We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Alex

Cafe Alex
17K Street 10C Ward Thuan Tay, Quan 7 | (Off Nguyen Thi Thap Lam Van Ben Street 5K), Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0903988034
Improve this listing
Ranked #337 of 2,282 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: British, Asian, Pub, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've gone to Alex's three times now. What can I say. The best most authentic English dishes I've had this side of SE Asia. The Bangers and mash are nothing short of fantastic. Proper tea and and a quiet relaxed location make this one of my favorite spots to come and hang out for hours. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“For real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is proper English breakfast. Real sausages and bacon. I have tried countless restaurants in HCMC looking for what you can find here. The best bacon and sausages I have had in Vietnam. This will be a regular breakfast stop. Friendly and hospitable owner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WillieVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saigon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great find in HCMC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is really a great find in the city. You almost feel as if your'e not even in the city with the tree lined street and general quiet away from the craziness of the city. The food is really good, genuine English food, done properly. Overall, a nice place to relax and enjoy some good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaigonMangoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Awesome proper English food :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is in District 7, 1 block off the main road. The food is sourced properly so you can get proper English Breakfasts with real non streaky bacon and proper sausages, and proper fish and chips too. Everything on the menu is made properly and the portions are good too. The guy who has the cafe (Chris) is English and makes everything to the standard you would only normally get in the UK. Definitely worth eating here. On Wednesdays they also have live music.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Music Cafe with great banter and bangers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I think there's a few reasons cafe Alex is getting good reviews. Firstly its location is just perfect for getting away from the hustle and bustle whilst still being on a cafe side that feels like real VIETNAM. Bear in mind just a few kms away is Skygarden etc that has a Korean ambience. However still only 15 mins from D1 centre. Secondly its a music cafe, Ive met loads of musicians there, expats and travellers. Its a place to jam. Open mics happen on wednesdays, folk and blues, laid back. The conversation can go on as well on the cafeside. The beer is ICE cold, the attention to detail on the food has already been reviewed here. The Chicken in White wine is great, creamy mash. Its a brilliant place for a weekly treat of British food. If your feeling sociable you can get into a great conversation with the English landlord who plays good music all day and evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toonnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alex also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cafe Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing