We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, pity about the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 An Duong Vuong St, District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 360 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel, pity about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Taxi driver dropped us off at the wrong side of the hotel. Found the lobby and was greeted and taken upto the 4th floor to check in. Was staying in the executive suite and pleasantly surprised when escorted upto the 24th floor. Room is huge with separate living area with 42in LCD TV, big bedroom again with tv, office room and bathroom with 2 showers. Also included was Wifi and happy hour in the executive lounge on same floor. Hotel itself is more a business hotel and caters for a lot of tours. Had buffet dinner on 4th floor restaurant where you have breakfast. Both are quantity not quality. Location is the downside. Is in a non descript local area which you can't really walk around. Hotel does provide good shuttle buses to district 1 every hour and only takes 15 minutes to get there. Nice small pool and terrace area on 25th floor. Service was excellent. And the bed in our room was probably the most comfortable I have ever stayed in, even better than Hilton, Holiday Inn, etc.

They try very hard to be a '5 star' hotel, and overall is good if you don't want to stay in district 1.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Your choice of an Executive Suite met indeed all of your needs, including a more than comfortable bed. The complementary hourly shuttle is a big plus for all our guests who are transported to the CBD heart is 15 minutes. All reviews submitted by our guests are carefully reviewed so we can further improve our service standards. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    211
    79
    24
    17
See reviews for
96
214
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were there for a weekend stay to just explore the beauty of the city. Not only have we enjoyed this amazing city, we also enjoyed our stay at the Windsor. The staff are great, even helped us get cheap contracted rates for a private transfer for the Cu Chi Tunnel Tour. The front desk people are also very accommodating and the hotel even made it more special for our family anniversary with the special arrangements they have made for us.

I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat!

Room Tip: Seek help from the staff if you plan to do your own exploration. :) Also, take only Vinasun taxi so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
The reading of your review was a delight and we are so happy that the Special Anniversary arrangements went so well. Your complements on the service and help you received from our front desk staff will be shared with them. Again our thanks and come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First time to vietnam with my partner for holiday...excellent service and living area.
Thanks Amex and the hotel for upgraded us to executive room....
had free wifi and breakfast on the top floor....
feel relax and safe!!!
excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
It would seem by reading your review on your first time visit to Vietnam it will not be your last. The recommendation by Amex and your first hand introduction to Vietnamese Hospitality were winners. thank you for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Customer service here is off the chart. overall hotel was very well kept , very clean. strong Air Conditioner, strong running water, clean room, and very comfortable bedding. free shuttle to popular location around the city . Nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay with us. We look carefully at each review we receive to ensure we always deliver the best possible guest service to all our guests. We believe the standards we set are the highest possible but we understand also we can perform even higher. Thank you again and your return will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived to find the hotel had been overbooked however we were given accommodation in another hotel that night. The Windsor staff were very gracious offering us a room upgrade and also free dinner. They had a free regular shuttle service to the city attractions and the staff were always trying to assist. There are many services within the hotel. I recommend this hotel to first time travelers to Vietnam (like me) who require a good level of support and assistance.

Room Tip: Rooms don't come with an iron and board which was a problem for me. Travelers clothes require ir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Judging by your review Windsor Plaza Hotel did indeed make your first visit to Vietnam a great one. You, like all of our guests, discover that our staff are there for you to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Vietnam is a diverse Country with so much to offer and we trust you will return to experience more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel, we booked it as our first hotel in HCMC as we had stayed there before. For quality and price you can't beat it. It's a little further out from D1 then other hotels, but it wasn't really an issue with us as the cost of a taxi was only a pound or two.
The only down side to the stay was my friend who was travelling with us, had a friend (female) who was going to spend the night with us (as she had travelled from outside HCMC) was refused. We since found out that it is forbidden for local females to stay with male if they are not married!! That's fine, my friend then told the staff that they would go back to the rooms so that she could collect her bag and they would book her into another hotel for the night as the rates they were charging was more than 3 times what we were paying. The staff immediately assigned them with a security guard who practically frog marched them to the lifts where she had to wait, whilst my friend went to the room to collect her bags. We understand and accept the laws in Vietnam, however, it caused huge embarrassment to our friends to be treated in such a way. However, I don't want to downgrade this hotel too much as overall it is still a very good hotel. We also stay at New world hotel and Hotel Nikko in HCMC during our stay and would say that although it cost also twice as much as the plaza, The facilities and location are far better.

Room Tip: They say the executive rooms are far better than the standard rooms with free wifi etc.. however for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Your review, like all we receive are looked at very carefully. The policy of overnight female Vietnamese guests is very clear,and we as a responsible Hotel, we can not deviate from them. In saying that we of course will investigate the handling of this very delicate matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stay in this hotel before one year back and was very happy with the room rate, services and great breakfast buffet.
Yesterday, I have checked in to this hotel again on a business trip (without advance booking) due to last minutes delay of my connection flight. Unfortunately, the receptionist give me a room rate which is double the rate of what I'm gettting last year for just a deluxe room. I'm totally disappointed with these.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Your review was indeed disappointing. On checking you stayed with us one time in 2012, with a booking, your rate was 2,200,000 VND. Due to your travel plans this time you were unable to book ahead so as a walk in guest you were charged the walk in rack rate, however on your departure you questioned the rate and were given, and as a gesture of goodwill, a 15% discount to lessen the rate you paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Hotel

Address: 18 An Duong Vuong St, District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#24 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#29 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Windsor Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.