We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of calm right by the War Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant

Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant
32 Vo Van Tan St., Ward 6, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
84839303819
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,381 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in HCMC business district, just a few short walks from War Remnants museum. An all-day-dining and cafe retreat venue of choice, catering to both individual and group requirement, business and leisure gatherings. Health-friendly meals prepared with fresh veggies, fruits, and various kinds of beans, including brown rice, sesame, mushrooms, seaweed, home-made tofu etc. Come enjoy tasty, eye-pampering and non-MSG dishes with unforgettable healthy drink and cocktail specialties in a truly Zen atmosphere. For your traveling convenience in case you will be located in District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, kindly be advised that we have another Hum in District 1, called Hum Vegetarian Lounge & Restaurant with the same menu and service concept. Please let us know should you wish to book this restaurant instead.
Liverpool
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“An Oasis of calm right by the War Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We came across this place by accident, we were just looking for a light lunch after visiting The War Museum. I was feeling a bit jaded and the lovely banana milk shake, fantastic wing bean salad and top Pad Thai really did the trick. The only slight let down was the fresh coconut which was rather warm.

Prices were excellent and the restaurant very clean, calm and peaceful. We are not vegetarians but would go back in a flash!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    189
    61
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A veg oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Wow! Finally, somewhere that showcases fine veggie food in Vietnam! Great food, great service, easy to get to. Possibly my best dining experience!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great little vegetarian place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I loved this place. We tried about 7 different dishes, and each one was beautifully executed and tasted fantastic. It was probably the most expensive restaurant that I've eaten at in HCMC, but well worth it. About 80,000 per entree, 40,000 per non-alcoholic drink. It is in a peaceful garden setting, right by the War Remnants Museum. You feel like you are a world away though.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“what a gem !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

from the street you only see a brick wall, but walk behind and you are transported to a beautiful oasis..very serene and quiet.. the food was amazing and so freash and innovative.. the service was wonderful and helpful.. the fresh pressed pineapple juice heavenly..the prices are great .. by far the best place we have eaten during our whole vietnam trip

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“hands-down the best Vegetarian Restaurant in HCMC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I tried almost all of the vegetarian restaurants in central Saigon. Hum is by far the best. very clean, pleasant, and relaxing atmosphere with indoor and outdoor dining options. Excellent cocktails--I quite enjoyed my Ginger Mojito(s). Very friendly and attentive staff. I can't wait to go back. Even my non-vegetarian colleague raved about it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Been to Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hum Vegetarian Cafe & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.