get all over quickly. Maybe ask about upgrade to VIP room on each floor. Probably get balcony overlooking street and a little bit bigger in room space.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

We were woken at 7 am to the sound of drilling (sounded like it was in our room!). I complained to the staff and they did give me $4 off but they did know this was going to happen as there is building work going on next door and they didn't warn us.
The bathroom also flooded into the bedroom as the drains weren't great. The hotel is in a good area for high end shopping and there is a nice cafe down the road with orange and green interior which does nice coffee, shakes snacks etc.
We preferred the Mai Hotel (bathroom had a hot tub!) which has bizarre 70's like furnishing, we booked through Agoda but when we got there it was over subscribed and we ended up with an upgrade!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2010

Just spent three nights at the Thang Long Hotel. Yes the beds are somewhat hard/firm and the inter net connection can at times be erratic. But the staff could not have been nicer and the location I think is great. The room was fine, AC worked cable TV and a mini bar. You are one block off the main drag and about 4 blocks from the ferry dock. Lots of very nice places to eat and drink. Also easy walk to the Market or walking to the many stores near by. For its location I think the Thang Long is a deal, well worth the price in this part of town.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed for 8 nights at this delightful hotel situated in District One. Although not one of the more sophisticated hotels available it certainly provides good value for money. The rooms are clean, comfortable and have all the facilities that you expect to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Cable TV, air conditioning, hairdryers replenished soap and toiletries every day and also coffee and tea making facilities. The bed we had was comfortable and clean. Breakfasts are simple with limited choice but still provide a good start to the day. Delicious bread. If we return to saigon we will certainly book again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thang Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thang Long Hotel

Address: 48 Mac Thi Buoi Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 356 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hotel Thang Long

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thang Long Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Thang Long Hotel to your Saves list