We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediterranean Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron

Saffron
51 Hai Ba Trung, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
+84 8 3824 8358
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,363 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Mediterranean Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

An unassuming place, at least from the street, Saffron announces itself as a Mediterranean Bistro, and is owned by the same people who own Ciao Bella. It is a new opened restaurant in Hai Ba Trung Street.

I arrived at the restaurant after a long day in Ho Chi Minh after receiving good reports from friends

The restaurant space itself is similar to Ciao Bella but with a different design approach: scenes of Mykonos and Santorini, large mirrors, a clever use of pots fixed to the ceiling and two different colour schemes in the space: blue and white in the rear and earthy tones at the entry.

It is an unpretentious restaurant at that the outset, like Ciao Bella is all about the food.

And the food is great! We were encouraged to have share plates which are somewhere between an appetiser and a main course in size. I ordered the lamb shanks, the cheese saganaki and the chorizo/lamb meatballs. Three is enough for two people.

To describe in order: The saganaki is amazing: fried french cheese with an overlay of pesto delivered on a sizzling cast iron plate and glazed with flamed cognac. This is a spectacular dish likely to become their signature dish: the flavours combine and complement each other beautifully.

The chorizo is also spectacular: spicy and strongly flavoured with a coulis of tomato to cool things down.

The lamb shanks the most subtle of the three: the lamb very tender in a bed of cous cous. Subltle but very elegant. Eat these in that order and you will dine happily!

The service like Ciao Bella is superb and the staff are well trained. A glass of bubbly at the beginning when you arrive and a limoncella at the end

Oh and I almost forgot: we had the chocolate bread and butter pudding as a desert. A wonderful end to the meal - it has a great mousse like texture offset by the icecream - decadent and delicious.

If you are dining in Ho Chi Minh you must include this on your list. It is that good. It is 5 star dining at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    146
    32
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very nice little restaurant and very nice food with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had lunch (weekday) at Saffron's while visiting Ho Chi Minh City and it was quite good--very good actually. Located in District 1 and easy to find...enjoyed their 3-course fixed price lunch menu which included either a couple choices of soup or salads, main course, and dessert of the day. Well worth the $10 equivalent (current exchange rate) price. Portion sizes just right--although i could have enjoyed a bigger dessert portion:-)

Service was good. The setting very nice and relaxing--the restaurant is apparently fairly new.

I would highly recommend a visit and will certainly return whenever I am back in Saigon (Ho Chi Minh City).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch Spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went for Lunch since it was around the corner from our Hotel. They had a three course pre-fixed lunch menu including a soup or salad, main course, dessert and coffee for 190,000 dong. Potato soup was the soup of the day and it was delicious. Main courses were a decent size but not too much. Our waitress was very attentive. We really enjoyed our experience.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having experienced the fantastic meals of Ciao Bella, Saffron's sister restaurant, we couldn't resist trying out Saffron- we were again treated to yet more excellent meals! Saffron is a lovely, quaint, clean (rare in Ho Chi Minh) Mediterranean style restaurant. The food is second to none. The service is exceptional, again this is a rarity in Saigon but the owner has managed to train his staff to an outstanding level. Every meal at both Ciao Bella and Saffron have been memorable!

I promise you won't be disappointed…don't forget to go around the corner and also try out Ciao Bella.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Happy New Year, Happy New Year ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Davies family (nine of us) dined here on NYE. Four course set menu with 3 choices for each course. The menu had everyone excited, and choosing was difficult. Between us we sampled all 12 dishes and the consensus was that they were all delicious, the twice cooked lamb and the chocolate marquise were outstanding. Service was very attentive and helped make the meal special. We sat in the window, and the million scooters driving past provided plenty of entertainment. We all left satisfied. Totally recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.