We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but undecided about returning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Hotel Saigon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Hotel Saigon to your Saves list
Aston Hotel Saigon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 - 29 Bui Vien st, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 389 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but undecided about returning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice, clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast was a choice of about 8-10 menu options though I think this could be improved. The noodles in the soup and pork and vegetable noodles were just instant noodles not rice noodles and they were served with a processed chopped pork roll (yuck!). The first night we were in a room at the front and I barely had a wink of sleep, there is a nightclub right next door that played really loud music through til 6am, which was still very loud through my earplugs. However the next day when we asked the front desk to move us to a quieter room they were very obliging and moved us to a room at the back of the hotel for the next two nights and this was quieter. Overall this is a nice place and in a convenient location, however based on that first night with no sleep and the fact that we weren't warned I was a bit disenchanted.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    29
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
20
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location is very central. Breakfast is reasonable. Staff is helpful and friendly. Rooms are decent. Rooms in the lower floors are noisy and difficult to
sleep. Breakfast was ordered from the list and was delivered promptly.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just two nights. Location is great in back packer area. Hotel is clean as. First night we paid $50 and the room fronted the road. There is a night club next door that had loud music till 4.30am. Even with ear plugs the vibration still was going through my body all night, so next to no sleep. Next night same price they put us on the other side, very small window, but alot more quiet than front room. The hotel is clean, shower hot, breakfast was good, staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Hotel is fine and good value, unless you like to sleep at night. The bar next door plays very bad music until 5 or 6 am, making sleep impossible. You can't beat it so you may as well join it. Perfect hotel for insomniacs who enjoy their affliction or fans of The Final Countdown.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found this hotel after the spot across the street (Beautiful Saigon) turned out unable to accommodate our entire party. With a choice between the two, I definitely recommend Aston Hotel. The bathroom has an actual door, the lobby is spacious with places to sit down, and Danny at the front desk was extremely helpful -- he went out of his way to ensure we were comfortable and our time in HCMC was fun. Cons: the noise is pretty loud, as the hotel is situated next to a bar that is going 24/7 and right in the midst of a major backpacker street.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing away from Go2 and the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a short stay with Aston Hotel in HCMC, the hotel was lovely and accommodating. There was an error in our booking and they quickly corrected it. Unfortunately the room was tiny – and instead of providing a bigger room for a triple booking, they squashed the room with an extra bed, forcing the three of us to sleep with our bags on the bed due to lack of space! So ensure your booking is correct!

The air-conditioner was weak, and the hotel was unable to offer an alternative, neither room nor additional fan.

I’d recommend this hotel based on location. The hotel is on a vibey street, with great access to shopping, bars and travel agents in the popular backpacker area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a new little hotel located right on the main backpackers street. It is in excellent condition and has very clean amenities. The staff are very friendly and helpful and always happy to see you when you get back.

The hotel is on Bui Vien St which is full of bars, restaraunts, massage places, tourists and hawkers. This may be a problem for some people that are looking for peace and quiet, but myself and my girlfriend were very happy with the fact that we could step out of the front door and get food and beers straight away. It is a good party atmosphere every night.

The hotel itself is very good, especially considering the price, we paid around $50 a night for one of the better rooms. The staff are very friendly and will help with any enquiries you might have. They recommended an excellent massage place just around the corner (which was very professional and we went back every afternoon for the remainder of our time in Saigon). We also booked all of our tours through them and were very happy.

When we checked out we had to wait until 9 pm to get on the sleeper bus to Nha Trang. The staff let us store our bags while we killed some time (check out at 1200). They also let us have a shower before we went to get on the bus too.

Little touches like that are what makes this an excellent hotel. We have booked another night there for when we come back to Saigon (before we fly home to Australia).

Thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aston Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Hotel Saigon

Address: 27 - 29 Bui Vien st, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 389 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Hotel Saigon 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ASTON Hotel is a newly-built hotel 2012 located on the central District 1 and within the tourist area of the Hochiminh city. Our hotel approximately 25 mins from the TanSanNhat International Airport. There are many tourist attractions around such as Ben Thanh market (8mins walking), the Saigon River, War Museum, the Notre Dam Church, and the Reunification Palace... The famous BEN THANH MARKET (the inside opens from 6:00 am to 6:00 pm; and the outside opens from that time till midnight); you can enjoy a lot of dishes of Vietnamese cuisine; buy souvenirs or something special as gifts for family… Central Bus station(opposite to Ben Thanh Market); to go to Cho Lon China Town, take the bus number 1 to get there, or visit BINH TAY or AN DONG MARKET (wholesale; open from 6:00 am till 6:00 pm) Especially, the Bui Vien and Pham Ngu Lao bustling area (commonly known as the backpacker area), where there are lots of tourist desks, tailor-shops, coffee shops; nightclubs, restaurants, antique shops, art galleries, Banks, ATM (Commonwealth Bank), currency exchange desks.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Aston Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Hotel Saigon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.