We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Stuff! Good rooms! Good breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alagon Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alagon Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Alagon Hotel Saigon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   289-291 Ly Tu Trong Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 PAY 2
Ranked #133 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Troisvierges, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Stuff! Good rooms! Good breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Hotel. The Hotel is good located in the Heart of Saigon. The stuff was really friendly! The night market is 5 minutes by feet away. Good restaurants are just minutes away by feet.

Room Tip: Every room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    103
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
25
165
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in an executive room. Lovely and clean with two bathrooms. Staff very helpfully and friendly and will go out of their way to ensure your stay is comfortable and relaxed. Hotel is very central for shopping and restaurants with Bien Thanh markets within easy walking distance. As soon as you walk out the door, you are in the hustle and bustle of HCM city. Really this hotel gives you everything you need and more for a stop over in HCM at a very reasonable price. Would stay here again next time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It's fine ! But you're in Saigon baby! And fine just will not do !

Go online and check out the prices of the "new world hotel" or the "Rex hotel"
You'll see that the prices are higher yes but for $30-40 dollars a night the difference is exponential TRUST ME !

Alagon:- basic, think premier inn, think ikea furniture !

No pool , no rooftop bar, no style !

You might say to yourself "yes but it's just a base" but I'd say from my experience here that your base should luxury , wow factor, that's what the city is all about

So I would say to fellow travellers that this hotel is 1 of a 1000 standard basic boring hotels!

In closing ! I paid $50 dollars a night plus $10 dollars to be walked across the room and have a 2 hour ticket in the luxury new world hotel pool so $60 dollars really. When I could have just stayed in the new world for $20 more.....like £12. If you stay here and don't pay the extra and upgrade........you're mental

Room Tip: Best room is still basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The location of this hotel is great, not far from the market and walking distance to museums and other popular sights. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We used their private car services to drop us to the airport ($12 including all tolls). Our only issue was with the shower. Every time we went for a shower it leaked into the bathroom floor! Quite annoying. Other than that this was a good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Cheap and very clean. Key chain and post card wishes every time they made up your room. Very near to the Ben than market. And next to the daun, a halal restaurant. You can walk around hcmc from here too

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is my first time go to vietnam.The hotel very near by market.Many many local vietnam food can eat on the street .I so lucky l meet this driver who name Bryan (a.k.a Lu Yi )from this hotel in airport.He is very nice and led us to a local vietnam breakfast.After that he become our tourist guide in vietnam.I am very enjoy this trip there he accompanied.Now we are planing our second trip in Vietnam and still the same hotel same driver same tourist guide same Lu Yi .Why not!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We arrived at this hotel at 3am in the morning, after a seven hour flight delay from Dubai and a demented taxi ride from the airport (at the pace of a bicycle). To top it off, the taxi driver was trying it on and tried to bring the hotel in on it.

The porter was helpful to us, and the staff very welcoming. The room seemed heavenly, extremely clean and modern. We were given a late check-out without fuss. Impressed, we returned the next week and had another nice stay. This time we were departing at 10pm, so the staff were helpful to keep the bags (no charge) and even offered my wife a shower before our long flight.

The breakfast was buffet and shared with the (I think) larger adjoinng hotel, that has a different name, but I believe the same owners. Everything was new and clean!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alagon Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Hotel Saigon

Address: 289-291 Ly Tu Trong Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Hotel Saigon 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alagon Hotel Saigon features elegant and modern rooms with free Wi-Fi in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. A 5-minute walk to Ben Thanh Market, it offers a 24-hour restaurant and room service.Alagon Hotel Saigon is just a 3-minute walk to the 23/9 Park and a 7-minute drive to the Opera House. It takes 20 minutes by car to reach Tan Son Nhat Airport.All rooms are air-conditioned and come with turn-down service. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV, seating area, and tea and coffee making facilities. Private bathroom includes a shower.An elevator serves the hotel, which provides airport transfer, laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra charge. Guests can relax at the hotel’s spa bath or check their emails at the business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alagon Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alagon Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.