We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
51 Hai Ba Trung, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3824 8358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,578 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Warm and Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I very much enjoyed my dinner at Saffron. The staff was wonderfully warm, friendly and added to the pleasure of dining. An appetizer of wild mushrooms and escargot was simply delicious. Other dishes were very good but did not have the same depth of flavor. The restaurant is small, tight and got very noisy. The opener of a house Prosecco and the after dinner Lemoncello was a very welcome and lovely touch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    87
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chester UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good service and a mild complaint dealt with very well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Ate here with an old friend at end of April. It was busy ..excellent service and good menu..liked glass of Prosecco on arrival. Wonderful young man in charge ..from Nice. I chose pork from the menu ( currently living in Jakarta where pork not always available!) but it was bad choice ...rather dry ...the fillet would be better cut of meat for this recipe. I just mentioned this in passing to the waitress who brought us our bill and as a result this course was deducted from our bill ...as were the 2 desserts we had had. A big surprise ...but thank you to Saffron. Will be back !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Nothing to say but the best Mediterranean food we have ever eaten with wonderful staff and maître' d....... all at a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

They have a good selection on menu with interesting meals on offer. The cheese saganaki comes to the table ignited with cognac - a novelty dish which we enjoyed.

The restaurant gave us a complementary glass of sparkling wine and lemoncello afterewards.

Lovely desserts - again interesting options. Can recommend The pope's pillow.

The restaurant was very busy - always a good sign. They also do a three course lunch menu. Efficient friendly staff.

Best to book as it was busy when we were there (went three times)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food and service, complementary drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

When we came we were served 2 complementary glasses of Prosecco. We ordered 2 specials Boudin noir and beef cheeks which were both excellent. My wife had a freshwater melon juice which was also superb. The service was attentive and prompt.

To cap off the dinner, we received 2 complimentary glasses of limoncello.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.