We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Alex

Cafe Alex
17K Street 10C Ward Thuan Tay, Quan 7 | (Off Nguyen Thi Thap Lam Van Ben Street 5K), Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0903988034
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 1,573 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, English, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you are wanting some good western food look no further than this cafe, great fish and chips, big portions, alo try the pork chops, or if you are really hungry go for the Alex Fried Chicken.
prices are very reasonable so if you are in Saigon hunt it out in District7.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This was EXACTLY what I needed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Cafe Alex is a gem! Very unassuming (the taxi driver asked me if I was in the right place) but it substance over style. I had All Day Breakfast and it was awesome! The owner Chris even sat down with us and had a chat. I was with 3 Vietnamese friends who were not particularly excited about my choice at first, but by the time we left they said they can't wait to go back! This spot is a no brainer when you are ready for a taste of the West when traveling in the East!
Thanks Chris! Nice to meet you!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best English food all trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having been travelling for 3 months almost .. I was craving a nice English meal so looked one up in ho chi Minh on the day we arrived. Slightly hard to find as taxi driving did not have a clue where to take us so we got out and walked . Once we were out we located in using google maps.
Still took us an hour . But was it worth it ?
Most definitely - the breakfast I had was delicious reasonably priced and by far the best fry up I've had in Asia . Would love to have gone back but only in HCM for 2 days
The owner Chris very friendly guy .. Had a good laugh with him.
Defiantly check it out you won't be disappointed - also the coldest beer we've drank all trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EASTCOTE, MIDDLESEX, ENGLAND
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had been travelling two and a half weeks and was in disparate need of western food and this certainly hit the spot. Great freshly cooked dishes to order. Plus good music playing in the background. Chris the owner of this cafe was very friendly and made us welcome. Our cab had difficulty finding it so best to ring Chris ahead for directions if possible. Highly recommend this food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
“Nice English Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Expat living in Saigon and you can't find a perfect English breakfast? Check this place then and you might end up trying other dishes aside from the nice English breakfast set menu. Chris, the owner ensures a warm welcome atmosphere in the place to go with nice western food at affordable price. It's not centrally located in the tourist area but if you want traditional English food that captures the loyalty of some expats in Saigon then go for it, it's worth travelling from District 1 to District 7.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alex also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cafe Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Alex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.