We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Brasserie de Saigon - CLOSED

La Brasserie de Saigon
38 Dong Du, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0862913657
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $50
Cuisines: French, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: La Brasserie de Saigon, a true Parisian experience, brings originality to your Ho Chi minh City Dining experience.Its seafood stand, right on the street, exposes what's fresh everyday. The menu offers a wide diversity of French specialties, from south of France, with its Bouillabaisse, as well as from north, with its unique Choucroute.The restaurant offers a unique show in Saigon with fishes prepared off-the-bone in the dining room, and flamed desserts, such as Crepe Suzette.
Kamuela HI
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We had an early dinner downstairs in this attractive restaurant. We were welcomed with a glass of bubbly, and our order was taken promptly. My appetizer of duck rillettes with gherkins was delicious, and the rabbit in mustard sauce, while a little bland, was certainly acceptable. The portions were generous. There is a small but thoughtful selection of wines by the glass, and the service was attentive and friendly. The bill for two with two glasses of wine was $50--perhaps pricy for Saigon, but well worth the money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Manager at La Brasserie de Saigon, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Ainahou,

Thank you for sharing with us your thoughts on your visit in our establishment.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed your experience and we hope we will have a chance to welcome you back.

Thanks
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    22
    17
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The restaurant has a good location, right at the corner of 2 main streets. We were welcomed by a tall French gentleman who was very nice and helpful. The ambience was great. I enjoyed the street view from my table. Food and wine was good. However the staffs should pay more attention to details such as shouldn't come up to ask guests what they want for drink or next course while they were in the middle of an exciting conversation.
Anyway, we'll return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Manager at La Brasserie de Saigon, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Attalife,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback your experience in our establishment.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed most of aspect your visit. I will make sure to rectify the inconvenient part you've mentioned in your comment.

Looking forward to welcome you again!
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“First time at French style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I've been there with my husbands and the food was good. This is the first time I've been in a French restaurant and the service is there when you need something. They always pour the wine and water without asking, make me feel weird but my husband told me that the French way.

For the dessert, we have to wait like 10 mins for a melted heart chocolate but it was worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Manager at La Brasserie de Saigon, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear DiemMy88,

Thank so much for your review! We are delighted to know you was happy about your visit in our restaurant.

We hope we will see you again soon!
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not up to the hype mentioned.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food was good, however, not the excellent that other reviews mentioned.
There was no crab and we had to settle with the rest of the seafood platter.
A word of advice, oysters should not be frozen if served without cooking.
Frozen ones don't cut it at all.

The staff service was good though.
I noticed only tables with Caucasians had exceptional service.

The value for money is at best rated okay only...

A family of 5 had a bill of 3M vnd.

Well, it was my last night in HCM, and I had hoped for a great night.
Guess I wouldn't be coming back again anytime soon.

Merci

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Manager at La Brasserie de Saigon, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Chen S,

Thank you for giving your feedbacks on your visit at La Brasserie de Saigon.

I can assure you that the oysters are not frozen. They are delivered freshly every 2-3 days. We are well aware that frozen oysters is not acceptable.

Regards,
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Back to France in Middle of Saigon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent experience last night at Brasserie de Saigon.
I took the set meal with Onion Tart + Salmon Riesling, my wife opted for Lamb shank with couscous semolina.
upon sitting the manager brought us the complimentary welcome drink, Champagne !
overall the service was great, the food delicious and the ambiance close to the typical french brasserie.
We will come back for their free flow of champagne during weekend.
one point of advice : the waiter makes sure you always got hot crispy bread. even if your piece of bread is not finished, the waiter will take it away and bring you new hot bread.
I highly appreciate the attention and the service to get hot bread but it also create a feel of frustration over the bread systematically wasted.

we will come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan L, Manager at La Brasserie de Saigon, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear djchrisblue,

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are very pleased to know you have enjoyed your dinner in our establishment!

We hope to see you soon!
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Brasserie de Saigon also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Brasserie de Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.