We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of luxury in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alagon Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alagon Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Alagon Hotel Saigon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   289-291 Ly Tu Trong Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STAY 3 PAY 2
Ranked #128 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Stroud
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A bit of luxury in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night before coming home. After travelling for a while this place was a welcome taste of luxury. We used the airport pick up - 15 dollars for private cab. Our expectations were actually exceeded for the price we paid. Staff, as everywhere in Vietnam, were amazing. As for the breakfast, this was the best and most generous spread we seen for a hotel - and that goes for everywhere I've ever stayed - not just Vietnam. Bottom line - I couldn't recommend it highly enough. NB/ could see some rooms didn't have windows so would suggest spending a few more dollars for a room with...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    103
    34
    8
    6
See reviews for
26
166
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here, the hotel was very stylish and clean. The rooms were big with a decent sized shower. Location wise you are in the heart of the city and just a short walk away from all attractions. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Ho Chi Minh city

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I have just come from a $10 hair cut from this hotel. it is the best experience I have ever had at a hair dresser. the shampoo/ head massage/facial was over thirty minutes. this alone is worth the cost. the hair cut was great too. first wet, then they blow dry it, then they do a final check dry. this would be $100 in Australia and you still would not get the time and care they took. I highly recommend this place. loved it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chongqing, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Small building but nice, clean rooms and very friendly staff. Breakfast was quite good, and varied some each day. Location is excellent, and the street is reasonably quiet, although floors 5 and higher are probably best. I stayed 4 nights in premier deluxe on 4th floor with a window, about $74USD per night. The deluxe rooms don't have windows. The room and bathroom was clean, and bed linens appeared washed. The only downside was a rooster crowing near the hotel each morning about 6:30 am - but it only bothered me the first morning. Getting a taxi was easy, although the location allows a short walk to most sites.

Room Tip: Floors 5 and higher; recommend premier deluxe room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have done quite a few 3-star hotels in District 1, as i am a frequent business traveller to Ho Chi Minh City. After staying around 15 nights, i must admit that Alagon Hotel seems to be so far one of the best compromises I have found between price, service and location.

As my initial booking was for 7 days, i was immediately upgraded in a better room. The staffs have always been helpful any time there was an issue. The attitude and education of the staffs is quite above average in comparison with staffs in a 3-star hotel of HCMC. The room is cleaned. Laundry is done very fast etc.

The breakfast is decent but it is not the strength of this hotel. Some nice bread and pastries are missing...

For people who like going to gym, the place is disappointing. There is a gym center on the top floor but the place is not really organized as a gym place. The bicycle was not working when i visited. The management seems to be aware of it and offer a package to use the gym facilities of New World Hotel, a luxury hotel in front of Alagon. But an extra charge will apply.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We loved this place. When we arrived, we were told that "unfortunately, due to over booking, we hadto be upgraded to the penthouse on the 10th floor!" As it was our second go at HCMC, we were more than happy to stay here and explore the city from a different location. The room was quite musty smelling on arrival and it wasn't until the next morning that I realised I could open the window for air. The room was generous in size for a 3 star and was clean and more than adequate. The staff were lovely, very attentive and I felt very safe in the area. It is about 5 minutes walk from Ben Than market in a busy ,bustling part of town. Lots of restuarants around and great atmosphere. The breakfast was delicious, all kinds of food, very fresh and plentiful. It wasn't until then that you realsed how many people were actually staying there. Would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The place is fantastic. The staff are welcoming, polite and very attentive. I was upgraded from my standard room to the suite and it felt heavenly. There are a few minor faults. The breakfast is quite tricky for a westerner as it is primarily Asain, and there are no cereals served. Also there are a few problems with their key system they need to address. I would consider these minor problems. The location is fantastic, very central in Ho Chi Minh city. The staff are wonderful always smiling and friendly. The room is impressive and the stay have been a worthwhile wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alagon Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alagon Hotel Saigon

Address: 289-291 Ly Tu Trong Street, Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 371 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alagon Hotel Saigon 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alagon Hotel Saigon features elegant and modern rooms with free Wi-Fi in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. A 5-minute walk to Ben Thanh Market, it offers a 24-hour restaurant and room service.Alagon Hotel Saigon is just a 3-minute walk to the 23/9 Park and a 7-minute drive to the Opera House. It takes 20 minutes by car to reach Tan Son Nhat Airport.All rooms are air-conditioned and come with turn-down service. Each room is equipped with a flat-screen satellite TV, seating area, and tea and coffee making facilities. Private bathroom includes a shower.An elevator serves the hotel, which provides airport transfer, laundry and dry cleaning services at an extra charge. Guests can relax at the hotel’s spa bath or check their emails at the business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alagon Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alagon Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.