We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramana Hotel Saigon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramana Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Ramana Hotel Saigon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
“Nice place to stay in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Nice four star hotel located on the very busy and noisy Le Van Sy street.
Twenty minutes by car from Tan Son Nhat airport, same distance from downtown.
Friendly staff, cozy rooms.
Only those on the last floor have got veranda.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    32
    10
    4
See reviews for
11
25
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stayed 3 nights while on tour in Ho Chi Minh. We had elderly folks and a kid.

Hotel is quiet and comfortable. Staff speak good english, although not too friendly. Breakfast is good with both western (eggs, pastries, waffles etc) and eastern (noodles, porridge etc) spread. Security feels good in this hotel and it looks like a lot of Japanese and western tourists stay in this hotel. Free internet access. Mineral water (x2 bottles) and coffee/tea making facilities / ready to drink sachets are provided daily.

There are lots of shops around this area, esp tailors but they do not seem to speak good english. Location is a problem if you want to be in District 1 (it's in District 3). It's only ideal for visitors who want to be near the airport.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

The hotel is fine, room and breakfast were good. The facade was under wraps so I couldn't see it. The location is lousy: on a very busy intersection far from the city centre and inconvenient if you want to be near downtown: it can easily take a half hour with average traffic. I had a local businessman visiting me and when he got to reception shortly after my check-in at 7:30 pm they told him that he had to be out of my room by 8:00 pm! I find this totally unacceptable. So don't book this hotel if you want to be near city centre or if you plan to have anybody visit you in your room, regardless of gender or appearance!

  • Liked — good room and breakfast
  • Disliked — location and prohibition of visitors
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

I stayed at this hotel when it was still the Amara, so my impression could be outdated since it's been at least 2 years since my stay. I had booked on asia-hotels.com and received a decent rate. As others have mentioned, the front and entrance to the hotel looks awful, and I remember my Uncle was traveling there at the same time and took me and my husband to the hotel and he was totally freaking out and wanted to get us rooms where they were staying at the New World. Now, I had already booked, and we haven't even seen the rooms yet so I didn't want to jump to any conclusions, and I'm still glad to this day that we didn't leave. Our room was fine! Nice city view of the crazy un-ending stream of pedestrians and mopeds. Huge King bed and super comfortable, with clean linens and pillows. Large room layout, nice-sized TV, with a large comfortable American style bathroom. I was just coming from Japan so this was a big relief. Breakfast was included with our room rate, and the choices were unbelievable. I really enjoyed my meals here, and for whatever reason they made excellent steak sandwiches via room service. I think my husband had at least three of them during our stay! The only sketchy thing we noticed was one time, at breakfast, a Japanese businessman was hanging around with much younger Vietnamese women, and I am only assuming it was for unsavory reasons. Other than that, my husband and I weren't harassed or anything. They pretty much left us alone except for when we needed something. The gym is small, and pretty useless but not bad if you wanted to just do a little cardio. The rooftop pool was nice, small but well maintained. I would probably not stay here again, but if you've booked I would give this place a chance. When we visited the New World Hotel to see my Uncle and Aunt, we weren't impressed and were glad we stayed at the Amara. The only thing we liked at the New World were the tennis courts.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The front entrance/walkway
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramana Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramana Hotel Saigon

Address: 323 Le Van Sy St., District 3, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramana Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramana Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramana Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.