We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local culture and wonderful venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater)

Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater)
Intersection of Le Loi and Dong Khoi Sts | Lam Son Square, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
(84-8) 825 1563
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Government Buildings, Architectural Buildings, Theaters, Operas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This stately landmark building hosts more than just opera; it's also home to classical recitals, pop concerts and dance.
Ballarat, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Local culture and wonderful venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We saw the a great show at the Opera House; lovely building and a great place to watch the city and it's traffic. Check it out; worthwhile

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    168
    52
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Pretty & Petite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very pretty building but it pales in comparison to Hanoi's fantastic opera house. Wished we had caught a show or opera here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siam Reap Cambodia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Great Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Saw a dance show with lots of power moves and some almost balletic performances. It only lasted an hour but it was worth going to see the show. Small theatre and don't forget to take a jumper as they have the a/c on full blast.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“AO performance - definitely worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I enjoyed 85% of the show immensely - and found a couple of parts a little slow - they seemed like time fillers as so much of the performance was at a high level - they just didn't belong.

The show is one hour long and performed by a group of young, enthusiastic people who do acrobatics, dance, mini skits - many different short segments - all accompanied by lovely music. Much of it is very inventive, and, like the previous reviewer, I found myself smiling a lot at their clever ideas and the execution of them. They definitely seem to be enjoying themselves up there which leads you to enjoy yourself further. Check it out!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AO Marvelous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I absolutely loved the show. I smiled the entire performance and could tell that the performers were enjoying themselves as well. I thought it was very clever, the music was great, the aesthetic of the props and costumes added to the grace of the performance. I am so glad I went. Don't miss it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater) also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Saigon Opera House (Ho Chi Minh Municipal Theater) to your Saves list