We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Bar Is Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Universal (Sports Bar/Cafe/Restaurant/Live Music)

Universal (Sports Bar/Cafe/Restaurant/Live Music)
90 Bui Vien, Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 1,368 restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This Bar Is Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Universal Bar and Restaurant is a great place to meet new friends. It has been the best bar in the Saigon backpacker area for well over a year now. Long may that continue. It truely is Universal, a great place to go and meet other nationalities. The staff are very friendly and full of banter. The service is efficient, the food is great (western and vietnamese) and they have live music and sports on big tvs most days. It's quieter at the back and they have street seating too for that authentic Saigon feel. Something for everyone.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    22
    14
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to people watch and spend New Years Day afternoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 hours here this afternoon sat on the roadside tables just watching the world go by!

Great music, well priced beer and spot on service

If you manage to get a roadside seat in the early afternoon you can sit and people watch all day - just remember to take your "no thanks" face out with you for the street vendors!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Universal, Bui Viens number one bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Universal bar is an oasis on Bui Vien street.

I've been going there for over a year now, before and after the recent renovations. The atmosphere is great, the food is great, the live bands are great, prices are sane and there are two brand new league class pool tables. You can keep up with all your sports needs without the place having that lame sports bar feel. Great location, very comfortable and a good healthy mix of clients.

What is the best thing about Universal? The staff, they are all sweethearts, pleasant, welcoming and will take great care of you. It's Bui Vien without the Bui Vien harassment. Definitely worth many visits. Come for dinner, enjoy the bands and stick around for a few drinks. Dance, play, watch the crowd, whatever you are into.

Great place to make new friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to spent time at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Probably one of the best bars in Saigon. Its a great match of prices, food, drinks, music and sport. You can have a private party there or just come with a company of friends or even by yourself. Live music every night, good drinks and amazing food available late night. Staff is super friendly as well. Great place to watch ur fav sport events, listen to music and just enjoy urself.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Here's the thing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

If you find yourself in the backpacker area of Saigon and want an honestly priced beer, decent food and a friendly, unpretentious atmosphere then this is the place to head.

If you also want good live music, to watch sports or play a game of pool on probably the best table in the city then you shouldn't really be heading anywhere else. Add to this friendly and attentive staff and a constant stream of people passing through and Universal Bar really is a great place to spend an evening or two. I can see why a good number of people make this their regular haunt!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Universal (Sports Bar/Cafe/Restaurant/Live Music) also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Greater Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Universal (Sports Bar/Cafe/Restaurant/Live Music)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Universal (Sports Bar/Cafe/Restaurant/Live Music), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.