We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a small pool to cool off” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Huong Sen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Huong Sen Hotel to your Saves list
Huong Sen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and a small pool to cool off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on Friday January the 18th and booked through Booking.com. Response by email was a bit slow but our welcome was well organized, although we felt that the extra charge of $30 for our requested late check-out (14.00 instead of 12.00) was a bit too expensive so cancelled this request upon check-in. Breakfast was nothing special; a wide range of choice for Asian food but western options were pretty limited. We stayed in 304 (room with balcony) with a very large bed (two queens put together). Street noise was not as bad as we expected. Bathroom was clean and had a bath tub. Location is wonderful, close to all sights and restaurants and bars. The hotel staff is very attentive and helps with arranging taxi rides and airport transfer upon request. Didn't use the spa. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    166
    45
    19
    3
See reviews for
70
93
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We are staying here for 6 days in January 2013. The location is just right for major sites to visit. We arrived in the early morning and was shown a room that had only 1 king size bed. I am traveling with my son and wanted two beds. Without any trouble they changed our room. The beds are normal hard mattress for Vietnam. The breakfast has many options in buffet style. The room is clean and has the usual amenities - hair dryer, toiletries, a refrigerator. I find the front desk very friendly and helpful. I also think the exchange rate for the USD is very good, though probably not the best you can get, I think pretty close and so convenient. There are many good places to eat within a short walking distance - from street food to upscale restaurants. If I come back to HCMC, I would stay here again. Good luck.

Room Tip: Rooms facing streets are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We arrived on a rainy evening and was warmly welcomed by everybody including the doorman. The rooms were big and clean. Breakfast was the normal Asian standard buffet. They celebrated my birthday (which I had completely forgotten about) with a basket of flowers and playing "Happy Birthday" in the breakfast room.So thoughtful of them...Will definately stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel over NY with my three sons 17, 15, 11 and found it to be an excellent location. We were close to the markets, museums and restaurants.The staff were friendly, the rooms were clean and a good size and most importantly they were quiet which was an unexpected bonus. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Was a treat for us after 7 days travelling down through Cambodia and the Mekong. Good spot, wifi on all floors, pool and bar on the roof and they packed us a breakfast on the last day as we had an early fight, although not that enticing. The buffet breakfast was excellent though. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel about 1 AM and were given a drab room, 301, which appeared very old and in need of renovation. The buffet breakfast was reasonably standard with Asian and Western food. For the price we paid, one could do much better elsewhere. We moved to another hotel the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and over Christmas, at the start of our Vietnam holiday. Nice size room with basic facilities. They provide two complimentary small bottles of water each day, and they do say the ones in the fridge, along with the usual mini bar stuff is chargable. We found the beds very comfortable, even though they are very firm. I was warned about this and was a little concerned, but did not have any issues at all. I had difficulty geting the temperature set right on the air conditioner, but after about the third day we had it sussed. One slight dissappointment was the window tiniting, this adds an unusual glow to the room, I found it a bit annoying.
The pool was very nice and not busy for the size, but nice and clean and all facilities were of a good standard. The towels all round are getting quite thin, but still served the purpose.
The only down side was on our last day (yes Christmas Day) they were renovating the room next door, and we were disturbed by quite loud banging and hammering around 8:00am, when my friend put her head out the door, it slowed down, and then we received a phone call from reception offering us to reloacte to another floor, however we only had one more night and were going out for a walk and then to Christmas lunch, and they said it would be finished by 3:00pm, so we declined the move. When we returned form lunch we were given a voucher for a massage on the 8th floor, we retuned to the room about 4:30 and the noise was still going at differing level and spasmodicly still annoying when we just wanted to relax. A phone call to the front desk and eventually it did stop, and the house manager apologised.
Apart from that the staff, breakfast and overall feel of the place was great, we would have no hesitation in staying again. A very good value stay.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Huong Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Sen Hotel

Address: 66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#47 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#51 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huong Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huong Sen Hotel was located in the heart of the city. It takes 15 minutes to TAN SON NHAT International Airport by taxi, within easy reach of shopping, entertainment centers, business centers, post office, airline offices, banks. Huong Sen Hotel has traditional architecture, 76 cozy accommodations with 3 stars standard. Almost of accommodations have windows/balcony. From Huong Sen Hotel, you can enjoy the romantic view of SaiGon River with a few minutes' walk. Huong Sen Restaurant locates on the 6th floor where we can serve Vietnamese, Chinese, European dishes, breakfast Buffet ... From the experienced chief cook or hold the cordial parties with your dears. The Sky View Garden was at the 7th floor with the romantic and poetic outside view, creates you the comfortable feeling after a hard working day. Especially, you can enjoy Grill Buffet on Friday, Saturday evening and the special vacations. In addition, the health care club includes swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam-bath, Jacuzzi, foot massage and body massage... Always brings you the greatest relax feeling after a hard day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Huong Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Huong Sen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huong Sen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.