We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know why Huong Sen not rated much higher.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huong Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Huong Sen Hotel to your Saves list
Huong Sen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I don't know why Huong Sen not rated much higher.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Large comfortable bed at a centrally located hotel. Hotel decor a little dated, but we wanted a comfortable quiet place to sleep while sightseeing, and Huong Sen is definitely that. It's clean, the breakfast buffet was not fancy but free, the staff was friendly and helpful, and all the sights are right there. A great value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    166
    45
    19
    3
See reviews for
70
93
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Of all the hotels I stayed in around Vietnam this was my favourite. I'm not trying to make out that the hotel was spectacular but everything about it was really nice. Nice lobby, nice friendly staff, nice big, clean room(although the view out of the room window was horrible, some sort of enclosed area full of air conditioning units. I just kept the curtains drawn), nice buffet style breakfast with loads of choice, nice little rooftop pool and spa area(pool was a little chilly but perfect to cool down in). I would definitely stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location on the popular and tourist friendly street of Don Khoi. We stayed for 3 nights and booked for around 50-60 US prior to our arrival. We had a standard room facing the street which other reviewers said were noisy, I didn't think it was at all. The AC worked perfectly, nice laminate flooring, big firm bed, nice TV, and great bathroom. Only downfall of the bathroom is that there is a huge step-up and step-down from the tub so don't break your neck. The breakfast was very good and had a range of international and Vietnamese options. The pool on the top floor is really small but worth going for a dip in the hot weather. It's also very clean. The reception staff were very helpful and they answered so many questions about travelling etc. for us. Also, they booked us a bus with Phuong Trang (Orange travel coach buses - They'rethe best) and we were very grateful about that. The hotel is right near two giant and famous hotels - The Sheraton and the Caravelle and this place is very near all the hotspots of HCM. If ever back, I would definitely book the Huong Sen.

Room Tip: If you're coming from the airport, make sure you have the address. There are many hotels that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location of the Huong Sen Hotel is super - you have everything (attractions, the Saigon River, restaurants and shops) within walking distance. I wasn't nervous walking in the neighbourhood after dark on my own.
The staff are friendly and very helpful; I asked for directions and places to eat and always got very good advice.
My room was huge and very clean and the aircon worked well.
I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had previously stated in another hotel less than a block away but they had no availability.

Found this as close by and similar price but with a pool. Very refreshing after a day walking around HCM.

It was my partners birthday while we were there and when we returned to the room found a nice arrangement of roses with a card wishing him a happy birthday.

Large range of options for breakfast, soup and eggs particularly good, pancakes a little disappointing.

Staff very helpful. Just make sure when you get a taxi you show them the name if the hotel. Our taxi driver took us to Bong Sen, thankfully it was only 100 or so metres down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A excellent hotel in the centre of District 1. The staff are friendly and try hard to assist with any requests. The porter is excellent and offered security advice everytime we left, and suggested places or drinks and to eat. My room is large, and quiet with a separate bathroom (with a large bath), a little balcony overlooking the streets and good air conditioning. Breakfasts are more the adequate and we found enough choice to satisfy our tastes. A lovely terrace bar offers drinks and snacks and some cool afternoon relief. The swimming pool is small but adequate and nice to come back after a day in the heat and cool off. The Saigon River is a few hundred meters to the left and large tax free shops and the sights (pretty much within walking distance) to the right. Would not hesitate to recommend Huong Sen as good value for money in an excellent location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footscray, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed twice at this hotel, two nights each on either side of a week in the south. Large room with balcony (our request), excellent bathroom, good air-con, WiFi worked, breakfast excellent, tv and impressive that they supplied tea leaves and tea pot with the kettle etc. Used rooftop pool once, on the small side but clean and good. We were also able to leave a suitcase in storage for the week. Staff at reception were extremely efficient, helpful and polite. Security and cleaning staff also excellent. We were walking distance to most things including Ben Thanh market, Opera House and Reunification Palace. Took taxis to a couple of restaurants, extremely cheap. No dramas about using meters.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise which was no issue to us but if you're a light sleeper, request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huong Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Sen Hotel

Address: 66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#51 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huong Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huong Sen Hotel was located in the heart of the city. It takes 15 minutes to TAN SON NHAT International Airport by taxi, within easy reach of shopping, entertainment centers, business centers, post office, airline offices, banks. Huong Sen Hotel has traditional architecture, 76 cozy accommodations with 3 stars standard. Almost of accommodations have windows/balcony. From Huong Sen Hotel, you can enjoy the romantic view of SaiGon River with a few minutes' walk. Huong Sen Restaurant locates on the 6th floor where we can serve Vietnamese, Chinese, European dishes, breakfast Buffet ... From the experienced chief cook or hold the cordial parties with your dears. The Sky View Garden was at the 7th floor with the romantic and poetic outside view, creates you the comfortable feeling after a hard working day. Especially, you can enjoy Grill Buffet on Friday, Saturday evening and the special vacations. In addition, the health care club includes swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam-bath, Jacuzzi, foot massage and body massage... Always brings you the greatest relax feeling after a hard day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Huong Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Huong Sen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huong Sen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.