We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets the job done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alagon Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alagon Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Alagon Hotel Saigon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   289-291 Ly Tu Trong Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 PAY 2
Ranked #133 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Manhattan Beach, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Gets the job done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed at hotel for three nights (two separate visits) on 5th and 6th floor. I can agree with much of what has already been written in previous reviews...rooms are clean and spacious. Good location for visiting market, War Remnants Museum, Sky Bar, etc. Staff at front desk and restaurant always friendly and helpful. My husband used the gym at the New World Hotel across the street and that was a nice bonus. Food at breakfast was good and there was a lot of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    103
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
165
33
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived late and have difficulty looking for the hotel as the reception lights were dim down.
The room was reasonable but the decor and furnishing a little dark and 'old'.
Stayed for 2 nights before heading to Danang. Breakfast selection was good and the cafe shared between a few other hotels managed by the group.
The walls are thin and the pillows very flat..so sleep was not so comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic Bay Freeport Zone, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

There are three good things about this place that’s why I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to the first comers to Saigon. First is the cleanliness of the hotel; second is the breakfast buffet that will give you all the needed fuel to start up your day and it's delicious with variety of fruits and juices; carbohydrates and loads of meats. The third advantages is the location, the hotel is walking distance to almost all major activities and places to be visited.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere above the 5th floor so you'll be totally isolated from the street traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am just completing a 17 day stay at the Alagon Hotel Saigon on my fourth visit to the city. It is without a doubt the BEST Value in town. Beautifully spotless rooms,Excellent staff and service, and a wonderful breakfast ( both western & Asian) included. They really went out of their way to make me feel at home and welcome-Andrew the concierge is a gem!! I heartily recommend it and guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Premium Delux room was best value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I stayed at Alagon hotel for 5nights.
The location near the Ben Thanh Market and Saigon square was ideal for me - perfect for shopping.
The rooms are clean and little on the small side but perfectly fine, the showers have plenty of hot water, the beds were comfortable,
The breakfast was excellent.
All staff was very friendly and helpful, the bellboy go out of their way to get you a taxi out front. Speciel thank for the wonderful staff particularly Andrew going extra miles making my stay a memorable one.
I would like to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights from 13/3-15/3. We were in ho chi minh city for 1 wk and Alagon hotel was our last stop. Location of the hotel was good, about 10 min walk from Ben Thanh market. There's a convenience store just across the road. Room size is ok, quite clean and comfortable but wifi connection is very slow. Our trip would have been perfect if not because of the bad experience we encountered.

For guests who are planning to go for a dip in the pool, please take note. Since there was no swimming pool in alagon hotel, it was written in a welcome letter that guests of Alagon hotel can enjoy the pool at another hotel, New World hotel, just 20m away. So, on Friday late noon, we asked the reception for directions to New world hotel and a bell boy showed us the way. When we reached New World hotel, we were told to approach the staff from the spa/gym for pool towels. The staff refused to grant us access to the pool as she mentioned that we need a card from our hotel. My bf showed her our hotel room card, but she insisted it was another card. She then instructed us to go back to our hotel to get the right card.

New world hotel, though was nearby Alagon hotel and proclaimed it was just 20m away, we had a hard time crossing the big and busy roads. Cars and motor bikes are driving past endlessly. We ended up taking pedestrians crossing and took us quite a lot of effort to just cross the main road over. So, we were told to go back to Alagon hotel to get the "right card".

When we got back Alagon hotel, we asked to speak to the manager and was informed that entry to the swimming pool is not free and we need to buy a ticket. We can get the ticket from Alagon or New world hotel. But wait, what ticket? We were told to go back to our hotel to take the "right card". Did anyone mention we need a ticket? We wouldn't mind paying for the ticket if the staff at New world hotel informed us. But she did not, and insisted we produced the wrong card.

This dampened our mood as we no longer wish to rest and relax at the pool. Theres no way we will cross the busy main road again and get back to the hotel. This has caused so much inconvenience to us and I hope the management will ensure that both hotels are aware of this corporate scheme or partnership so that no guests are being rejected after walking all the way from Alagon Hotel.

Receptionists at Alagon hotel should also mention to guests that the swimming pool Is not free, or at least give the instructions to get there and how tickets are purchased.

Overall, we stayed in 3 hotels in Ho Chi Minh and unfortunately Alagon hotel gave us a bad experience. We even stayed in another 2 star hotel and received so much attention and professional service throughout our stay. Alagon hotel should work closely with New world hotel to ensure no similar incident like this will happen again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre2556, General Manager at Alagon Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your comment our services and apology for did not meet your expectation

Regarding your comment about corporattive between 2 hotels, i would appreciate your advices but I just want to tell you that we had a good cooperation this service already 2 years and this is the 1st time we got a problem like this

We deeply value your stay with Alagon Hoang Hai Long Hotel and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. If you have any further questions or comments regarding this matter, please feel free to discuss it with me at my email address: gm@hoanghailonghotel.com

Best regards
Pierre Levand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Alagon hotel is located at the city center and very close to the market. We walked from Opera House after AO show and dinner at the nearby restaurant. We booked directly at the trip advisor, they pick us up from the airport. The room is small for an American standard but the breakfast was excellent. Most of all, the people at the front desk were exceptional, but we are grateful to the concierge manager, Viet, for his help for the packing the stuff for a US shipping. We left a credit card at the hotel accidentally but the receptionist Chloe and Annie Hong Anh quickly contact me by email and express mailed it to us very quickly (to Da Nang). Thanks Chloe and Annie.

Room Tip: There are some rooms without the window at the lower lever. The hotel change the room after 1st nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alagon Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Hotel Saigon

Address: 289-291 Ly Tu Trong Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Hotel Saigon 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alagon Hotel Saigon features elegant and modern rooms with free Wi-Fi in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. A 5-minute walk to Ben Thanh Market, it offers a 24-hour restaurant and room service.Alagon Hotel Saigon is just a 3-minute walk to the 23/9 Park and a 7-minute drive to the Opera House. It takes 20 minutes by car to reach Tan Son Nhat Airport.All rooms are air-conditioned and come with turn-down service. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV, seating area, and tea and coffee making facilities. Private bathroom includes a shower.An elevator serves the hotel, which provides airport transfer, laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra charge. Guests can relax at the hotel’s spa bath or check their emails at the business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alagon Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alagon Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.