We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mid-Range Hotel on Don Khoi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huong Sen Hotel

Save Saved
You added Huong Sen Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huong Sen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 353 hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Mid-Range Hotel on Don Khoi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location on the popular and tourist friendly street of Don Khoi. We stayed for 3 nights and booked for around 50-60 US prior to our arrival. We had a standard room facing the street which other reviewers said were noisy, I didn't think it was at all. The AC worked perfectly, nice laminate flooring, big firm bed, nice TV, and great bathroom. Only downfall of the bathroom is that there is a huge step-up and step-down from the tub so don't break your neck. The breakfast was very good and had a range of international and Vietnamese options. The pool on the top floor is really small but worth going for a dip in the hot weather. It's also very clean. The reception staff were very helpful and they answered so many questions about travelling etc. for us. Also, they booked us a bus with Phuong Trang (Orange travel coach buses - They'rethe best) and we were very grateful about that. The hotel is right near two giant and famous hotels - The Sheraton and the Caravelle and this place is very near all the hotspots of HCM. If ever back, I would definitely book the Huong Sen.

Room Tip: If you're coming from the airport, make sure you have the address. There are many hotels that ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    145
    38
    18
    3
See reviews for
61
78
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The location of the Huong Sen Hotel is super - you have everything (attractions, the Saigon River, restaurants and shops) within walking distance. I wasn't nervous walking in the neighbourhood after dark on my own.
The staff are friendly and very helpful; I asked for directions and places to eat and always got very good advice.
My room was huge and very clean and the aircon worked well.
I'll certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had previously stated in another hotel less than a block away but they had no availability.

Found this as close by and similar price but with a pool. Very refreshing after a day walking around HCM.

It was my partners birthday while we were there and when we returned to the room found a nice arrangement of roses with a card wishing him a happy birthday.

Large range of options for breakfast, soup and eggs particularly good, pancakes a little disappointing.

Staff very helpful. Just make sure when you get a taxi you show them the name if the hotel. Our taxi driver took us to Bong Sen, thankfully it was only 100 or so metres down the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A excellent hotel in the centre of District 1. The staff are friendly and try hard to assist with any requests. The porter is excellent and offered security advice everytime we left, and suggested places or drinks and to eat. My room is large, and quiet with a separate bathroom (with a large bath), a little balcony overlooking the streets and good air conditioning. Breakfasts are more the adequate and we found enough choice to satisfy our tastes. A lovely terrace bar offers drinks and snacks and some cool afternoon relief. The swimming pool is small but adequate and nice to come back after a day in the heat and cool off. The Saigon River is a few hundred meters to the left and large tax free shops and the sights (pretty much within walking distance) to the right. Would not hesitate to recommend Huong Sen as good value for money in an excellent location.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footscray, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed twice at this hotel, two nights each on either side of a week in the south. Large room with balcony (our request), excellent bathroom, good air-con, WiFi worked, breakfast excellent, tv and impressive that they supplied tea leaves and tea pot with the kettle etc. Used rooftop pool once, on the small side but clean and good. We were also able to leave a suitcase in storage for the week. Staff at reception were extremely efficient, helpful and polite. Security and cleaning staff also excellent. We were walking distance to most things including Ben Thanh market, Opera House and Reunification Palace. Took taxis to a couple of restaurants, extremely cheap. No dramas about using meters.

Room Tip: There is some traffic noise which was no issue to us but if you're a light sleeper, request room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My son and I just stayed there for a few nights. This was our 2nd visit here. The last was 5 years ago. The Huong Sen was a pleasure as the last time.The hotel staff was well informed and tended to all our needs. There was good air conditioning, a cold mini fridge, coffee maker,a room safe, a coffee maker, immaculately clean and a great location. We walked to the Opera House, Notre Dame, the Reunification Palace, The War Museum, the Military Museum and you're within 2 blocks of the Saigon River. It's about a 10 USD ride from the airport to the hotel if you prepay for your taxi ride before you exit the terminal building. .It was 190000 VND through Saigontours taxi service. This was from the domestic terminal. I did read some negative comments from another review about the included breakfast. I disagree. We found plenty of choices. They even had an egg station for eggs to your liking. This is an honest 3 star hotel. We would for sure stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roatan, Honduras
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This little gem of a business traveler's hotel is centrally located near major shopping and tourist attractions. Service was good, wi Fi worked--slow but it worked. Laundry was great, breakfast acceptable. And there are some great restaurants in the area. Also, a bar with draft beer around the corner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Huong Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Sen Hotel

Address: 66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huong Sen Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Huong Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Huong Sen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huong Sen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.