We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best food we have ever had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant

Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant
32 Vo Van Tan St., Ward 6, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
84839303819
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,368 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in HCMC business district, just a few short walks from War Remnants museum. An all-day-dining and cafe retreat venue of choice, catering to both individual and group requirement, business and leisure gatherings. Health-friendly meals prepared with fresh veggies, fruits, and various kinds of beans, including brown rice, sesame, mushrooms, seaweed, home-made tofu etc. Come enjoy tasty, eye-pampering and non-MSG dishes with unforgettable healthy drink and cocktail specialties in a truly Zen atmosphere. For your traveling convenience in case you will be located in District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, kindly be advised that we have another Hum in District 1, called Hum Vegetarian Lounge & Restaurant with the same menu and service concept. Please let us know should you wish to book this restaurant instead.
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Some of the best food we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

In September 2013 we went to this restaurant twice in two days while we were visiting HCM. We searched trip advisor for suggestions to attend dinner one night, I am not vegetarian, however the menu looked appealing so we went.

The food was so fresh and tasty. We enjoyed this restaurant so much that we went back for lunch before we flew out. The menu was very large and they make great cocktails. We ate so much food (3 entrée's, 2 mains and dessert) and had multiple cocktails each and it was less than AUD$50.

The staff were very friendly and attentive. The service was great!

We cannot recommend this restaurant enough. We cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    184
    59
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BANGALORE
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good boutique restaurent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We really enjoyed their vegetarian preperations.
Good ambient with good value for money
Vegetarian pineapple fried rice and Tofu Preperation was excellent

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You can be here again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I am vegetarian sometimes. If I can't think of any place to go for vegetarain, i always ended up here. I eat at Hum almost every two weeks. I loved the taste of the food. Some of them are tasting like Thai. As a Thai person, I love it. My favourite dishes are the Fried Tofu. Fried Rice a la Hum.. and the Salad ala Hum.. The restaraunt decoration is very nice. But I would recommend you to sit on the first floor. I compared the service first floor with 2nd and 3rd floor, 2nd or 3rd floor was slower. But it's not that bad, i can stand it :-). The price is quite a little bit expensive comparing with normal restaurant in HCMC. But for me it's worth.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I was obsessed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I loved this restaurant. We came here 3 times in the 3 days we were in Ho Chi Minh.

I'm not sure why everyone is saying its expensive.....perhaps comparatively but the standard is very high and I think what you pay is still extremely good value.

We ordered kumquat mojitos, pineapple rice served in a pineapple, spicy tofu, fresh spring rolls, fried spring rolls, pad thai and papaya salad and wouldn't have paid more than $30!

The food was at high standard, extremely fresh and tasty and reasonably priced.

A highlight in Ho Chi Minh!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

I love vegan food, but many restaurant have good vegan food. The food is healthy but not award winning. The salad rolls were just ok because the veggies were cut to fat, so very crunchy! The papaya salad was incredibly good for being vegan! The square fried spring rolls were very good but not served with enough green veggies. The main course was odd. Steam veggies with super salty dipping sauce that was just not that good. Overall very healthy vegan food. Will come back and try other stuff along with my favorites from this time. Expect to pay $15.00 per person to get full! Very nice villa! For die hard vegans its a must!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.