We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast buffet was delightful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 An Duong Vuong St, District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast buffet was delightful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The breakfast out-shined the rooms and service. We stayed there at the beginning and end of our trip and both times the room smelled damp. The staff of the hotel seemed rather grumpy. I can overlook all of that because I enjoyed the food so much! There was a great assortment of western foods that my kids enjoyed and many Vietnamese specialties I had never tried before. The congee was one of the highlights of my trip! All in all it was a good place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Your review is much appreciated and your comments will be investigated and acted upon. You and your family certainly enjoyed the Buffet, which as you discovered, offers the biggest selection in Ho Chi Minh City, and caters to a wide variety of tastes. Thank you for choosing the Windsor Plaza Hotel for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    258
    92
    25
    20
See reviews for
105
261
55
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Windsor plaza is in the heart of district 5 in Saigon, not a bad place to be. The room was clean and pleasant, I would probably habe called the room 4 star in western comparison. The hotel itself is very luxurious, and the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel has the most beautiful bar and restaurant I have been to as far as scenery, it is located on the roof and overlooks Saigon. Internet is 17 dollars US more if your not staying in an executive room/suite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and your stay with us. Your discovered first hand Vietnamese Hospitality, which imparts to our guests, the true nature of this most diverse Country. Our Top Of The Town Restaurant and Bar offers a truly spectacular view and is well appreciated by our guests. Your review means a lot to us and we thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post it. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights on our first visit to Vietnam, hotel great, although staff really do need to speak/understand English a little better, the customer service is okay but needs working on seems to be that no-one can make a decision always have to check with someone else even for minor things. Staff need to take the initiave. We found that there was no-where to eat apart from the pho 24 across the road or KFC round the corner, we wanted to experience some real Vietnamese food. The buffet restaurant was great food perfect, although we found it to be terribly noisy and kids running a muck everywhere. Was also disappointing to see the amount of food wasted by greedy people piling up their plates, this was mainly from the Chinese/Asian diners. Our next visit there we will probably give Ho Chi a miss

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Like all reviews we receive they are looked at and evaluated most carefully and your constructive comments on your stay are most welcome. The hourly shuttle from the Hotel to the CBD also takes to four of our restaurants that offer cuisines from Germany, Japan, Vietnamese/ European and a steak house like no other. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Situated in a very busy district of Saigon (but all of them are crowded, aren't they?) the hotel offers you a good big room, tasty breakfast, very good restaurants, one of them selling tasty spicy Chinese food, very good, very clean linen and towels, changed on a daily basis, very polite and friendly staff. If you wish to go in the central area, you have a shuttle taking you there, on the house. If you wish to visit some historical places, like museum of war remnants, palace of ex south Vietnamese president or some Chinese and Vietnamese temples, you can order them and you will get a black Mercedes car, chauffeur driven plus a guide, speaking decent English, all of these at a very affordable price.
Yo will see the biggest number of scooters in your life, everybody has one. Explanation is that no public transport is available in Saigon. The scooters are heavy duty ones, since owners use them to carry freezers, sofas, wardrobes, pigs and/or a maximum number of five persons! No traffic police on sight, not too many traffic signs or lights. But they manage to get wherever they need and I did no see any accident in the three days spent.
Saigon itself is a fast developing town, as well as the whole southern part of Vietnam.

Room Tip: Street side rooms offer a live picture
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It would seem by your review your stay in Ho Chi Minh City and at Windsor Plaza Hotel were most enjoyable, and as you discovered our tour organizers will find for the most interesting places to visit. Our staff are always on hand to offer you the best advice on where to go and what to see. Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

All I can say is fantastic, very nice hotel out side the city area but with The bus ever hour it not a problem. Everything you need is out side the door, shopping food bar it all there. But the best thing is the staff, We where there just one day they new us by name. If you what to stay in a fantastic hotel you. Will not go wrong. Thank you very much

Room Tip: I think all the room are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Our sincere thanks for choosing Windsor Plaza Hotel. Guest satisfaction is our primary goal and judging by your review we delivered. Our hourly shuttle to the CBD is a big plus for all our guests. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Windsor Plaza Hotel overnight, on our way home from our honeymoon.
The only problem we had, was that we could not stay longer!
In particular, I would like to thank the staff for their patience, attention, and genuine commitment to service, especially to two tired home sick guests.
The shuttle service picked us up without issue from the airport, and everyone from the driver through to the reception staff made the checking in process easy and efficient. After that, it was dinner at the buffet, followed by a foot-rub at the spa, and then back to the suite. The facilities are impressive, and make it easy especially when you do not have the time to go far from the Hotel. Whenever I travel to (or through) Ho Chi Minh city in the future, I will be staying at the Windsor Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
It would seem by your review that you both finished your honeymoon on a high note and our thanks for including Windsor Plaza Hotel. We are indeed proud of all of our staff who know how to make all of our guests feel comfortable and at home. The buffet as you discovered offers the widest selection and you can enjoy a wonderful array of tastes. We will look forward to your return, perhaps for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

It's difficult to be super-positive about hotels, however, I was laid low for day with the dreaded travellers belly. The staff were brilliant, and went out of their way to ensure I was comfortable while my travel companions enjoyed a day out. That coupled with the good value upgrade that included inroom wifi and two hours of drinks in the lounge, it is very difficult to fault this hotel in terms of value and an excellent customer service.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Traveling can, sometimes, beset us with the unexpected as it was with your health issue which we were alerted to and responded to you with care and compassion. Soon you were back to normal and were able fully enjoy your stay with us and your visit to Vietnam. Your comments were shared with our staff who were delighted to see them Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Hotel

Address: 18 An Duong Vuong St, District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#33 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#34 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 386
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Windsor Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.