We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel to your Saves list
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Bui Vien, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Pushkar, India
1 review
“It's all about the staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were really happy with this hotel. Positioned towards the edge of the backpacker district, it's a few blocks away from the main drag, so you don't get the noise etc but close enough that you can be on it in a minute.

The rooms were clean, adequately furnished and was just what we needed for getting our heads down after a busy day sight seeing.

The point that won us over completely were how helpful the staff were. They couldn't do enough and were always ready with a smile to help us book a taxi, trip or just some general advice for the area.

Great value for money. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    29
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
1
13
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location in start of backpackers area. Unique experience with the space pods! Clean, you have your own AC, TV, etc, little bit hard mattress but for few nights comfortable. Very friendly and helpful staff (Hi, Jennifer).

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pods were a complete experience for someone who has never done this kind of thing before. They offered a snug little piece of seclusion and tranquility, where you could completely shut away from the world. We prebooked to ensure we got the business class, which cost the same amount! The showers were incredible, so hot and powerful! The only downside was that the beds can feel a little bit stiff, so if you are sensitive to that kind of thing I wouldn't recommend. Other than that, great location and great experience!

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very novel stay in space pod dorm, they are as cool as they look in the pictures. For the same price you can have a 'business pod' which is bigger and you enter from the side rather than the back.
The hotel is creepy quiet with no common area as the boys and girls are kept apart by female and male floors, you cant wear your own shoes there and have to swap on the way in to a pair of their indoor flip flops. You cant take your room key out with you and the staff arent very friendly at all. This lost a star for being a bit grubby, the bathroom and toilets smell just awful, so much so i didnt want to shower there.
Overall, a cool way to spend a night or two to just rest your head, but dirty and not at all social otherwise.

Room Tip: Business pods are the same price and are bigger than a standard pod
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When I checked in, they had 2 rooms available, one with a window and one without. They did tell me the room with the window was noisy, but since I would be staying for one week, i did not want to feel claustrophobic in a room without a window. The bed was comfortable, but half the room had a platform that was wasted space. The room was cleaned daily, but the small rug looked like it had not been cleaned very well. Reception was polite, but did not go out of their way to make you feel welcomed. I stayed here on the recommendation of a friend, but i would choose a different hotel for my next visit to HCMC.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the back away from the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

unique experience with the space pods great privacy large clean showers but they did have a strange sewage kind of smell to them,friendly helpful staff and great location in middle of backpackers area for bars and restaurants etc.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had this hostel recommended to me and I was not disappointed. The "space pods" are great, with a good wifi connection and your own TV. The rooms and bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly every day.

I stayed in a business class pod on the sixth floor. IMO the economy pods looked much more claustrophobic as you climb in one end of the bed, where as the business capsules have an open side, privacy is gained by pulling down a roll blind.

The showers were very good and you are provided with free shampoo and conditioner. The drains on the six floor did not smell too healthy but it wasn't a big issues.

The staff here were very friendly and always remembered which pod I was staying in when I needed to get my key back.

The lockers are situated in front of the economy pods and it would be easy for someone in one of the these pods to watch what code you enter, so keep this in mind.

Overall, a really good hostel that I would recommend, the only thing missing was a common area.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel

Address: 22 Bui Vien, Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 7000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 370 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business or vacation, Hong Kong Kaiteki is your first choice when staying in Ho Chi Minh City. We're located right in the heart of the city center, only a 30 minute taxi ride from the airport. Our prime location is within walking distance of the business district and major sites and attractions. We offer many on-site facilities, and our friendly and helpful staff are always here to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.