We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service. 5*****” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Windsor Plaza Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 An Duong Vuong St, District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 358 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent service. 5*****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Customer service here is off the chart. overall hotel was very well kept , very clean. strong Air Conditioner, strong running water, clean room, and very comfortable bedding. free shuttle to popular location around the city . Nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts of your stay with us. We look carefully at each review we receive to ensure we always deliver the best possible guest service to all our guests. We believe the standards we set are the highest possible but we understand also we can perform even higher. Thank you again and your return will be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    210
    78
    24
    17
See reviews for
95
213
49
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We arrived to find the hotel had been overbooked however we were given accommodation in another hotel that night. The Windsor staff were very gracious offering us a room upgrade and also free dinner. They had a free regular shuttle service to the city attractions and the staff were always trying to assist. There are many services within the hotel. I recommend this hotel to first time travelers to Vietnam (like me) who require a good level of support and assistance.

Room Tip: Rooms don't come with an iron and board which was a problem for me. Travelers clothes require ir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Judging by your review Windsor Plaza Hotel did indeed make your first visit to Vietnam a great one. You, like all of our guests, discover that our staff are there for you to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Vietnam is a diverse Country with so much to offer and we trust you will return to experience more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel, we booked it as our first hotel in HCMC as we had stayed there before. For quality and price you can't beat it. It's a little further out from D1 then other hotels, but it wasn't really an issue with us as the cost of a taxi was only a pound or two.
The only down side to the stay was my friend who was travelling with us, had a friend (female) who was going to spend the night with us (as she had travelled from outside HCMC) was refused. We since found out that it is forbidden for local females to stay with male if they are not married!! That's fine, my friend then told the staff that they would go back to the rooms so that she could collect her bag and they would book her into another hotel for the night as the rates they were charging was more than 3 times what we were paying. The staff immediately assigned them with a security guard who practically frog marched them to the lifts where she had to wait, whilst my friend went to the room to collect her bags. We understand and accept the laws in Vietnam, however, it caused huge embarrassment to our friends to be treated in such a way. However, I don't want to downgrade this hotel too much as overall it is still a very good hotel. We also stay at New world hotel and Hotel Nikko in HCMC during our stay and would say that although it cost also twice as much as the plaza, The facilities and location are far better.

Room Tip: They say the executive rooms are far better than the standard rooms with free wifi etc.. however for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Your review, like all we receive are looked at very carefully. The policy of overnight female Vietnamese guests is very clear,and we as a responsible Hotel, we can not deviate from them. In saying that we of course will investigate the handling of this very delicate matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stay in this hotel before one year back and was very happy with the room rate, services and great breakfast buffet.
Yesterday, I have checked in to this hotel again on a business trip (without advance booking) due to last minutes delay of my connection flight. Unfortunately, the receptionist give me a room rate which is double the rate of what I'm gettting last year for just a deluxe room. I'm totally disappointed with these.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Your review was indeed disappointing. On checking you stayed with us one time in 2012, with a booking, your rate was 2,200,000 VND. Due to your travel plans this time you were unable to book ahead so as a walk in guest you were charged the walk in rack rate, however on your departure you questioned the rate and were given, and as a gesture of goodwill, a 15% discount to lessen the rate you paid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Windsor Plaza for our first trip to HCMC. We were very impressed with the service that was offered to us. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite at a reasonable cost, this gave us free wifi, mini bar and happy hour in the executive lounge. There were very few western people who stay here, however we felt very comfortable. The hotel is out of the city centre and in Chinatown, but there is a free shuttle bus on the hour to get you in and out of the city. The price of the jade in the connecting ah dong market cannot be beaten.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Windsor Plaza Hotel for you first, and I hope not the last, visit to Vietnam and Ho Chi Minh City. Your review will encourage us to always strive to ensure all of our valued guests receive our now famous Vietnamese Hospitality. Your choice of an Executive suite lived up to your expectations and our complementary hourly shuttle is a big hit with our guests. Your Jade shopping I am pleased to hear was a plus. We look forward to seeing you again, Vietnam has so much for people to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

incredible staff and service. Upon arrival we were treated like royalty. We were welcomed with a delicious, ice cold drink (orange juice, yogurt, and Riesling). Huge thank you to Loan and Serena. we informed Loan we were on our way to Cambodia from there and she put us in contact with Serena whom had just returned from there. She provided us with her itinerary and tips for the next leg of our trip. At one point we left a credit card and camera in the shuttle bus and were promptly notified by the staff. We felt this was going above and beyond.

the room was incredible, great beds, clean. The hotel was about 15 min from the city center but the complimentary shuttle that runs every hour until midnight made up for the location. Best breakfast spread we have had( we travel quite a bit).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Your review of your stay with us was most pleasing especially the part of leaving your credit card and camera on the shuttle and both returned to you promptly, that is indeed true service and indicative of the care we take with all our guests. We like to say our breakfast is the biggest and best and you found that to be correct. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay and we will certainly welcome your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I spent one week in this motel with out a doubt the best motel i have stayed in there assistance,understanding, communication was first class. There massage and hair salon was terrific with committed staff made my stay with my girl friend that much more pleasurable I will be back thank you

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
werespond, Guest Relations Manager at Windsor Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your one week stay at Windsor Plaza Hotel. Comments like yours will further our efforts to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay with us. We are very proud of our staff, and as you discovered, will always ensure guests experience total satisfaction. Thank you again for staying with us and we will look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Hotel

Address: 18 An Duong Vuong St, District 5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#21 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#23 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#28 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#29 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windsor Plaza Hotel 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Windsor Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.