We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sentral Saigon Suite.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vien Dong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Vien Dong Hotel to your Saves list
Vien Dong Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   275A Pham Ngu Lao St., D.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Sentral Saigon Suite.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is clean,friendly and close to most attractions in Ho Chi Minh City.
The staff were generally helpful,some English language difficulty but those who spoke English took control and helped out. Rooms were spacious and clean,breakfast was generous and palatable.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    184
    50
    7
    10
See reviews for
31
89
31
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I did not expect too much when I arrived at the hotel. But the hotel is very good for a 3 star hotel. It even has a fitness which is free for guests. Breakfast is ok, not 5 star but you get what you pay for. For me it was fine. The location of the hotel is good. The only minus I can find is the noise. I cannot judge which nationality of the guests were most disturbing: americans, chinese or vietnamese.....must be an educational issue.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Probably best to get a room away from the busy street so that you don't get the motorbike noise. Otherwise a very comfortable hotel, with very good value.

Close to most attractions and the hub of activity in Vietnam.

Room Tip: Not road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The best thing about the Vien Dong is the location on Pham Ngu Lao and it's proximity to Bui Vien St and other attractions like the Ben Thanh market. I was able to walk to all the sights I wanted to see, though taxis are cheap (if you stick to the right names) and widely available. My room was spacious with excellent air-con (a must for HCMC). The bathroom was of a good standard, though it was due for a re-vamp or at least an extremely thorough clean. Some other bad things are the breakfast - average at best, and while the cost seems cheap - in comparison to other hotels in the city it is quite expensive. It is also very noisy. Please be aware that this hotel houses a "health club" and you will be enticed by touts every time you walk by. The worst thing about this hotel is without a doubt the adversarial nature of the staff who will do anything, including lie and mislead, to extract the most amount of money from you. When I tried to check out they insisted that I had to pay for another night, despite the fact that I had emailed about a week prior and they confirmed the booking alteration. Honestly, it took 45 minutes of talking and another hour of waiting for the manager before the matter was "resolved" - me refusing to sign anything and telling them that they could bill me for whatever they wanted but I would raise it with the bank and get the payment reversed. There was much confusion amongst the staff - I speak and understand Vietnamese, but the staff didn't know this - so their treachery was evident to me even though they did not realise it. This behaviour left a really bad taste in my mouth, which was only made worse when the private car they arranged to take me to the airport wanted extra money after the price had been agreed on - he did not get any extra money. So, when you are thinking about what hotel to book in Saigon my suggestion is choose one where you will not be cheated, which is cheaper, cleaner and quieter than the Vien Dong.

Room Tip: Internal balcony rooms have a high level of noise and no privacy, external balcony rooms have a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel is a classic hotel, a little dated but with very good service. Rooms are nice, great views, and good a/c. Carpets are a little old but the rest worked fine. Good service and breakfast was just ok, nothing spectacular.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor room to get great views of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did a last minute walk in and found this hotel worth a stay. for 50 USD two pax and 70 USD for three pax.
Good International breakfast and comfortable beds.
The guy at the reception helped us with some tours to do on the next day.
Located at the backpacker district and Night market is just around the corner.
Most importantly, it is very clean!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after a very busy trip. The hotel location was perfect for us, opposite the park and in the middle of the back packer district. There is nothing 'back packer' about the hotel though. The lobby was cool and stylish and the bar served a range of drinks. They even had a pianist on one night. The doormen are extremely helpful, even stopping the traffic to help people cross the road. Some rooms only have a view back inside the hotel, whereas others have a balcony with a view over the park. I would recommend it to people who like the bars and restaurants in the backpacker area, but are happy to pay a little more for a great place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vien Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vien Dong Hotel

Address: 275A Pham Ngu Lao St., D.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vien Dong Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vien Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vien Dong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vien Dong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.