We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, adorable staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MiMi Backpackers Hostel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MiMi Backpackers Hostel
Save
You added MiMi Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
219/38 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 01 80/40 Bui Vien Street, District 01, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, adorable staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This place is fantastic.
Staff are so so lovely, make you feel so welcome and really can't do enough for you. We misplaced our phones when we were very drunk one night and the staff helped us turn over our whole room and search our bags the next day to find them. When our we were pickpocketed in the street Cherry took us to the police station and stayed with us for over an hour to translate and help us. All staff speak excellent English and keep the place clean and lovely. Rooms grat value, basic, but very clean, eggs for breakfast are provided and cooked on a little stove in the lobby :)
Great location hidden away down a backstreet off the main road Bui Vien that is full of shops, bars and restaurants.
Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
12
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Cherry and Kitty are wonderful and helpful hosts, the rooms are clean, air-conditioned, they all have windows (mine even has a view). The breakfasts are also quite nice. I just don't understand how, given all of this, MiMi Backpackers Hostel remains one of the least expensive in town. I'd visited a few other places on Bui Vien before coming here, but it is here where I decided to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Location is excellent for backpackers,its right on the main street with bars,restaurants. Good breakfast for the money we paid.

No sleep at all because of the noise coming from people living opposite the hostel,it was too bright in the room to sleep with light coming from the street and hallway. No soap and loads of flies in the bathroom.

Room Tip: 102 room is very noise Its is not a hostel its more like a guesthouse, no area to seat for the gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really nice place , cheap rooms and well located, the owner is so nice, she can help you for anything and give a good breakfast good too.. the only problems are the little bathroom and unstable wi fi.. rest is so good ! Go there :) !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the first time I visit HCM, so booked this small guest house from agoda, budget stay, with good location, but abit away from main road and had diifculties everytime return back, was located in a small alley along pham ngu lao street. The boss is nice and speak good english, stay here if you have tight budget and a good experience to try with stay with local.

Room Tip: look for those located the main road,not those at the alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
160 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Although this hostel is rather difficult to find, it is worth the search. The members of staff, Kitty especially, are both nice and attentive. We had emailed the hostel beforehand in order for them to help us buy bus tickets to Phnom Penh and arrange a day trip to the Cu Chi Tunnels. Everything was dealt with in a professional and competent manner. The room was pretty basic but at that price we were only happy to have a couple of beds and an ensuite bathroom. Breakfast consists of coffee/tea and a couple of fried eggs or an omelet and bread. Sometimes they put out bananas as well.
A piece of good advice on finding the hotel: Enter the alley to the left of Bali Hotel and turn left at the third alley. Mimis backpacker hostel is the second building on the right. You'll see the sign outside. Although the little lanes may seem a bit shady at first, we were never uncomfortable or insecure about walking to and from the hotel at any time of the day or night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Average location, the hostel is within the foreigners backpacking area of Pham Ngu Lao, that was nice. But, the hostel itself is in a livinghood lane, it was not so easy to find it at the first time and we also spent couple times to remember its actual location in the later days...

Good service attitude, I guess it's family operated, the "staff", or say, the owners, were quite friendly & helpful even they can speak very "limited" English...The room was quite big for us, that was good. And the "staff" will cook some simple breakfast for you if you ask them to do, I'd like to comment them as good service attitude other than tastes,

Less amenities, it's only a cheap backpacker guesthouse, what more can I expect for? I buy the toothbrush, shampoo, slipper, water etc. by myself in the store nearby...They have towels inside the room but i never used them...

Wifi, available but not so stable sometime...Tissue is available but looks not so good.

Room Tip: Acceptable or okay for simple and local homestay, but worse if you treat it a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to MiMi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MiMi Backpackers Hostel

Address: 219/38 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 01 80/40 Bui Vien Street, District 01, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 289 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MiMi Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.