We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss it out” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chinatown (Cholon) - District 5

Chinatown (Cholon) - District 5
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Visit Chinatown (Cholon) - District 5 like an insider
Private Tour
$50*
and up
Private Tour: Ho Chi Minh City Full-Day Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The western part of the city is dominated by Cholon (Chinatown), a thickly settled district rife with teahouses and pagodas and the famous Binh Tay Market.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Miss it out”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

You can miss this market out of your trip, it's noisy, too crowded, and not a market that you want to buy stuff from as you constantly see (and get in the way of) guys making huge parcels of stuff going out of this market to be sold elsewhere, so keep out of the way and don't go in.
If you have the time and are in the vicinity take a look at the exterior and the hustle and bustle but don't go out of your way, there are many more interesting things to do and see

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    66
    52
    23
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Just for a look”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Don't go here expecting to buy anything. If you don't want to get lost take your guide. I'm glad that ours was with us. It is really a market for locals, hot and cramped and full of cheap Chinese goods. Interesting for a look though.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do not ever come here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We told the taxi driver to bring us to Cholon,which is the name chinatown in vietnamese.He tried to fleece me with 500000 Vnd whiched i firmly replied 'no'. It seemed to me he was taking a really long way becos i told him that i would only pay by whatever's on the taxi meter.he dropped us off at Binh Tay market which was not pretty at all.I have been to many markets before.but binh tay took me back to the 60's cos the place does look like that era and walking on the streets kinda freaked me out cos it was really filthy and messy.shopkeepers were very unfriendly too.There were almost no taxis in sight.Just avoid going there

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Quan Am temple,Cholon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

On the eve of Tet, the old pagodas of Cholon are thronging with pilgrims, all intent on making offerings to Lord Buddha, beseeching blessings for the year ahead... I was one of those such pilgrims . Upon entering the ancient halls I was met by a pall of wafting incense trails which smarted my eyes and crimped my nose... Suspended above the statues and carved reliefs , hung large yellow burning coils sending plumes of sandlewood up into the rafters ,transporting heavenward all the hopes and dreams of the crowds below.....No one should visit Saigon without tramping the cobbled lanes of old chinatown (Cholon)and seeking out the plethora of sacred temples that long have been awaiting..Ann Hamilton

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cholon (China Town)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

There is Vietnam’s largest Chinatown with roots dating back to 1778; it’s also a place of great historical and cultural importance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinatown (Cholon) - District 5 also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Chinatown (Cholon) - District 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinatown (Cholon) - District 5, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.