We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fav Indian in HCMC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice India

Spice India
Bui Bang Doan Street,Hung Vuong 3,Phu My Hung | Tan Phong Dist 7, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
902301843
Improve this listing
Ranked #911 of 1,363 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“My fav Indian in HCMC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Now, i've tried quite a few Indian restaurants in Saigon, some truly bad ones, some pretty good ones, but for taste and authenticity District 7's Spice of Indian beats them all.
It's not a very nice restaurant in any way, and i mostly get delivery, but when it comes to food they have never let me down, and despite being in an upmarket part of town, it's great value for HCMC (around 5$ for a main). Everything i ever ordered there was good, but definitely go for the lamb masala and the mughal chicken.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    2
    5
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best halal food in the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had in Spice India samosa tandoori chicken mutton seek kebab chilli paneer palak makai dal makhani mutton roganjosh chicken tikka masala butter nan puddina paratha and plain palou rice with my friends..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

this is an excellent Indian restaurant with a varied menu of North and South Indian dishes. they will adjust the spiceyness to your taste. The staff are friendly and reasonably efficient.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
“excellent taste.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I ate a wonderful dinner of spice india, I have been in India for 1 year and have never tasted anything so delicious. I'm from Denmark and I can really recommend this resturant their choice of spices is fantastic the burner is not on the tongue but the food melts in pleasing the pleasure can really recommend this resturant especially if you are not used to strong food but still enjoy spicy food on a soft and comfortable way.
and is clean and neatly in their kitchen, you do not become ill from their food. I left smiling and satisfied their resturant

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcmc
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, good price, BUT service/ambiance poor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went to the fairly new Spice in Dist 7, Phu My Hung. I have been to most of the Indian restaurants in HCMC. To be honest, thankfully, I have never really had a bad experience at any of them. I usually go to Baba's Kitchen or Tandoor. So I gave Spice a try. Food was fantastic. Didn't have to wait too long, sometimes at Indian restaurants it seems like you are waiting forever for the food to come out. Had several different types of dishes. All of them fantastic! The taste was superb. The atmosphere is not so great. Restaurant is quite small and they BLARE the indian bollywood videos. The staff were obviously new to waiting tables and were unsure what exactly to do. They also did not speak much English. Outside seating is usually sat in by the staff. If you live in the area check it out as the food, and the price, are worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice India also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Spice India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.