We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Huong Sen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Huong Sen Hotel to your Saves list
Huong Sen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 383 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Was a treat for us after 7 days travelling down through Cambodia and the Mekong. Good spot, wifi on all floors, pool and bar on the roof and they packed us a breakfast on the last day as we had an early fight, although not that enticing. The buffet breakfast was excellent though. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    181
    46
    19
    3
See reviews for
76
105
38
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel about 1 AM and were given a drab room, 301, which appeared very old and in need of renovation. The buffet breakfast was reasonably standard with Asian and Western food. For the price we paid, one could do much better elsewhere. We moved to another hotel the next morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and over Christmas, at the start of our Vietnam holiday. Nice size room with basic facilities. They provide two complimentary small bottles of water each day, and they do say the ones in the fridge, along with the usual mini bar stuff is chargable. We found the beds very comfortable, even though they are very firm. I was warned about this and was a little concerned, but did not have any issues at all. I had difficulty geting the temperature set right on the air conditioner, but after about the third day we had it sussed. One slight dissappointment was the window tiniting, this adds an unusual glow to the room, I found it a bit annoying.
The pool was very nice and not busy for the size, but nice and clean and all facilities were of a good standard. The towels all round are getting quite thin, but still served the purpose.
The only down side was on our last day (yes Christmas Day) they were renovating the room next door, and we were disturbed by quite loud banging and hammering around 8:00am, when my friend put her head out the door, it slowed down, and then we received a phone call from reception offering us to reloacte to another floor, however we only had one more night and were going out for a walk and then to Christmas lunch, and they said it would be finished by 3:00pm, so we declined the move. When we returned form lunch we were given a voucher for a massage on the 8th floor, we retuned to the room about 4:30 and the noise was still going at differing level and spasmodicly still annoying when we just wanted to relax. A phone call to the front desk and eventually it did stop, and the house manager apologised.
Apart from that the staff, breakfast and overall feel of the place was great, we would have no hesitation in staying again. A very good value stay.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, great value, location & the staff were very helpful. We had an early check out on the last day & without asking they supplied us with a take away breakfast.
Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. If we are lucky to visit Ho Chi Minh again this would be our chosen hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunei
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

When looking at this hotel on any web page you get a sense of grandeur. That's we're it ends I afraid.
I had booked a room for my family. When we arrived we were shown the room which had two single beds, this was meant for two adults and two children aged 6 & 8. We went down to the reception and was given a family room 1 queen & 1 double bed, the only problem the room was tiny and in the middle of the hotel so the only view was of bricks which made the room very dark.
The beds were very hard. Whilst the room was made up daily we found that the cups and glasses were never changed or cleaned.
The breakfast left a lot to be desired, the coffee was stewed and very sweet and with no other choice, so was resigned to drink tea. The only bread for toast was white, no other choice.
One day I found a bread roll which had a bite out of it, which had been put back with the other rolls.
I asked for poached eggs and was told they only did them once a week on a Monday we arrived
on a Wednesday so had a long wait.
On evening I ordered room service, the meal was meant to be roast chicken when it arrived I found the chicken had been deep fried, so a trip back to the restaurant was needed.
I would rate the food here as not the best.
On about 4 occasions the restaurant was closed to hotel guests because they had a function on for outside parties. I found this to be unfair for guests if they wanted to eat there also the noise generated by the parties was very loud.
Whilst this review seems bad I would like to state that the staff were helpful and friendly, the location of this hotel is also very good, but so is most of the other hotels in district 1

Room Tip: I'm afraid that any room you would choose would not be very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfield, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I loved this hotel even though we had difficulty with the aircon in our 3rd floor room. It was a lovely twin room, plenty of space and great views. We had to give it up because the aircon was hotter inside the room than the 32 degree heat outside. They had to shift us into a room that wasn't quite as nice, but we didn't mind because I had secured a great room rate. The staff are just fantastic! The food excellent. We arrived at 5am from a very uncomfortable train and hung out as long as we could before asking the hotel to take our bags. They gave us receipts for the bags and told us we could book in at 10am and no probs getting getting breakfast. We stayed for 4 nights and had a lovely time, especially by the pool drinking margaritus. I expected it would cost a great deal more by the time I paid the bill, not not so! They also secured me a trip to a school as I wanted to see teaching in action in Ho Chi Minh City! I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We were joining an Exodus group that started at this hotel so thought it would be easier to use when we came a few days earlier.
Our travelling companions actually booked the rooms so can't really comment on what was offered on type of room and rates but the room we had was perfect. 5th floor I think, with a little balcony. Everything worked fine and was neat and clean. The bar prices were reasonable and the terrace was a good place to chill out with a beer. Breakfast very good.
One thing I'd like to mention is that we booked a trip through them with an agency who's brochure they had in the lobby. On our return we were asked if we'd enjoyed it and we said we were disappointed and gave them some details. The next day the manager politely sat us down, apologised and gave us half our money back that he'd negotiated on our behalf.
Can't say fairer than that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Huong Sen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huong Sen Hotel

Address: 66-68-70 Dong Khoi Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#45 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#48 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Huong Sen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huong Sen Hotel was located in the heart of the city. It takes 15 minutes to TAN SON NHAT International Airport by taxi, within easy reach of shopping, entertainment centers, business centers, post office, airline offices, banks. Huong Sen Hotel has traditional architecture, 76 cozy accommodations with 3 stars standard. Almost of accommodations have windows/balcony. From Huong Sen Hotel, you can enjoy the romantic view of SaiGon River with a few minutes' walk. Huong Sen Restaurant locates on the 6th floor where we can serve Vietnamese, Chinese, European dishes, breakfast Buffet ... From the experienced chief cook or hold the cordial parties with your dears. The Sky View Garden was at the 7th floor with the romantic and poetic outside view, creates you the comfortable feeling after a hard working day. Especially, you can enjoy Grill Buffet on Friday, Saturday evening and the special vacations. In addition, the health care club includes swimming pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam-bath, Jacuzzi, foot massage and body massage... Always brings you the greatest relax feeling after a hard day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Huong Sen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Huong Sen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Huong Sen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.