We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Mid and Ancient Arts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fine Arts Museum

Fine Arts Museum
97A D Pho Duc Chinh, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
829 4441
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Fine Arts museum is a restored home with sixteen showrooms displaying paintings, pottery, sculpture and even some weapons.
Mauritius
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Modern, Mid and Ancient Arts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The museum is well arranged for you to enjoy the modern arts, mid and ancient. Fair rate from entrance VND10k only. You need at least 2 hrs to complete the full tour of the museum, best do it on a Sunday.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    125
    63
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We've just spent the morning at the fine art museum and were pleasantly surprised, even my 13 year old daughter was impressed. Ok, so there's no Picasso or Cezanne but what is there are beautiful works of art by Vietnamese artists, my daughter was so impressed she took down names for more research. The ceramics and wooden sculptures are wonderful too. It is not huge but take the time to read about the artists and enjoy the art. Would highly recommend a morning there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fine display, just nothing exciting on offer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Enjoyed a peaceful and almost solitary stroll through the museum which is in a beautiful old building. The content is decent (I don;t know that much about art) but as with most other things in Vietnam there is narrowly focussed cultural references, it's either rural-labour or war themes. Still interesting though and ;m glad we went anyway.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Who Loves the Arts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My sister and I spent more time in the Museum of Fine Arts than we expected to. That's how much we liked the place. We learned a lot about Vietnam, its past, and its culture. But then, not everyone loves the arts.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Si Thammarht, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best value museum I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The entry fee is 10,000 vnd which is about 30p! You get access to two buildings! The one with 3 floors is better as. It has more variety. There is modern art, ceramics, sculpture and the mediums used are very interesting. I particularly enjoyed seeing the lacquer on wood images and the watercolor on silk paintings were so delicate and really beautiful. There are some charming pen and ink illustrations depicting war time scenes. Some of the modern art has been created in response to the American war and is quite horrific, yet moving. The piece 'agent orange' is one to brace yourself for. Beautiful building, a joy to walk around, especially as it was practically deserted during my visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Arts Museum also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Fine Arts Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fine Arts Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.