We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beef pho i ever tried” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pho Le

Pho Le
413-414 Nguyen Trai Street P.7,Q5, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 1,575 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
1 review
“Best beef pho i ever tried”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you going to this city, you should try this one. Soo yummy.. Tons of beef, the soup is good, and the meatball also very good. One word Delicious!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Best Pho I've Enjoyed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have a weakness for Pho and Pho is the best i have enjoyed thus far. Far better than Pho 24 which was more "fast-food-like". I particularly liked the authenticity of the whole composition. From the stock to the noodles to the meats, the fresh vegetables and sauces/dips.

The portion is cooked to order and it is very large. The fresh meat, meat-balls and brisket/tendons were very tender, juicy and oozing with rich-goodness. The veg and spicy leaves that are added to the bowl is "self-served".

A bamboo-tray of the veg/spice/beansprouts are laden to the brim for diners to help themselves. They add a certain crunchy-vibrancy to the pho in the bowl.

The stock is rich with aroma of the various delicate spices used in the preparation and tastes full with a balance of the sweet-sour-salty delicateness which is very difficult to describe.

Do be prepared for the "coffee-shop" ambience and the non-chalant service though. Just focus on the food.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar del Plata, Argentina
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Once you go pho you will never come back. Terrific dish.
Pork or chicken or veal. All of them are a must. Its is a great lunch for a budget traveler.
These place specialices in Pho and they do it wonderfully. I really wish we could have Pho on every corner of our countries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Soup is a bit sweet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We came to Ho Chi Minh City to hunt for a good Pho. First Pho shop we went to was Pho Hoa and it was a disappointment.

Second Pho shop we came to Pho Le. It was much better than Pho Hoa but we think that the soup is a bit sweet. No other meat is available in the shop and therefore if you are a non-beef eater, then you won't want to come here.

The shop is a bit small and not-so-clean and no one speaks English in the shop. So you will have to choose what you want in your soup in front where a lady in pyjama was cooking the soup.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Really excellent pho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our guide took us here and it was the best pho we've had in Vietnam so far. Beef was very tender, broth was delicious. Clean enough and very friendly staff. Be adventurous, sit upstairs in the aircon and point at the dishes. Nothing but beef pho variations on the menu so vegetarians would struggle.
Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Le also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Pho Le? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pho Le, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.