We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome but..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 An Duong Vuong St, District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome but..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Overall it was a perfect experience for my 4 night stay at Windsor. The hotel staffs are friendly and attentive. The restaurants serve nice food at very reasonable price. I just had a slight imperfect moment when I tried to bring my friend back to my hotel and it was not allowed. I reckon that this should be clearly indicated and make known to all guests in the hotel so that I wont creat unnecessary debate for those first timer in hcm. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Hotel Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Alberttancl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments about your stay with us.

I am happy to hear that your stay was a good experience and you found that our staff are friendly and attentive. I also noted your recommendation in regards to the visitor regulation at the hotel and will find an alternative way to communicate this sensitively to our guests.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Daniel Wood – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    258
    92
    25
    20
See reviews for
105
261
55
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Windsor Plaza Hotel twice on our trip to Vietnam. Both times we had a lovely room and the team could not have been more accommodating. Serena the Executive Lounge Manager was so helpful in helping me to find mosquito bite cream, it was with me within minutes. The shuttle bus into town was a great benefit and meant we could find our way around easier. The hotel stay added to a great trip and finished it off in style. Thanks to all the team.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Hotel Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Hendem1,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review about the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had good experience with the hotel services. We appreciate the praise regarding your overall experience especially the way how Serena went out of her way to offer assistance.
We will certainly share this with all of our associates and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the warmth and hospitality of the Windsor Plaza Hotel in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Daniel Wood – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I stay here over the New Year period and really enjoyed my stay. The staff were lovely and friendly, they offered my brother access to Executive Lounge in the afternoons as he had only booked a standard room and I had the lounge access. Over my 4 nights at the Windsor I had breakfast at the main restaurant once and in the executive lounge for the other 3 mornings. the food and the atmosphere was so much better in the lounge. the afternoon drinks and canapé's were also very good. About the room itself, the bed was very comfortable, decent size and the little chocolates they left in the afternoon were a nice touch. The only disappointing thing was that they cancelled the NYE after party and didn't tell anyone, we were really looking forward to this but ended up going to bed at 10.30pm as their was nothing to do after dinner.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Hotel Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear bim130,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review about the hotel after your stay with us.

We are happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable and you found that the hotel facilities and services are good. We are however disappointed that you were inconvenienced by the change in the New Year’s Eve program at our Top Of The Town Restaurant .We hope that you will stay with us next time when your travel plan brings you back to Ho Chi Minh City.

Once again, thank you for staying with the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Daniel Wood – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My partner and I stayed here to celebrate my 21st birthday and to wrap up our 6 week stay in Vietnam.
We stayed in room 2016 in an Executive room. The room and bathroom were large, very comfortable and we had a great view over district 5.
The complimentary breakfast buffet and happy hour were great! A large selection of cold and hot foods.
The staff gifted me with chocolate truffles, a cake and champagne, making my birthday very special. All staff were very friendly and helpful.
Overall we had a great stay at the Windsor Plaza Hotel!
(For anyone with concerns about the location: the hotel runs an hourly shuttle service to and from District 1 otherwise a taxi to District 1 using Vinasun will only cost around $5)

Room Tip: definitely worth getting an Executive Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Hotel Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Molly M,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your great comment.

We are so thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we have certainly shared it with all our associates to show them that their efforts are recognized by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Windsor Plaza Hotel on your next visit to Vietnam.

Best wishes,

Daniel Wood – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We came in a tour group staying for 3 nights from Aug 5 2013. Our group all settled on 19th Floor. Our room is comparatively bigger than the others. However, a bad smell came into your nose once you opened the door. It seems that this room had not been used for times. We thought the smell would go away after we stayed in and use it. We checked the room and the toilet and couldn't find the source of the smell. Maybe, it came from the carpet. To our disappointment, we experienced the bad odour for 3 nights.

But for the breakfast buffet, there was a great variety of food. Service is just okay.

Wi-fi is only free at the lobby and on the 4th and 5th floor. It is very inconvenient. If you really need to access internet, you are advised to buy an internet card which is much, much cheaper and you can access anywhere and anytime.

Location in Disctrict 5 is not good. You need to take a cab to Disctrict 1 where most of the historical sites and shopping centres are located.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Hotel Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Martha L,

Thank you for your valuable comment and we are concerned that we failed to meet your expectations.

We have noted your comments regarding the condition of your room and the level of service you received. Whilst we continually strive for Operational Excellence, we are sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. Rest assured, we have raised your feedback with our management team and we will continue to address this through our ongoing quality training and maintenance programs.

When next your travel plans bring you back to Ho Chi Minh City, we trust you will once again return to the Windsor Plaza Hotel as this will enable us to show you that this isolated incident is not indicative of the usually high level of service we offer.

Warmest regards,

Daniel Wood – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a big western-style hotel with large rooms, pool, and restaurants then you may enjoy this hotel. Very popular it seems with Chinese tour groups. Room was large, clean and nice bed and bathroom. What you'd expect from a 4 star hotel in the US. Pool at the top, workout room and steam/sauna are nice.

Note if you are NOT staying on the executive floor you will have to pay $16 for wi-fi access in your room, which is ridiculous considering every place in Vietnam offers FREE wi-fi everywhere, even little streetside cafes.

Their buffet breakfast ($16) however is massive as is their dinner buffet ($29)has everything you could imagine and is pretty impressive if you are looking for an all you can eat thing.

Again, nothing really bad to say about this hotel, it's just OK and serves a need I guess. There are just more interesting places to stay for the same price in other areas. We wish we would have been in District 1 where most of the action is to walk to everything....

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Hotel Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear sdwarrior,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review detailing your overall experience and observation during your stay with us.

While we are delighted to read your notes about the room and breakfast, we also appreciate the your valuable comments which we can look into improving our products and services.
I hope that you will once again stay with us when you next travel to Ho Chi Minh City

Warmest regards,

Daniel Wood – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Being our last couple of nights in a 3 week multi country Southeast Asia trip we wanted to stay at a centrally located, luxurious (yet affordable) hotel. We were disappointed by the choice of staying at this property. This hotel is located in District 5 which is about a $5 cab ride to the main part of HCMC (district 1). The hotel might look flashy when you walk in but that is only masking the average element. The rooms are large, spacious and quite modern. The fitness center is well equipped (for a city center hotel). Internet isn't free (and quite expensive at $16/night). If you don't book a room with breakfast then plan on paying $15 per person for the buffet (which isn't all that elaborate). I passed on it. Wouldn't say the stay was horrible but also wasn't overly impressed knowing there are many other (better) choice for hotel accommodations in HCMC.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Hotel Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear FreqTrvl75,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a reviews in regards to your recent stay with us.

I noted and appreciated your comments on the overall experience with the hotel. I am glad to see some positive notes about our hotel and product. However, I am saddened to hear that your stay did not go entirely well and the overall impression about our hotel is not that positive. Rest assured that we take your comments seriously in order to review our current position and make sure that our products and services will meet the expectation of our valued guests.

Last but not least, noted in your review about the location of the hotel and the cab ride, I assumed that we did not keep you well informed about the free hourly Shuttle Service to District 1 and for this I apologize. For guests’ convenience, we are providing hourly Shuttle Service which is very well utilized and appreciated. This Shuttle bus stops at some of the prime locations in District 1 such as Benthanh Market, Nguyen Hue Boulevard and Dong Khoi Boulevard.

Once again, I would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will come back to the Windsor Plaza Hotel when your travel plans bring you back to Ho Chi Minh City again in the future.

Best regards,

Daniel Wood – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Hotel

Address: 18 An Duong Vuong St, District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#33 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 386
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Windsor Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.