We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For real” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Alex

Cafe Alex
17K Street 10C Ward Thuan Tay, Quan 7 | (Off Nguyen Thi Thap Lam Van Ben Street 5K), Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
0903988034
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 1,568 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Asian, English, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“For real”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is proper English breakfast. Real sausages and bacon. I have tried countless restaurants in HCMC looking for what you can find here. The best bacon and sausages I have had in Vietnam. This will be a regular breakfast stop. Friendly and hospitable owner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    9
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great find in HCMC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is really a great find in the city. You almost feel as if your'e not even in the city with the tree lined street and general quiet away from the craziness of the city. The food is really good, genuine English food, done properly. Overall, a nice place to relax and enjoy some good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Awesome proper English food :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is in District 7, 1 block off the main road. The food is sourced properly so you can get proper English Breakfasts with real non streaky bacon and proper sausages, and proper fish and chips too. Everything on the menu is made properly and the portions are good too. The guy who has the cafe (Chris) is English and makes everything to the standard you would only normally get in the UK. Definitely worth eating here. On Wednesdays they also have live music.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Music Cafe with great banter and bangers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I think there's a few reasons cafe Alex is getting good reviews. Firstly its location is just perfect for getting away from the hustle and bustle whilst still being on a cafe side that feels like real VIETNAM. Bear in mind just a few kms away is Skygarden etc that has a Korean ambience. However still only 15 mins from D1 centre. Secondly its a music cafe, Ive met loads of musicians there, expats and travellers. Its a place to jam. Open mics happen on wednesdays, folk and blues, laid back. The conversation can go on as well on the cafeside. The beer is ICE cold, the attention to detail on the food has already been reviewed here. The Chicken in White wine is great, creamy mash. Its a brilliant place for a weekly treat of British food. If your feeling sociable you can get into a great conversation with the English landlord who plays good music all day and evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saigon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast at Alex's cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Without a doubt,the best place in Saigon for breakfast. The bacon is top quality, sausage is excellant and most of all, the scrambled eggs are divine. Chris and his Mrs are there for you when you need them. I met some guys who had the roast as well, and could not stop talking about it...wishing it was Sunday!!.

I will be back

Steve

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Alex also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Cafe Alex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Alex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.